Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Portable Power Drills And Accessories ranks #526 of 838 by danger score (33/100) at ER-volume #366 of 838 (2,774/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #526
- danger rank of 838
- #366
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 33/100
- danger score
- 2,774/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (33/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
33 Lower than most lower than 63% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 44/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 2 | 17th | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 2,774 | 52nd | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | -18% | 38th | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 110 | 83rd | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 55,483 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 855. Segments sum to 55,483 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores
How this 33/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for portable power drills and accessories - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 2,774 ER visits/yr Above median volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 2.2% Low admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
- 5-year trend-18%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for portable power drills and accessories are declining by about 18% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2018 (3,803 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2010 (1,926 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 8,510 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by puncture to the finger (6,242 cases). The 25-34 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 12,195 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 2.2% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 110 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how portable power drills and accessories fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 630 | 168 | |
| 5-14 | 752 | 477 | |
| 15-24 | 5,936 | 269 | |
| 25-34 | 10,916 | 1,279 | |
| 35-44 | 9,027 | 1,526 | |
| 45-54 | 7,532 | 1,387 | |
| 55-64 | 7,262 | 1,128 | |
| 65-74 | 4,854 | 409 | |
| 75+ | 1,716 | 214 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Finger | Laceration | |
| Finger | Puncture | |
| Hand | Laceration | |
| Hand | Puncture | |
| Eyeball | Foreign Body | |
| Finger | Fracture | |
| Hand | Fracture | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Wrist | Strain, Sprain | |
| Eyeball | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Finger | Other | |
| Foot | Puncture | |
| Wrist | Laceration | |
| Foot | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Lower Leg | Laceration |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
36 YOM-USING A POWER DRILL AT HOME-DRILL SLIPPED & HIT HIS 3RD FINGER DX: FINGER LACERATION
18YOM USING A PAIR OF PLIERS TO REMOVE A DRILL BIT FROM DRILL, TRIGGER ENGAGED, CUT THUMB. DX THUMB LACERATION
60YOM DRILLING AND METAL SPUN CUTTING FINGERDX LAC TO INDEX FINGER
15 YOM WAS DRILLED ON THE EYE BY POWER DRILL DX: PUNCTURE EYEBALL
38YOM WAS USING A DRILL WHEN IT HIT HIM IN THE FOREHEAD RESULTING IN A CLOSED HEAD INJURY AND AN ABRASION. THE PATIENT IS CURRENTLY TAKING ***. DX: CHRONIC ANTICOAGULATION; CLOSED HEAD INJURY
23 YOM INJ HEAD SLIPPED ON THE ICE FELL HIT BACK OF HEAD ON AUGGER HANDLE AT THE LAKE DX MINOR CLOSED HEAD INJ, ABRASION SCALP
42YOM-PATIENT PRESENTS AFTER HAVING THE BUTT END (BATTERY) OF A DRILL HIT HIS LEFT THUMB RESULTING IN A DEFORMITY AT HOME. DX: LEFT THUMB DISLOCATION
35 YOM C/O INJ TO FINGER WHEN HE WENT TO PUT HIS POWERED ICE AUGER IN BACK OF TRUCK AND CUT HIS FINGER LOCATION NOT STATED DX LAC TO FINGER
21 YOM INJ RT LEG GETTING ICE AUGER READY PLASTIC CAP EXPLODED AND PLASTIC CUT LEG AT HOME DX LAC RT LOWER LEG ;
22 YOM INJ RT LOWER LEG CUT W/BLADE OF ICE AUGER AT THE LAKE DX LAC RT LOWER LEG ;
52YOM, USING POWER DRILL, DRILLED A SCREW INTO LEFT MIDDLE FINGER, PULLED IT OUT DX: PUNCTURE WOUND LEFT HAND
19YOF PRESENTS FOR NASAL INJURY OCCURRED WHEN SHE WAS USING A POWER DRILL, TIGHTENING BOLT, THAT SLIPPED OFF AND STRUCK HER NOSE. DX: CONTUSION NOSE INITIAL
Consumer Incident Reports
Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.
Craftsman 7-amp corded hammer drill sparks use. After 23 months of use orange sparks emanated from housing, some smoldering on the ground for several seconds.
