CPSC NEISS · code 4067

Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified

Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified: danger rank #419 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #367 of 838 (2,749 estimated ER visits a year; declining by about 28% over the last five years).

Floors, Walls & Ceilings CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified ranks #419 of 838 by danger score (35/100) at ER-volume #367 of 838 (2,749/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#419
danger rank of 838
#367
ER-volume rank of 838
35/100
danger score
2,749/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (35/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

35 Lower than most lower than 50% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 50/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 10 75th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 2,749 52nd 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -28% 23rd 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 2 25th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 54,988 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 4067. Segments sum to 54,988 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Floors, Walls & Ceilings group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Floors, Walls & Ceilings danger scores

1. Beds Or Bedframes, Other …55/1002. Chairs, Other Or Not Spec…51/1003. Ladders, Other Or Not Spe…49/1004. Bedding, Not Specified49/1005. Tables (excl. Baby Chang…47/1006. Stools, Other Or Not Spec…44/1007. Scales, Not Elec. Or Batt…44/1008. Clocks, Not Elec. Or Batt…35/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10035/100
PlainSafety danger score · Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 35/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 2,749 ER visits/yr Above median volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 9.6% High admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend-28%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified are declining by about 28% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2010 (3,709 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2023 (1,670 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 6,265 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the head (5,080 cases). The 75+ age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 13,585 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 9.6% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 2 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

2K2K3K3K4K4K 20052008201120142017202020232024 3K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 4,123 1,980 6,103
5-14 3,127 2,039 5,166
15-24 2,653 2,921 5,574
25-34 2,116 2,158 4,274
35-44 1,488 3,106 4,594
45-54 1,606 3,494 5,107
55-64 2,069 3,371 5,440
65-74 1,692 3,458 5,150
75+ 4,796 8,789 13,585

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Head Internal Injury 6,265
Head Laceration 5,080
Face Laceration 4,369
Finger Laceration 2,588
Hand Laceration 2,382
Head Contusions, Abr. 1,936
Neck Strain, Sprain 1,820
Lower Trunk Fracture 1,676
Upper Trunk Contusions, Abr. 1,322
Upper Trunk Other 1,103
Face Contusions, Abr. 1,005
Foot Contusions, Abr. 934
Upper Trunk Fracture 877
Lower Arm Laceration 866
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 829

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 88.7% (48,770)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 7.7% (4,229)
Left Without Being Seen 1.9% (1,024)
Treated And Transferred 1.2% (646)
Held For Observation 0.6% (319)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 26 · Male · Foot · Foreign Body · 2024

26YOM STEPPED ON A PLASTIC FACE OF A BROKEN CLOCK AND HAS SOME OF THE PIECES STUCK IN THE BOTTOM OF HIS FEET RESULTING IN FOREIGN BODIES. DX: SOFT TISSUE FOREIGN BODY

Age 84 · Male · Head · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

84 YOM FELL FROM BED TO FLOOR AT NURSING HOME AND INJURED HEAD DX CONTSUION HEAD

Age 97 · Male · Elbow · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

97YOM C/O FALL. PATIENT STATES HE WAS TRYING TO FIX THE CLOCK ON HIS WALL AND FELL TO HIS BUTT. STATES HE IS NOT HAVING ANY PAIN. SCRAPED HIS ELBOW. ABRASIONS NOTED TO LEFT ARM. DX: ABRASION OF LEFT ELBOW, UNSPECIFIED FALL

Age 36 · Female · Head · Other · 2024

36 YOF WAS TURNING HER HEAD TO LOOK AT A CLOCK AND HURT HER HEAD/NECK, HAS WORSENING PAIN. DX: HEAD & NECK PAIN

Age 45 · Female · Lower Leg · Laceration · 2024

45 YOF WITH A LARGE LACERATION TO LEFT LATERAL CALF. IT WAS CUT ON A CLOCK IN THE BASEMENT WHEN SHE WALKED BY IT. DX LEG LACERATION

