Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Toy Weapons, Not Specified ranks #482 of 838 by danger score (34/100) at ER-volume #738 of 838 (170/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #482
- danger rank of 838
- #738
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 34/100
- danger score
- 170/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (34/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
34 Lower than most lower than 57% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 22/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 1 | 9th | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 170 | 12th | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | +136% | 100th | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 0 | 0th | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 2,544 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 5007. Segments sum to 2,544 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Swimming, Water & Beach Equipment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Swimming, Water & Beach Equipment danger scores
How this 34/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for toy weapons, not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 170 ER visits/yr Low volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 1.3% Low admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
- 5-year trend+136%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for toy weapons, not specified are rising by about 136% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2010 (615 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2019 (5 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is contusions, abr. to the eyeball, accounting for approximately 374 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the face (276 cases). The 5-14 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 1,215 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 1.3% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 0 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how toy weapons, not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 415 | 140 | |
| 5-14 | 888 | 327 | |
| 15-24 | 78 | 153 | |
| 25-34 | 154 | 160 | |
| 45-54 | 157 | 0 | |
| 55-64 | 72 | 0 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Eyeball | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Mouth | Laceration | |
| Head | Internal Injury | |
| Internal | Ingestion | |
| Finger | Strain, Sprain | |
| Mouth | Dental Injury | |
| Face | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Finger | Fracture | |
| Head | Laceration | |
| Elbow | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Lower Arm | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Neck | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Elbow | Other | |
| Eyeball | Hemorrhage |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
7YOM - PATIENT PRESENT FOR TRAUMA TO TOOTH. PT WAS PLAYING WITH COUSINS AND GOT TOOTH KNOCKED OUT WITH TOY REPLICA OF THOR'S HAMMER. DX: AVULSION OF TOOTH.
4 YOM, FALL SLIPPED ON TOY HIT UPPER LIP KNOCKED TOOTH OUT DX: FRONT TOOTH SUBLUXATION, BOTTOM LIP HEMATOMA AND PUNCTURE WOUND
3YOM PRESENTS WITH BROUGHT IN BY MOM FOR CONCERN OF INGESTING FOREIGN BODY. PATIENT REPORTS THAT THE PATIENT WAS PLAYING WITH A FOOT LONG SWORD THAT WAS PLASTIC, THAT SHE LOOKED AWAY AND THEN THE PATIENT STARTED CRYING AND THEN WAS CONSOLABLE FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES. STATES THAT HE STOPPED CRYING THEN POINTED TO HIS MOUTH SAYING BOOBOO THEN LATER ON POINTED TO HIS THROAT. DX: FOREIGN BODY INGESTIO
7YOM PRESENTS WITH FALL. PT WAS RUNNING ON *** MUSEUM AND FELL AROUND ONE OF THE CANNONS AND SUSTAINED A LACERATION TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF FACE. DX: CHIN LAC
3YOM WAS PLAYING WITH HIS BROTHER WHEN HE THREW A PLASTIC AXE AND HIT HIM IN THE NOSE DX: FACIAL ABRASION
16YOF WAS SPINNING A WOODEN RIFLE WHEN IT STRUCK HER LEFT EYEBROW. DX: EYEBROW LACERATION; MINOR HEAD INJURY.
5 YOM WAS HIT ON HEAD WITH A TOY DX: HEAD TRAUMA
29YOF PT WAS PLAYING WITH HER KIDS AND WAS HIT WITH A FAKE TOY SWORD. DX: LEFT FINGER FRACTURE.
5YOF- MOM SAYS PATIENT WAS PLAYING WITH TOY HANDCUFFS WHEN PATIENT ACCIDENTALLY SWALLOWED THE KEY TO THE HANDCUFF NO CHOKING GAGGING OR VOMITING.DX: SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY.
6 YOM WAS BROUGHT IN AFTER HIS YOUNGER BROTHER THREW A PLASTIC MINECRAFT SWORD AND IT LANDED ON PT'S FOREHEAD. +2.5CM LAC. DX: FOREHEAD LACERATION.
5YOF HIT IN HEAD WITH FOAM ROCKET; DX LACERATION FOREHEAD
18YOF AT A SPORTS CLUB PARTICIP[ATING IN AN EVENT AND HIT ON THE HEAD WITH A FOAM WEAPON CLOSED HEAD INJURY
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to toy weapons, not specified on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Swimming, Water & Beach Equipment
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Toy Weapons, Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (34/100), estimated annual ER visits (170/yr), and hospitalization share (1.3%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
Related Products in Swimming, Water & Beach Equipment
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Toy Weapons, Not Specified ranks #482 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #738 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does toy weapons, not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, toy weapons, not specified ranks #482 by PlainSafety danger score (34/100) and #738 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (170/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from toy weapons, not specified?
The most common injury is contusions, abr. to the eyeball, accounting for approximately 374 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from toy weapons, not specified increasing or decreasing?
Up 136% over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for toy weapons, not specified injuries?
The 5-14 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 1,215 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by toy weapons, not specified?
Of all ER visits involving toy weapons, not specified, approximately 1.3% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (98.7%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with toy weapons, not specified?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.