CPSC NEISS · code 894

Hacksaws

Hacksaws: danger rank #762 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #570 of 838 (689 estimated ER visits a year; declining by about 47% over the last five years).

Home Communication & Entertainment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Hacksaws ranks #762 of 838 by danger score (26/100) at ER-volume #570 of 838 (689/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#762
danger rank of 838
#570
ER-volume rank of 838
26/100
danger score
689/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (26/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

26 Among the lowest lower than 91% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 12/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

A
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 1 5th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 689 28th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -47% 11th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 0 0th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 13,773 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 894. Segments sum to 13,773 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores

1. Tools, Not Specified44/1002. Batteries43/1003. Bench Or Table Saws43/1004. Torches, Not Specified42/1005. Battery Chargers/adapters41/1006. Power Saws, Other Or Not …40/1007. Rope Or String40/1008. Hacksaws26/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10026/100
PlainSafety danger score · Hacksaws

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 26/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for hacksaws - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 689 ER visits/yr Below median volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 0.8% Low admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend-47%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for hacksaws are declining by about 47% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2008 (1,287 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2023 (146 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 7,795 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the hand (2,712 cases). The 55-64 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 2,828 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 0.8% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 0 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how hacksaws fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

05001K2K 20052008201120142017202020232024 163
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Hacksaws, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 6 55 61
5-14 703 80 783
15-24 1,450 0 1,450
25-34 1,471 210 1,681
35-44 2,314 213 2,527
45-54 1,872 104 1,976
55-64 2,251 577 2,828
65-74 1,204 245 1,449
75+ 1,015 0 1,015

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Finger Laceration 7,795
Hand Laceration 2,712
Lower Arm Laceration 542
Lower Leg Laceration 325
Eyeball Foreign Body 322
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 312
Wrist Laceration 203
Finger Fracture 167
Foot Contusions, Abr. 143
Finger Avulsion 137
Shoulder Other 114
Foot Laceration 108
Upper Trunk Other 94
Face Contusions, Abr. 87
Upper Leg Laceration 80

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 98.1% (13,506)
Left Without Being Seen 1.1% (158)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 0.8% (109)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 60 · Male · Lower Arm · Laceration · 2024

60YOM CUTTING A PIPE WITH A HACKSAW, ACCIDENTALLY CUT LT FOREARM. DX: LAC FOREARM

Age 63 · Male · Hand · Laceration · 2024

63YOM WAS USING A HACKSAW AND CUT LEFT HAND DX: LACERATION HAND

Age 23 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2024

23 YOM LACERATED HIS THUMB WHILE USING A HACKSAW. DX: LEFT THUMB LACERATION WITH FOREIGN BODY

Age 61 · Male · Upper Leg · Laceration · 2023

61 YOM WAS CUTTING A BUSH WITH A HACKSAW WHEN HE ACCIDENTALLY CUT HIS LEG. DX: LEFT THIGH LACERATION

Age 84 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2023

84 YOM LACERATED HIS THUMB WHILE USING A HACKSAW. DX: LEFT THUMB LACERATION

Age 57 · Female · Finger · Laceration · 2023

57YOF ACCIDENTALLY CUT HER FINGER WITH A HACKSAW THAT HAD BEEN USED FOR PLUMBING DX: RT INDEX FINGER LACERATION

Age 33 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2023

33 YOM CUT LEFT INDEX FINGER ON A HACKSAW, DX: FINGER LACERATION

Age 45 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2023

45YOM, CUT FINGER ON A HACKSAW, DX: LACERATION OF RIGHT THUMB

Age 40 · Male · Hand · Laceration · 2022

40 YOM. CUT TOP OF HIS HAND WITH A HACKSAW. DX: LAC OF LT HAND

Age 17 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2022

17 YOM FROM HOME STATES HE WAS BUILDING WITH A HACKSAW AND THE SAW HIT HIS LEFT POINTER FINGER KNUCKLE. PT LACERATION TO FINGER. PT WAS BUILDING PROPS WITH HACKSAW. DX: LACERATION OF LEFT INDEX FINGER

Age 67 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2022

67YOM.USING HACKSAW CUT FINGER.DX.LAC.LT.3RD,FINGER

Age 71 · Female · Finger · Laceration · 2022

71 YOF-CUT ON A HACKSAW ON FINGER DX: FINGER LACERATION

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to hacksaws on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Hacksaws: cross-group products nearest on danger score (26/100), estimated annual ER visits (689/yr), and hospitalization share (0.8%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Hacksaws ranks #762 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #570 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does hacksaws rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, hacksaws ranks #762 by PlainSafety danger score (26/100) and #570 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (689/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from hacksaws?

The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 7,795 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from hacksaws increasing or decreasing?

Down 47% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for hacksaws injuries?

The 55-64 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 2,828 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by hacksaws?

Of all ER visits involving hacksaws, approximately 0.8% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (99.2%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with hacksaws?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Hacksaws is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.