Age 4 · Male · Head · Laceration · 2024

4YOM REPORTS WITH SCALP LACERATION AFTER A WALL CLOCK FELL ON HIM. DX SCALP LACERATION

Age 60 · Female · Wrist · Fracture · 2024

60YOF WAS CHANGING THE TIME ON HER CLOCK AND SHE FELL PAIN TO WRIST. DX DISTAAL RADIUS FX

Age 22 · Male · Hand · Laceration · 2024

22 YOM C/O HAND LACERATION S/P OPENING A PLASTIC CONTAINER FOR A NEW CLOCK. DX: HAND LACERATION

Age 91 · Female · Lower Trunk · Fracture · 2024

91YOF STATES THAT SHE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF ADJUSTING THE CHIMES ON HER GRANDFATHER CLOCK WHEN IT FELL OVER ON TOP OF HER CAUSING HER TO FALL TO THE GROUND HER DAUGHTER AND HUSBAND LIFTED IT OFF OF HER STRUCK HEAD DX: PELVIS FRACTURE; CLOSED HEAD INJURY

Age 10 · Female · Head · Internal Injury · 2024

10YOF A WALL CLODK FELL ONTO PT'S RT PARIETAL REGION OF HEAD. C/O BLURRY VISION DX: HEAD INJURY

Age 14 · Male · Hand · Laceration · 2024

14YOM WITH LAC TO HAND FROM A BROKEN CLOCK DX: HAND LAC

Age 75 · Female · Head · Concussion · 2024

75YOF, WAS SITTING ON THE SOFA WHEN A CLOCK THAT WAS HANGING ABOVE HER FELL STRIKING HER HEAD COMPLAINING OF HEADACHE AND BEING NAUSEOUS DX: CONCUSSION WITHOUT LOSS OF CONSCIOUSNESS

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

10/6/2012 · Injury, Emergency Department Treatment Received · Howard Miller Company · Texas

Dear Members of the National Safety Council, I am alerting you to the potential safety hazard of the Howard Miller Wall Clock. Model# 625-401 Serial#K 10211. It is a contemporary style wall clock with a class front. The nail provided with the clock by the manufacturer does not have a pop- open mechanism to secure the screw into the inside wall. I purchased a model of that wall clock. It was installed following the instructions, using the screw provided. Three weeks ago, I was walking by the wall where the clock hung. The clock fell, the lower right side of the glass front cut into my lower right leg at the calf. I was taken by ambulance to East TX Medical Center in Tyler, TX where an ER physician was able to pull the cut skin from under the skin immediately below the wound and used 13 stitches to close the wound. Despite antibiotics, the wound became infected. I have been on three different antibiotics and have needed to visit an ER a second time as well as my private physician twice. The third antibiotic has worked and I am looking forward to have the stitches next week. My concern is the safety of this product as it is currently marketed. A simple replacement of a more substantial, pop open screw would secure the screw to the inside wall and enable it to then securely hold the wall clock in place. I have notified the manufacturer and am awaiting a response. I felt it necessary to inform you of this potentially very dangerous situation in the clock's current hanging mechanism to prevent others from experiencing what I've been through. What if a child had been the one to be there when the clock fell? [REDACTED]

1/18/2020 · Incident, No Injury · Patton Picture Co · Washington

Purchased a decorative glass framed clock about 7" square. It was heavy due to the glass. I would approximate it was 4 lbs. It was placed on the fireplace mantel. Suddenly the glass fell off. Fortunately my wife was not sitting beneath it or there would have been lacerations to her head. This was purchased from a Kroger grocery store chain, Fred Meyer. The particular is [REDACTED] There are many Fred Meyer branded stores that may have this clock.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Floors, Walls & Ceilings

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (35/100), estimated annual ER visits (2,749/yr), and hospitalization share (9.6%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified ranks #419 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #367 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified ranks #419 by PlainSafety danger score (35/100) and #367 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (2,749/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified?

The most common injury is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 6,265 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified increasing or decreasing?

Down 28% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified injuries?

The 75+ age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 13,585 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified?

Of all ER visits involving clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified, approximately 9.6% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (90.5%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with clocks, not elec. or battery or not specified?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Clocks, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.