I was in the process on installing new curtain rods in my house using my Kawasaki 19.2v hand held drill when the trigger began to get hot and smoke started to come out from the vents. I immediately stopped using the device unplugged the re-chargeable battery from the device and placed it outside. I looked online to see if the drill had been recalled, which it had but my serial numbers did not fall with in the range of numbers recalled. To my surprise the web site said that because the serial number did not fall within the range of numbers it was safe to continue using. My drill was not safe to continue using and I feel that the company should recall the entire model because the problem has not been fixed. Drill: Kawasaki 19.2v wireless drill Serial Number:6110014882
Kawasaki 19.2V cordless drill burning/smoking
While using the side handle of the Porter Cable Hammer Drill, the drill bit locked and continued to spin the drill while I was still holding it. This resulted in a bone fracture of my right hand. My hand was in a cast, and I was off work for several months.
The consumer stated that he was using his portable drill for approximately 10 minutes and he place down on the a wooden table. The consumer stated that he turned it off and then approximately 15 minutes later he noticed the battery was smoking. The consumer stated that she noticed that the battery was extremely hot. The consumer stated that he immediately took it off the table and took the battery out of the drill. The consumer stated the battery cooled off after it was taken out of the drill. The consumer stated that it was no longer usable. The consumer stated that no one was injured. The consumer stated that he noticed that a recall was out for their drills, but his model was not included on the recall. The consumer contacted the manufacturer and they informed him that his drill was out of warranty.
After screwing 2 support 2x4's for drywall using my Kawasaki model 691220 (21.6V), I put my drill down and moved to the adjacent walk-in closet to paint. After a couple minutes, I heard a continuous noise, stopped painting and went back to the bathroom where I saw the drill RUNNING. It had started on its own and smoke was coming out of it. Although hot, I was able to remove the battery to stop it. Today, a day later, the drill still smells bad. This drill is part of a cordless kit (drill, circular saw, flashlight, reciprocating saw; Model 840663. Since I had the problem with only the drill, I wonder if the other tools could have the same issue.
I bought a Warrior hammer drill from Harbor Freight in Murfreesboro, TN. Within 1 minute of me using it, it began to smoke really bad at the motor and I could smell a bad burning smell. It was so bad it actually burned my hand. I exchanged it for another drill at the Harbor Freight in Smyrna, TN. After using less than 30 seconds, the second drill began doing the same thing and I turned it off before it could burn me. I informed Harbor freight of the safety issue and also posted videos online as proof.
Caller purchased his 3/8" drill October 19th, 2005 and had no problems with it until around the end of July 2013 when he noticed that sparking began coming from vent openings at the rear of he drill while he was using it. No sparks touched his hands. Caller is reporting this incident as a severe fire hazard and would like to instigate a recall with remedy of free repair at manufacturer expense or replacement of drill. Caller has attempted to contact the manufacturer around Friday, August 2nd, 2013 but has not been able to obtain an answer or a response yet. He will continue trying to contact the manufacturer. No injuries are being reported.
Showing 8 of 110 reports.
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to portable power drills and accessories on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Portable Power Drills And Accessories: cross-group products nearest on danger score (33/100), estimated annual ER visits (2,774/yr), and hospitalization share (2.2%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
- Glass Bottles Or Jars, Not Specified Containers & Packaging 2.2%admitted
- Metal Or Plastic Molding Sets Toys & Children's Recreation 2.2%admitted
- Lacrosse (activity, Apparel Or Equipment) Sports & Recreation Equipment 2.2%admitted
- Football (activity, Apparel Or Equipment) Sports & Recreation Equipment 2.2%admitted
Related Products in Home Communication & Entertainment
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Portable Power Drills And Accessories ranks #526 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #366 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does portable power drills and accessories rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, portable power drills and accessories ranks #526 by PlainSafety danger score (33/100) and #366 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (2,774/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from portable power drills and accessories?
The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 8,510 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from portable power drills and accessories increasing or decreasing?
Down 18% over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for portable power drills and accessories injuries?
The 25-34 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 12,195 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by portable power drills and accessories?
Of all ER visits involving portable power drills and accessories, approximately 2.2% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (97.8%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with portable power drills and accessories?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.