CPSC NEISS · code 936

Acids

Acids: danger rank #419 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #487 of 838 (1,338 estimated ER visits a year; roughly flat over the last five years).

Home Workshop Tools & Equipment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Acids ranks #419 of 838 by danger score (35/100) at ER-volume #487 of 838 (1,338/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#419
danger rank of 838
#487
ER-volume rank of 838
35/100
danger score
1,338/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (35/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

35 Lower than most lower than 50% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 46/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 8 63rd 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 1,338 38th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -3% 62nd 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 1 18th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 26,767 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 936. Segments sum to 26,767 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Workshop Tools & Equipment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Workshop Tools & Equipment danger scores

1. Gasoline47/1002. Methyl Alcohol (solvent)45/1003. Caustics43/1004. Lye42/1005. Gasoline Cans41/1006. Paints, Varnishes Or Shel…41/1007. General Purpose Household…41/1008. Acids35/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10035/100
PlainSafety danger score · Acids

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 35/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for acids - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 1,338 ER visits/yr Below median volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 7.7% Above median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend-3%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for acids are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2011 (1,923 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2018 (784 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 7,004 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by burn, chemical to the eyeball (3,426 cases). The 45-54 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 5,182 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 7.7% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 1 consumer incident report filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how acids fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

5001K2K2K 20052008201120142017202020232024 2K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Acids, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 815 490 1,305
5-14 751 629 1,380
15-24 2,563 1,988 4,551
25-34 2,671 1,083 3,754
35-44 2,926 1,963 4,889
45-54 3,982 1,200 5,182
55-64 2,426 539 2,965
65-74 1,540 575 2,115
75+ 456 171 627

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
All Parts Body Poisoning 7,004
Eyeball Burn, Chemical 3,426
Hand Burn, Chemical 2,554
Finger Burn, Chemical 1,487
Eyeball Derma/conjunct 1,412
Face Burn, Chemical 1,393
Eyeball Other 1,369
Foot Burn, Chemical 1,005
Lower Arm Burn, Chemical 757
Lower Leg Burn, Chemical 703
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 649
Upper Leg Burn, Chemical 649
Mouth Burn, Chemical 368
Hand Other 347
Finger Other 302

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 87.5% (23,430)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 5.1% (1,371)
Left Without Being Seen 4.0% (1,074)
Treated And Transferred 2.3% (612)
Held For Observation 1.0% (280)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 28 · Male · Hand · Burn, Chemical · 2024

28YOM PRESENTS TO ED FOR HAND INJURY. PT HAS ACID BURN TO RT HAND JUST PRIOR TO ARRIVAL TODAY. PT WAS ATTEMPTING TO MAKE SKIN CARE PRODUCTS AT HOME AND ATTEMPTING A CHEMICAL REACTION INVOLVING SULFURIC ACID. WHEN REACTION DIDNT APPEAR TO BE PROCEEDING, PT ATTEMPTED TO STIR MIXED CREATION CAUSING SUDDEN BOIL OVER ONTO UNGLOVED RT HAND. IMMEDIATE BURNING PAIN TO DORSUM OF RT HAND. DX: BURN

Age 30 · Male · Foot · Other · 2024

30 YOM REPORTS AN ACID SPILLED ON MY FOOT A WEEK AGO, AND I PUT WATER ON IT, AND IT STARTED BURNING. DX: NO DX, LEFT WITHOUT BEING SEEN.

Age 51 · Male · Eyeball · Other · 2024

51YOM STATES HE WAS SPRAYING ACID ON SOME BRICKS OUTSIDE AND THE WIND BLEW THE ACID INTO HIS EYES, DX EYE PROBLEM

Age 50 · Male · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2024

50YOM PRESENTS WITH SHORTNESS OF BREATH, DIFFICULTY SWALLOWING AND CHANGE IN VOICE AFTER INHALATION EXPOSURE OF MURIATIC ACID. PATIENT RINSED FACE AND NOSTRILS. DX: ACUTE COUGH, PNEUMONITIS, CHEMICAL PNEUMONITIS

Age 71 · Male · Hand · Burn, Chemical · 2024

71YOM STATES THAT HE WAS CLEANING AN ALUMINUM TANK AT HOME AND WAS SPRAYING THE TANK WITH ALUMINUM ACID CLEANER WHEN THE CLEANER LEAKED ONTO HIS HAND NOW HAS A BURNING SENSATION DX: CHEMICAL EXPOSURE

Age 48 · Male · Head · Hemorrhage · 2024

48YOM WAS FOUND IN HIS LIVING QUARTERS WITH A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF BLOOD SPLATTERED AROUND HIS LIVING QUARTERS, REPORTS HE HIT HIS HEAD, AHS DRIED BLOOD IN HIS HAIR, ALSO STATES THAT HE HAS DIFFICULTY BREATHING AFTER A STRANGER WITH SOME SMALL CHILDREN WHO THEN EXPOSED HIM TO SOME HYDROCHLORIC ACID. DX: SYMPTOMATIC ANEMIA

