Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Knife Sharpeners, Not Specified ranks #574 of 838 by danger score (32/100) at ER-volume #410 of 838 (2,157/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #574
- danger rank of 838
- #410
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 32/100
- danger score
- 2,157/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (32/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
32 Lower than most lower than 68% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 25/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 1 | 5th | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 2,157 | 50th | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | -10% | 51st | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 0 | 0th | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 43,135 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 444. Segments sum to 43,135 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Containers, Tableware & Packaging group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Containers, Tableware & Packaging danger scores
How this 32/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for knife sharpeners, not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 2,157 ER visits/yr Below median volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 0.8% Low admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
- 5-year trend-10%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for knife sharpeners, not specified are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2017 (3,385 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2005 (1,009 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 30,521 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the hand (6,594 cases). The 15-24 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 7,990 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 0.8% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 0 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how knife sharpeners, not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 0 | 268 | |
| 5-14 | 1,660 | 156 | |
| 15-24 | 7,019 | 971 | |
| 25-34 | 6,365 | 1,482 | |
| 35-44 | 4,762 | 2,105 | |
| 45-54 | 5,475 | 1,782 | |
| 55-64 | 4,017 | 1,832 | |
| 65-74 | 2,308 | 1,294 | |
| 75+ | 1,070 | 493 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Finger | Laceration | |
| Hand | Laceration | |
| Lower Arm | Laceration | |
| Wrist | Laceration | |
| Upper Leg | Laceration | |
| Finger | Avulsion | |
| Eyeball | Foreign Body | |
| Eyeball | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Lower Leg | Laceration | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Knee | Laceration | |
| Upper Trunk | Laceration | |
| Head | Hematoma | |
| Hand | Puncture | |
| Finger | Contusions, Abr. |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
37YOF COMES TO THE ER FOR A LACERATION. SHE SUSTAINED A LEFT THUMB LACERATION WHILE SHOPPING A KNIFE AT HOME. DX: LACERATION WITHOUT FOREIGN BODY LEFT THUMB WITHOUT DAMAGE TO NAIL
59YOF STATES THAT SHE WAS SHARPENING A KNIFE WHEN IT SLIPPED AND SHE CUT HER LEFT HAND DX: LACERATION OF LEFT HAND
59YOM PRESENTS WITH A THUMB LACERATION. HE WAS SHARPENING A KNIFE AND LACERATED THE LEFT FIRST DIGIT. ADMITS TO DRINKING ALCOHOL. NO BAL. DX: LACERATION OF THUMB
69 YOM WAS SHARPENING A KNIFE AND CUT R INDEX FINGER. DX FINGER LACERATION
40YOF TO ER FOR LEFT PALM LACERATION WHILE SHARPENING A KNIFE AT HOME, LACERATION IS 1 INCH IN LENGTH DX LACERATION OF LEFT HAND W/O FOREIGN BODY
41 YOM BIBA FROM HOME. HE WAS SHARPENING KNIVES TONIGHT WENT TO GRAB A KNIFE FROM A KNIFE BLOCK AND CUT HIS LEFT HAND. DX HAND LAC, HAND TENDON LAC
16YOM, ACCIDENTALLY CUT HIS RIGHT THUMB WHILE SHARPENING A KNIFE, DX: LACERATION OF SKIN OF RIGHT THUMB
15YOM, CUT HAND ON A KNIFE THAT WAS SHARPENING DX: LACERATION OF LEFT HAND
43YOM LAC HIS FINGER SHARPENING A KNIFE. DX: LAC FINGER
20YOM LAC FINGER SHARPENING A KNIFE. DX: LAC THUMB
46YOM LAC THUMB SHARPENING A KNIFE. DX: LAC THUMB
22YOM WAS SHARPENING A PUTTY KNIFE WHEN HE SLIPPED AND LACERATED HIS LEFT WRIST DX: LACERATION OF LEFT WRIST
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to knife sharpeners, not specified on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Containers, Tableware & Packaging
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Knife Sharpeners, Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (32/100), estimated annual ER visits (2,157/yr), and hospitalization share (0.8%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
Related Products in Containers, Tableware & Packaging
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Knife Sharpeners, Not Specified ranks #574 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #410 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does knife sharpeners, not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, knife sharpeners, not specified ranks #574 by PlainSafety danger score (32/100) and #410 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (2,157/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from knife sharpeners, not specified?
The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 30,521 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from knife sharpeners, not specified increasing or decreasing?
Stable over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for knife sharpeners, not specified injuries?
The 15-24 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 7,990 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by knife sharpeners, not specified?
Of all ER visits involving knife sharpeners, not specified, approximately 0.8% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (99.2%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with knife sharpeners, not specified?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.