CPSC NEISS · code 871

Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified

Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified: danger rank #370 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #301 of 838 (4,530 estimated ER visits a year; roughly flat over the last five years).

Home Communication & Entertainment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified ranks #370 of 838 by danger score (36/100) at ER-volume #301 of 838 (4,530/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#370
danger rank of 838
#301
ER-volume rank of 838
36/100
danger score
4,530/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (36/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

36 Around the middle lower than 44% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 44/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 2 19th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 4,530 57th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend +6% 75th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 9 46th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 90,582 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 871. Segments sum to 90,582 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores

1. Tools, Not Specified44/1002. Batteries43/1003. Bench Or Table Saws43/1004. Torches, Not Specified42/1005. Battery Chargers/adapters41/1006. Power Saws, Other Or Not …40/1007. Rope Or String40/1008. Power Drills Or Accessori…36/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10036/100
PlainSafety danger score · Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 36/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for power drills or accessories, not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 4,530 ER visits/yr Above median volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 2.5% Low admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend+6%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for power drills or accessories, not specified are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2020 (6,010 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2005 (3,469 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 14,280 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by puncture to the finger (9,802 cases). The 35-44 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 18,741 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 2.5% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 9 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how power drills or accessories, not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

3K4K5K6K7K 20052008201120142017202020232024 5K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 637 507 1,144
5-14 1,896 318 2,214
15-24 8,691 1,311 10,002
25-34 15,731 1,362 17,093
35-44 17,477 1,264 18,741
45-54 15,115 1,422 16,537
55-64 11,315 1,046 12,361
65-74 7,554 399 7,953
75+ 4,230 321 4,551

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Finger Laceration 14,280
Finger Puncture 9,802
Hand Laceration 9,276
Hand Puncture 8,820
Finger Fracture 4,092
Eyeball Foreign Body 4,010
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 3,375
Hand Fracture 2,950
Face Laceration 2,190
Wrist Strain, Sprain 1,903
Finger Other 1,327
Finger Amputation 954
Hand Other 944
Foot Puncture 943
Finger Strain, Sprain 899

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 96.3% (87,191)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 2.0% (1,848)
Left Without Being Seen 1.0% (895)
Treated And Transferred 0.5% (475)
Held For Observation 0.2% (173)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 80 · Male · Hand · Laceration · 2024

80YOM INJURED LEFT HAND WITH A HANDHELD AUGER BIT. LACERATION TO LEFT HAND. DX: HAND INJURY

Age 43 · Male · Head · Laceration · 2024

43YOM FOR EVAL OF LAC TO R LATERAL SIDE OF HIS HEAD AFTER ELECTRIC DRILL HE WAS USING SLIPPED&THE DRILL STRUCK HIS HEAD. HAS SMALL LAC TO THE SKIN JUST LATERAL TO HIS RIGHT EYE. DX: LACERATION OF HEAD

Age 44 · Male · Finger · Puncture · 2024

44YOM DRILL SLIPPED AND BIT PUNCTURED THUMBDX PUNCTURE WOUND THUMB

Age 38 · Male · Finger · Puncture · 2024

38YOM WITH PUNCTURE WOUND TO THE LEFT THUMB FROM A DRILL BIT. DX: PUNCTURE WOUND OF LEFT THUMB

Age 42 · Male · Finger · Foreign Body · 2024

42 YOM HAS A PIECE OF A DRILL BIT STUCK IN FINGER DX: FB

Age 35 · Male · Lower Arm · Strain, Sprain · 2024

35YOM WAS USING A DRILL FIXING HIS TRUCK AND DRILL SLIPPED AND TWISTED FOREARM AND HEARD A POP. HAVING PAIN. DX FOREARM SPRAIN

Age 52 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2024

52YOM C/O L THUMB LAC W/ ELECTRICAL DRILL TODAY DX: LACERATION OF FINGER

Age 30 · Female · Face · Laceration · 2024

30YOF WAS USING A POWER DRILL & IT GOT COUGHT IN HARD MATERIAL & THE DRILL SWUNG AROUND & HIT PT IN FORHEAD & PT SUSTAINED LACERATION OVER RIGHT EYBROW , NO LOC, DX FACIAL INJURY, FACIAL LACERATION

Age 27 · Male · Hand · Puncture · 2024

27YOM C/O PUNCTURE WOUND TO LEFT HAND S/P PT STATES HE WAS WORKING WITH A POWER DRILL WHEN IT SLIPPPED AND POKED HIM IN THE PALM OF HIS LEFT HAND. DX: PUNCTURE WOUND OF LEFT HAND

Age 2 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

2YOF PRESENTS TO THE ED AFTER THE PATIENT SWALLOWED A DRILL BIT AT HOME. DX: FOREIGN BODY, FOREIGN BODY INGESTION

Age 34 · Male · Elbow · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

34 YOM C/O ELBOW PAIN AFTER HITTING ON AUGER DX CONTUSION ELBOW

Age 66 · Male · Finger · Other · 2024

66YOM PRESENTS WITH FOREIGN BODY IN HIS FINGER AFTER USING A POWER DRILL AND HITTING HIS FINGER WITH A SCREW. DX: INJURY OF FINGER, ABSCESS OF FINGER

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

8/15/2015 · Unspecified · Harbor Freight Tools · New York

19.2v drill master from harbor freight has a transformer which melted down . I am contacting harbor freight . I purchase this about 2 yrs ago.

8/10/2020 · Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received · Black & Decker (U.S.) Inc. · Illinois

I was using this Porter Cable corded drill model 2611 to drill a small hole in soft wood when sharp pieces of plastic came shooting out of the air vents on the side of the drill. On closer inspection it seems that the cooling fan blade inside the drill had came apart and was throwing the plastic pieces out of the vents. The plastic hit my arms and chest causing pain but no permanet injury. Could have easily caused damage to eyes if drill was turned another way. The drill was well maintained and had not been used very often.

