CPSC NEISS · code 434

Doorstops

Doorstops: danger rank #419 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #522 of 838 (1,030 estimated ER visits a year; roughly flat over the last five years).

Containers, Tableware & Packaging CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Doorstops ranks #419 of 838 by danger score (35/100) at ER-volume #522 of 838 (1,030/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#419
danger rank of 838
#522
ER-volume rank of 838
35/100
danger score
1,030/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (35/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

35 Lower than most lower than 50% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 47/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 8 67th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 1,030 33rd 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend +0% 66th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 1 18th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 20,614 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 434. Segments sum to 20,614 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Containers, Tableware & Packaging group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Containers, Tableware & Packaging danger scores

1. Waste Containers, Trash B…45/1002. Knives, Not Elsewhere Cla…44/1003. Drinking Glasses, Cups, A…42/1004. Cookware, Not Specified42/1005. Manual Cleaning Equipment…41/1006. Kitchen Gadgets, Not Else…41/1007. Unpowered Coffee Makers O…41/1008. Doorstops35/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10035/100
PlainSafety danger score · Doorstops

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 35/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for doorstops - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 1,030 ER visits/yr Below median volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 8.3% Above median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend+0%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for doorstops are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2024 (1,451 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2011 (583 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the face, accounting for approximately 1,890 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the head (1,628 cases). The 0-4 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 4,571 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 8.3% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 1 consumer incident report filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how doorstops fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

4006008001K1K1K2K 20052008201120142017202020232024 1K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Doorstops, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 3,182 1,389 4,571
5-14 928 956 1,884
15-24 359 840 1,199
25-34 361 650 1,011
35-44 320 963 1,283
45-54 258 890 1,148
55-64 704 1,935 2,639
65-74 422 1,961 2,383
75+ 1,138 3,341 4,479

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Face Laceration 1,890
Head Laceration 1,628
Head Internal Injury 1,429
Toe Fracture 1,004
Head Contusions, Abr. 938
Foot Contusions, Abr. 909
Lower Trunk Fracture 895
Foot Laceration 678
Toe Contusions, Abr. 603
Lower Trunk Contusions, Abr. 585
Internal Ingestion 531
Face Contusions, Abr. 498
Upper Arm Fracture 394
Wrist Strain, Sprain 381
Lower Leg Laceration 372

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 89.1% (18,362)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 8.0% (1,646)
Left Without Being Seen 1.3% (269)
Held For Observation 1.0% (211)
Treated And Transferred 0.6% (126)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 9 · Male · Foot · Laceration · 2024

9YOM STATES CUT LEFT HEEL ON A DOOR STOP, HE WAS PLAYING AND FELL INTO A DOOR STOP. DX: LACERATION OF LEFT HEEL

Age 90 · Female · Face · Fracture · 2024

90YOF FELL AT 11AM THIS MORNING TRIPPING OVER A DOOR STOP. SHE HIT HER HEAD AND HER GLASSES HIT JUST ABOVE HER RIGHT EYE. SHE HAS A SMALL ABRASION CONTUSION OVER RIGHT EYEBROW. DX: ECCHYMOSIS RIGHT EYE, ORBITAL FLOOR FRACTURE, CLOSED HEAD INJURY

Age 72 · Female · Upper Arm · Fracture · 2024

72 YOF COMES BY EMS AFTER FALL AT HOME, SHE WAS LETTING HER DOG OUTSIDE AND TRIPPED OVER A DOOR STOP, C/O LEFT SHOULDER/UPPER ARM AND RIB PAIN. DX: HUMERUS FX

Age 21 · Male · Not Stated/unk · Other · 2024

21YOM PATIENT HAD A SEIZURE, FALLING TO THE GROUND, HITTING THE DOOR STOP, NO INJURIES REPORTED DX: SEIZURE LIKE ACTIVITY, HISTORY OF PSYCHOGENIC NONEPILEPTIC SEIZURE

Age 67 · Female · Lower Leg · Laceration · 2024

67YOF PRESENTS WITH LEFT LEG INJURY. SHE APPARENTLY STRUCK HER LEG ON A METAL DOOR STOP OF SOME KIND AND HAS A SMALL LACERATION WHICH WAS BLEEDING IN THE LEFT ANTERIOR LOWER LEG. DX: LEFT LEG LACERATION

Age 69 · Female · Lower Trunk · Other · 2024

69YOF PRESENTS AFTER FALLING WHILE WALKING WITH HER WALKER WHEN IT GOT CAUGHT ON A DOOR STOP, PRESENTS WITH PAIN TO HER RIGHT ANKLE, KNEE, AND HIP. DX: FALL

Age 78 · Female · Ankle · Laceration · 2024

78YOF WAS IN HER BATHROOM WHEN THE DOOR OPENED UP AND THE DOOR STOPPER STRUCK HER IN THE LEFT ANKLE DX: LACERATION ANKLE

Age 65 · Female · Lower Trunk · Strain, Sprain · 2024

65 YOF TRIPPED OVER A DOOR STOP AND FELL. DX: LUMBAR STRAIN

Age 218 · Male · Face · Laceration · 2024

18MOM BROUGHT IN BY HIS MOTHER, STATES THAT THE CHILD WAS PLAYING ON A WHEELCHAIR AND JUMPED OFF. INJURED CHIN ON A DOOR STOP. CHIN LACERATION NOTED. DX: CHIN LACERATION

Age 79 · Male · Lower Trunk · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

79YOM, TRIPPED OVER A DOORSTOP AND FELL LANDING ONTO BUTTOCKS, DX: CONTUSION OF COCCYX

Age 216 · Male · Face · Laceration · 2024

16MOM TRIPPED AND FELL HITTING HEAD AGAINST CAST IRON DOORSTOP, DX: LACERATION OF FOREHEAD

Age 16 · Female · Ankle · Strain, Sprain · 2024

16YOF PRESENTS WITH ANKLE INJURY AFTER TRIPPING OVER A DOOR STOP LAST NIGHT AT HOME. DX: ANKLE SPRAIN

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

7/26/2023 · Incident, No Injury · KidCo, Inc · Ohio

The KidCo Soft Jamb Door Stop (model #S610) was installed in my 18-month-old son's room behind his door. Product instructions were followed and product was installed correctly. I went to the restroom and left my son in his childproofed bedroom to play until I came back. When I returned, I found that my son had managed to snap the door stop off of the baseboard, leaving the base of the door stop in the wall. The plastic was jagged where the item snapped. Additionally, when I used a wrench to gently unscrew the base of the door stop (product instructions say that an adjustable wrench may be required to tighten), I found that the base had also snapped in half. All that was left in the wall was the hooked metal screw.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to doorstops on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Containers, Tableware & Packaging

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Doorstops: cross-group products nearest on danger score (35/100), estimated annual ER visits (1,030/yr), and hospitalization share (8.3%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Doorstops ranks #419 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #522 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does doorstops rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, doorstops ranks #419 by PlainSafety danger score (35/100) and #522 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (1,030/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from doorstops?

The most common injury is laceration to the face, accounting for approximately 1,890 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from doorstops increasing or decreasing?

Stable over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for doorstops injuries?

The 0-4 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 4,571 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by doorstops?

Of all ER visits involving doorstops, approximately 8.3% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (91.8%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with doorstops?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Doorstops is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.