CPSC NEISS · code 884

Batteries

Batteries: danger rank #84 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #160 of 838 (14,299 estimated ER visits a year; rising by about 15% over the last five years).

Home Communication & Entertainment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Batteries ranks #84 of 838 by danger score (43/100) at ER-volume #160 of 838 (14,299/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#84
danger rank of 838
#160
ER-volume rank of 838
43/100
danger score
14,299/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (43/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

43 Higher than most more dangerous than 88% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 82/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

F
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 10 76th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 14,299 78th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend +15% 79th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 638 100th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 285,992 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 884. Segments sum to 285,992 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores

1. Tools, Not Specified44/1002. Batteries43/1003. Bench Or Table Saws43/1004. Torches, Not Specified42/1005. Battery Chargers/adapters41/1006. Power Saws, Other Or Not …40/1007. Rope Or String40/1008. Saws, Not Specified40/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10043/100
PlainSafety danger score · Batteries

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 43/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for batteries - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 14,299 ER visits/yr High volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 10.1% High admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend+15%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for batteries are rising by about 15% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2024 (21,198 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2005 (9,621 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is ingestion to the internal, accounting for approximately 139,419 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by burn, chemical to the eyeball (9,577 cases). The 0-4 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 119,949 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 10.1% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 638 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how batteries fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

5K10K15K20K25K 20052008201120142017202020232024 21K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Batteries, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 70,009 49,897 119,949
5-14 27,310 14,272 41,582
15-24 15,209 6,212 21,480
25-34 16,468 8,104 24,600
35-44 13,979 5,086 19,065
45-54 13,090 4,792 17,882
55-64 12,471 3,088 15,559
65-74 8,830 2,995 11,825
75+ 9,904 4,140 14,044

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Internal Ingestion 139,419
Eyeball Burn, Chemical 9,577
Face Foreign Body 8,322
All Parts Body Poisoning 6,860
Foot Contusions, Abr. 5,518
Eyeball Derma/conjunct 5,465
Ear Foreign Body 5,013
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 4,654
Upper Trunk Other 4,356
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 4,179
Finger Laceration 4,041
Lower Trunk Other 3,803
Eyeball Other 3,352
Face Laceration 2,838
Toe Fracture 2,741

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 87.3% (249,609)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 6.8% (19,551)
Treated And Transferred 3.8% (10,743)
Left Without Being Seen 1.5% (4,195)
Held For Observation 0.6% (1,800)
Unknown, Not Stated 0.0% (94)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 11 · Female · Face · Foreign Body · 2024

11YOF C/O FOREIGN BODY. BUTTON BATTERIES IN BILATERAL NARES. BATTERIES REMOVED WITH METAL FORCEPS. DX: FOREIGN BODY IN NOSTRIL, INITIAL ENCOUNTER

Age 36 · Male · Lower Trunk · Strain, Sprain · 2024

36 YOM C/O INJ TO LOW BACK PAIN WITH NURBNESS OF LEG AFTER PICKING UP A BATTERY AND THEN SET IT DOWN AT HOME DX LUMBAR STRAIN, SCIATICA

Age 4 · Male · Face · Foreign Body · 2024

4YOM PRESENTS AFTER PUTTING A CIRCULAR BATTERY UP HIS RIGHT NOSTRIL, HAS A SMALL AREA OF ABRASION TO HIS NOSTRIL DX: NASAL FOREIGN BODY

Age 39 · Male · Eyeball · Other · 2024

^39YOM PATIENT REPORTS DROPPING A CAR BATTERY AND IT EXPLODED, HE REPORTED GETTING ACID IN RIGHT EYE DX: CHEMICAL INJURY TO CORNEA OF RIGHT EYE

Age 220 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

20MOM SWALLOWED A BATTERY AT GRANDMOTHERS HOUSE DX: FOREIGN BODY INGESTION

Age 2 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

2YOF SWALLOWED A BUTTON BATTERY DX: FOREIGN BODY INGESTION

Age 4 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

4YOF SWALLOWED A BUTTON BATTERY DX: INGESTION OF A FOREIGN OBJECT

Age 6 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

6YOM PRESENTS WITH POSSIBLE SWALLOWING OF FOREIGN BODY S/P PT'S MOTHER STATES THE PT MAY HAVE SWALLOED 2 TRIPLE A BATTERIES EARLIER IN THE MORNING. DX: SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY

Age 3 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

3 YOF TOLD FAMILIY SHE HAD SWALLOWED A BATTERY DX POSSIBLE FB INGESTION

Age 218 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

18MOM TO ER FOR SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY, PTS MOM FOUND PT PLAYING W/ TOY THAT HAS 2 BUTTON BATTERIES, MOM FOUND 1 BATTERY IN HIS MOUTH THE OTHER WAS MISSING, SHE THINKS HE SWALLOWED, NO FOREIGN BODY SEEN IN XRAY DX SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY

Age 24 · Male · Head · Internal Injury · 2024

24YOM, REPORTS A MARINE BATTERY FELL STRIKING HIS HEAD WITHOUT LOSS OF CONSCIOUS, POISTIVE CONTUSION TO FOREHEAD, DX: CLOSED HEAD INJURY

Age 28 · Male · Hand · Burn, Chemical · 2024

28YOM WAS BURNED WHEN HIS VAPE PEN LEAKED FROM THE LITHIUM BATTERY. DX: BILATERAL HAND BURNS

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

9/9/2024 · Incident, No Injury · Rayovac Corporation · Wisconsin

Purchased Rayovac Batteries. Several devices destroyed by leaking batteries. Most recently purchased a 60 pack of AA batteries. Those batteries are well within their freshness date and have leaked/corroded while still new in the package. Rayovac has been very reluctant to cover devices and batteries under their warranty. They have suggested an unsafe practice in handling the hazardous material produced by them.