6/5/2013 · Incident, No Injury · Sears Holdings Management Corporation · Unspecified

After very light household use, the safety switch failed on my Sears Craftsman Drill model 315.101371. The motor no longer stops running when the trigger switch is released. I have created a video and posted it on YouTube to help demonstrate the problem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k17X55m-Fu4 It is very dangerous and very disappointing that the "top of the line" model would fail so quickly. I returned to the store to try and exchange it, assuming incorrectly that the company would want it for analysis. The store employees told me that without a receipt, it could not be returned or exchanged. They further stated that since it was more than 90 days old (by my admission) it was no longer under warranty.

5/20/2014 · Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received · ARDISAM INC · Unspecified

I purchased a Ardisam E43 single-user auger in 2011 (Manufacture date of 2010, purchased August 2011) to dig several 3 foot deep post holes. The "Viper" engine is powerful, but the controls for the engine are not robust. Major: Since initial purchase, the throttle has intermittently "stuck" in the full power position. At first I could simply release and re-squeeze the throttle to unstick the mechanism. During use in 2012, I had to switch off the unit with the electric "On/Off" switch to get the unit to stop. After that experience the unit performed as before with mild stickling. I cleaned the throttle at that time and periodically since then. I serviced the auger to use it for the 2014 season. I had previously stored the unit, but made sure the components were properly drained and/or lubricated for storage. I re-lubricated the components, including cleaning the throttle, before fueling and attempting to start. Upon starting the unit, the throttle stuck in the full power position and this time got away from me. I ultimately had to knock the gas filler cap off with a sledge hammer while the unit spun on the ground. The unit stopped when the fuel ran out. Minor: After digging the first two holes, on the third hole the spring in the pull-start mechanism snapped. I had to later order a replacement spring. The second assembly also broke - this time the end of the spring assembly that attaches to the rope pull had broken. I disassembled the mechanism and retied the rope to the end of the spring which I had to bend to catch the end of the rope. The pull length was slightly shorter, but the mechanism has not broken since I made this modification. We have numerous power tools, including gas-fed units. We have never experienced the issues we did with the Ardisam E43 auger.

5/17/2023 · Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received · Robert Bosch Tool Corporation · Unspecified

SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE/CONCERN with FREUD Diablo 1 3/4in. Diameter Tongue and Groove Bit Set with 1/2in. Shank, Model# 99-036! The carbide cutter blades have serious material failures and parts thereof break off and fly away during operation when the router bit is spinned up which caused a minor injury! We purchased the named FREUD router bit set in Oct last year (2022). The first router bit set we received already showed serious chip offs at the carbide cutting blades at arrival, which we at that time suspected might have been a transport issue and thus we requested a granted replacement from the reseller. Today we see that it was not a transport damaged but rather already indicating a material failure of the carbide cutting blades and a manufacturing failure of this FREUD router bit set. The second (replaced) router bit set we received looked alright at arrival. We used this bit set with the manufacturer recommended 16,000 rpm on about 30 lft Red Oak only, which is for the expected lifetime of a router bit far less than 1%, before we encountered the severe hazard and safety issue last week. When turning on the router and spinning up the installed router bit, I was hit by something flying off the router bit at the chest. Luckily and because of my own good working protection I got only minor injured and the injury was not more severe like the eyes for example. After immediate stop and inspection it became clear, that a part of the carbide cutting knife of the lower router bit wing was missing and broke/chipped off during the spinning up and that this was the part which hit me. Please find attached the photo proof. The fact, that a carbide cutting edge deteriorated over such a short period of time of merely 6 months with extremely low use (of 30lft oak boards only) and then kicked off without the stress of cutting any material, just simply by spinning up the bit, demonstrate a SEVERE MATERIAL FAILURE in the carbide cutting blades being used in these FREUD router

4/7/2022 · Incident, No Injury · Robert Bosch Tool Corporation · Massachusetts

Caller is reporting that the switch of the drill comes on easily and poses a safety hazard. There were no injuries sustained by the incident. Caller stated that there seems to be a design flaw with the switch. The manufacturer was not contacted as yet. Drill goes from 0 to 30,000 RPM if dropped. Speed switch has no detents. Caller suffered burns from rotary attachment (metal smoothing abrasive). Drill when laid down and plugged into power will activate and skate all over the room.

3/22/2015 · Incident, No Injury · FELDMANN ENGINEERING & MANUFACTURING INC · Maine

Recently purchased a new Jiffy pro4 ice auger. The throttle on these units freeze and stick open. Had my cable replaced once already by dealer but it is starting to stick again. There have been videos posted online of these augers running wide open uncontrolled in an ice hole with no way to stop it.These units are not safe to use with this current throttle cable design.

11/4/2018 · Incident, No Injury · Black & Decker (U.S.) Inc. · Unspecified

The accessory side handle that was supplied with the drill slips off during use. This caused me to lose control of the drill.

Showing 8 of 9 reports.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to power drills or accessories, not specified on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (36/100), estimated annual ER visits (4,530/yr), and hospitalization share (2.5%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified ranks #370 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #301 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does power drills or accessories, not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, power drills or accessories, not specified ranks #370 by PlainSafety danger score (36/100) and #301 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (4,530/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from power drills or accessories, not specified?

The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 14,280 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from power drills or accessories, not specified increasing or decreasing?

Stable over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for power drills or accessories, not specified injuries?

The 35-44 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 18,741 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by power drills or accessories, not specified?

Of all ER visits involving power drills or accessories, not specified, approximately 2.5% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (97.5%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with power drills or accessories, not specified?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Power Drills Or Accessories, Not Specified is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.