Age 37 · Male · Finger · Burn, Chemical · 2024

37YOM, C/O WOUND MIDDLE FINGER X 2 WEEKS, GOT CLEANING ACID ON HIS HANDS, NOT WEARING GLOVES DX: NO DIAGNOSIS, ELOPEMENT

Age 65 · Male · Hand · Other · 2024

65YOM P/W HAND PAIN, PT STATES HE ACCIDENTALLY DIPPED HI HAND IN A LIQUID HE BELIEVES WAS ACID, PT REPORTS NO BLISTERS OR OPENED WOUNDS, 2DX:HAND PAIN, PERIPHERAL NEUROPATHY

Age 75 · Female · Eyeball · Other · 2024

75YOF PRESENTS WITH RIGHT EYE PAIN, DRAINAGE AND SWELLING SINCE YESTERDAY. PATIENT STATES SHE ACCIDENTALLY PUT 2 DROPS OF SULFURIC ACID IN HER EYE THINKING IT WAS LUBRICATING DROPS. SHE HAD IMMEDIATE BURNING AND FLUSHED HER EYE FOR 15 MINUTES WITH TAP WATER. THIS MORNING SHE HAS GREEN DRAINAGE FROM THE EYE, UNABLE TO SEE OUT OF EYE AND EYE IS SWOLLEN SHUT. DX: ULCER CORNEA RIGHT.

Age 31 · Female · Eyeball · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

31 YOF WITH LEFT EYE PAIN. PT WEARS CONTACTS AND ACCIDENTALLY SOAKED THEM IN AN ACID SOLUTION INSTEAD OF CONTACT LENSE CLEANER. DX CORNEAL ABRASION

Age 40 · Male · Lower Leg · Burn, Chemical · 2024

40 YOM WAS USING HYDROCHLORIC AND HYDROFLUORIC ACID 2 DAYS AGO AND GOT IT ON HIS BILATERAL LOWER EXTREMITIES, UNKNOWN CIRCUMSTANCES. DX: CHEMICAL BURN

Age 30 · Male · Eyeball · Burn, Chemical · 2024

30YOM PATIENT COMPLAINING OF LEFT EYE PAIN AFTER ACID FELL IN MY EYES COUPLE DAYS AGO, AND IT'S HURTING NOW . DX: ACID CHEMICAL BURN OF LEFT EYE

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

9/11/2017 · Injury, Hospital Admission · JBI, Inc. · Unspecified

The Carolinas Poison Center was contacted regarding a patient who was exposed to JBI Inc. (76 Palmetto Industrial Park, Timmonsville, SC 29161, P: (843)346-4996) “Dull Buster” Hydrofluoric acid wheel cleaning solution purchased one week prior from a local Car Quest. The specific hydrofluoric acid percentage is not listed on the bottle. A “warning UN # 1790” was listed on the bottle which corresponds to Hydrofluoric acid “with not more than 60 % hydrofluoric acid.” A specific MSDS sheet was delayed in availability (the company states a chemtrek phone number is present on the bottle, however, this number is not visible in any pictures of the labels sent to poison center). Also, the specific instructions present on the label do not appear to adequately capture the potential dangers of hydrofluoric acid exposure. They state that after skin exposure, one should “Flush with water. Remove contaminated clothing.” It does not state that skin/inhalation exposure can be potentially life threatening. It also does not state that care should be sought for inhalation/skin exposure. There are various potential therapeutic options that would be available such as the administration of calcium gluconate. Encouraging consumers to seek care could also ensure proper follow up with a hand surgeon when appropriate to prevent further morbidity. Also, the product lists “rubber gloves” as appropriate protection for the use of this product. Latex gloves would not be adequate and further guidance on appropriate protection is not listed. The patient in question was transported to a higher level of care and treated with invasive procedures that carry serious risks. The decision regarding transfer and to perform these procedures would have been better informed if the product were properly labeled. The Carolinas Poison Center discussed this case with the director of the UNC Burn Center as well as the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. All involved parties involved are i

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to acids on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Workshop Tools & Equipment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Acids: cross-group products nearest on danger score (35/100), estimated annual ER visits (1,338/yr), and hospitalization share (7.7%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Acids ranks #419 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #487 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does acids rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, acids ranks #419 by PlainSafety danger score (35/100) and #487 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (1,338/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from acids?

The most common injury is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 7,004 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from acids increasing or decreasing?

Stable over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for acids injuries?

The 45-54 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 5,182 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by acids?

Of all ER visits involving acids, approximately 7.7% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (92.3%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with acids?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Acids is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.