9/8/2025 · Incident, No Injury · One World Technologies, Inc. · Maryland

At approximately 3 am on 9/7/2025 the fire alarms in my home went off. I traced the source to a 40 Volt Ryobi lithium ion battery that was one of two batteries that came with a mower, model number RY401021US. The battery was not in a charger. The heat caused the underside of the battery to burn away and created dense smoke and strong odor. The heat from the battery apparently caused damage to other items in close proximity including a can a spray paint that exploded and splattered paint throughout the area.

9/8/2024 · No Incident, No Injury · SHENZHEN JINLANG TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD. · California

Regarding FOCHEW lithium Portable Charger, 2-Pack 20000mAh sold on Amazon Amazon ASIN B094G1GL8T Model # HX120S2 - Dongguan Haoxun Electronic Technology Co., Ltd Purchased in May, case of item began to melt and unit stopped working after 2-3 weeks. Purchased replacement in June, case of item began to melt and unit stopped working after 60 days. Unit is a fire hazard. Amazon has issued a return tag but CPC may want to investigate safety of this item.

9/8/2023 · Incident, No Injury · Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. · Missouri

had a Dewalt Lithium rechargeable battery explode in a business.

9/8/2017 · Incident, No Injury · U.S. Battery Manufacturing Co. · North Carolina

Our golf cart needed new lead-acid batteries, so the company that sold the cart to us, and continues to provide maintenance support, suggested we install six 8-volt batteries instead of the four 12-volt batteries that needed replacing. While charging, potentially dangerous hydrogen gas is produced that made our carbon monoxide detector a floor above the cart garage alarm. Readings of 300 ppm were obtained in our house. When the detector was placed upon the batteries, the detector max'd out at 999 ppm. I called the fire department, and their more sophisticated measuring device measured, and alarmed. They said that firefighters will evacuate a building if hydrogen is measured above 50 ppm! My cart company never received a complaint before about this, and didn't necessarily understand the gravity of the situation, but hydrogen gas had been escaping into my house for weeks!

9/8/2017 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · Antigravity Batteries LLC · Washington

Used the battery as instructed and as intended to jump start my 2006 [REDACTED] vehicle. Black clamp to negative post of my car battery and red clamp to the positive post of my car battery, after connecting the ground. I tried to turn my vehicle over one time and noticed through my windshield that the battery under the hood of my car was bulging and so I turned off the ignition and ran to get the battery. It had swelled and was making noises like it was going to catch on fire. I disconnected the positive and then negative clamps and I felt the case with my thumb and burned my back of my thumb. I used the cable wires to remove the battery to a safe place as it continued to heat up and break itself open. The battery has no manufacture's details on it and is distributed on Amazon.com by Lytle Racing Group in Arizona. I contacted them via Amazon Marketplace and they wrote back and said it was past warranty and they couldn't help me. I protested the safety concerns I had, and they said AntiGravity indemnifies them and that was all. I have photos and tried two browsers, but your site will not allow me to upload the pictures.

9/7/2017 · Incident, No Injury · Pedego Electric Bikes · California

RECALL on Electric bike battery with Pedego bike company, purchased between 2011 and 2012. The batteries were faulted with early wear and melting of ion plates, etc. My battery defaulted on 2013, approximately one year after the purchase. The bike has been inoperable since then. I was not informed about the recall, until I saw an article recently that made me aware, and realized that I also was also a recipient of a Faulty product; I understand the company was offering a free New Battery replacement. I have reached out to PEDEGO bike company, and have not received any correspondence to my request. I would like the Pedego Company to come clean on their Promise to Replace all faulty batteries issued within those said years, 2010-2013. Can you please help me achieve this Goal? Thank you in advance. Steve

9/6/2019 · Incident, No Injury · MaxPowerCell LLC · New Jersey

8 Batteries were installed in multiple burglar alarm sensors, an additional box was opened and 2 were installed in glass break sensors with only battery power. After being installed in the glass break sensor, the installer went to place additional batteries into from the same box into other sensors. He then heard a loud crack and found flames shooting from one of the devices, the device fell to the floor and the battery shot around the room spitting fire. It was quickly covered with a wet towel to extinguish the burning battery. As this was taking place a smoke detector in another room began sounding. When it was investigated a device with just installed battery had fire coming from the device as well.

Showing 8 of 638 reports.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to batteries on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Batteries: cross-group products nearest on danger score (43/100), estimated annual ER visits (14,299/yr), and hospitalization share (10.1%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Batteries ranks #84 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #160 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does batteries rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, batteries ranks #84 by PlainSafety danger score (43/100) and #160 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (14,299/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from batteries?

The most common injury is ingestion to the internal, accounting for approximately 139,419 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from batteries increasing or decreasing?

Up 15% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for batteries injuries?

The 0-4 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 119,949 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by batteries?

Of all ER visits involving batteries, approximately 10.1% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (89.9%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with batteries?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Batteries is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.