CPSC NEISS · code 1650

Desk Supplies

Desk Supplies: danger rank #313 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #190 of 838 (11,459 estimated ER visits a year; declining by about 13% over the last five years).

Personal Care & Safety Products CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Desk Supplies ranks #313 of 838 by danger score (37/100) at ER-volume #190 of 838 (11,459/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#313
danger rank of 838
#190
ER-volume rank of 838
37/100
danger score
11,459/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (37/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

37 Around the middle lower than 37% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 57/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 4 32nd 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 11,459 76th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -13% 46th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 101 82nd 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 229,219 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1650. Segments sum to 229,219 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Personal Care & Safety Products group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Personal Care & Safety Products danger scores

1. Massage Devices Or Vibrat…52/1002. Day Wear48/1003. Coins46/1004. Footwear46/1005. Fuel Multi-purpose Lighte…45/1006. Lighters, Not Specified45/1007. Nightwear45/1008. Desk Supplies37/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10037/100
PlainSafety danger score · Desk Supplies

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 37/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for desk supplies - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 11,459 ER visits/yr High volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 3.8% Below median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend-13%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for desk supplies are declining by about 13% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2005 (15,307 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2019 (7,947 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is foreign body to the ear, accounting for approximately 30,451 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by ingestion to the internal (29,012 cases). The 5-14 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 93,125 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 3.8% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 101 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how desk supplies fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

6K8K10K12K14K16K 20052008201120142017202020232024 11K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Desk Supplies, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 23,178 26,304 49,482
5-14 55,381 37,602 93,125
15-24 13,499 12,170 25,669
25-34 9,104 7,379 16,561
35-44 5,728 6,150 11,878
45-54 5,459 6,278 11,737
55-64 4,699 4,911 9,610
65-74 2,760 3,143 5,903
75+ 2,473 2,742 5,215

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Ear Foreign Body 30,451
Internal Ingestion 29,012
Finger Foreign Body 23,196
Face Foreign Body 15,591
Finger Laceration 14,185
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 11,473
Finger Puncture 8,589
Foot Puncture 7,554
Finger Other 4,165
Hand Laceration 4,068
Hand Foreign Body 3,543
Eyeball Other 3,366
Face Laceration 3,083
Foot Laceration 3,007
Hand Puncture 2,874

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 94.3% (216,133)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 2.2% (5,041)
Left Without Being Seen 1.7% (3,848)
Treated And Transferred 1.4% (3,209)
Held For Observation 0.4% (971)
Unknown, Not Stated 0.0% (17)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 27 · Male · Ear · Foreign Body · 2024

27YOM COMPLAINS OF FOREIGN BODY IN RIGHT EAR FOR 4MONTHS. ATTEMPTED TO REMOVE IT WITH A PAPERCLIP AND HIS EAR STARTED TO BLEED AND DRAIN PUS. DENIES PUTTING ANY OBJECTS IN HIS EAR. DX: IMPACTED CERUMEN OF RIGHT EAR, FOREIGN BODY OF RIGHT EAR, INFECTIVE OTITIS EXTERNA OF RIGHT EAR, RIGHT NON-SUPPURATIVE OTITIS MEDIA. (LEFT WITHOUT BEING DISCHARGED)

Age 20 · Male · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2024

20 YOM PRESENTS FROM JAIL, REPORTS INGESTING 4 G OF COCAINE AND 1 G OF FENTANYL IN A FINGER CONDOM THAT HE BELIEVES THAT WAS TIED OFF SUFFICIENTLY. DX: PURPOSEFUL NON SUICIDAL DRUG INGESTION.

Age 11 · Male · Finger · Puncture · 2024

11YOM, C/O UPPER EXTREMITY INJURY, HOLDING STAPLER, STAPLED RIGHT THUMB DX: PUNCTURE WOUND RIGHT THUMB, FOEIGN BODY REMOVAL RIGHT THUMB

Age 44 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

44YOM WITH HALLUCINATIONS AND VOMITING . UDS + COCAINE. PT ALSO NOTED TO HAVE PAPER CLIPS IN HIS VOMIT DX; BIZARRE BEHAVIOR

Age 13 · Male · Finger · Foreign Body · 2024

13YOM PT C/O PIECE OF PLASTIC RULER STUCK IN RT PINTER FINGER NO DX

Age 8 · Male · Lower Arm · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

8YOM SUSTAINED MULTIPLE SELF-INFLICTED ABRASIONS TO HIS FOREARMS WITH A PAPER CLIP DX: SUPERFICIAL ABRASIONS, AGGRESSION

Age 11 · Unknown · Lower Arm · Laceration · 2024

11YO ***, BEEN STRUGGLING WITH SEXUAL IDENTITY FOR OVER A YEAR AND TODAY SLASHED ARM WITH PENCIL SHARPENER WITH INTENT TO HARMSELF, DX: DELIBERATE SELF CUTTING; LACERATION OF MULTIPLE SITES OF RIGHT ARM

Age 14 · Female · Mouth · Other · 2024

14YOF PRESENTS WITH A MOUTH INJURY AFTER HOLDING A RULER IN HER MOUTH AT SCHOOL WHEN ANOTHER STUDENT BUMPED INTO HER AND PUSHED THE RULER INTO HER THROAT. DX: INJURY OF MOUTH

Age 11 · Female · Hand · Laceration · 2024

11YOF DOES NOT FEEL SAFE AT HOME SO TODAY WHILE AT SCHOOL SHE TOOK A STAPLE AND SUSTAINED MULTIPLE SUPERFICIAL LACERATIONS TO FOREARM AND HAND DX: LACERATION FOREARMS, HAND, DELIBERATE SELF CUTTING

Age 74 · Female · Finger · Laceration · 2024

74YOF WAS TRYING TO FILL A STAPLER WITH STAPLES WHEN SHE HAD A FALL AT THE NURSING HOME CUTTING LEFT THUMB WITH THE STAPLER ON *** DX: LACERATION FINGER, ANTICOAGULATED

Age 7 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

7 YOF PRESENTS WITH SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY S/P SWALLOWED A PIECE OF A BROKEN PLASTIC RULER WHILE AT SCHOOL. DX: SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY

Age 8 · Female · Head · Internal Injury · 2024

8 YOF HIT ON THE HEAD WITH A CLIPBOARD. DX HEAD INJURY

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

9/9/2013 · Incident, No Injury · Michaels Stores, Inc. · Florida

(9/2011)The consumer stated that she was using the eraser with her drawings. The consumer stated that she put the eraser down on the counter. She sat a paint brush on top of the eraser to dry. The consumer stated that the paint brush had been on top of the eraser for a day or two. When she went back to get the paint brush, she discovered that the handle of the paint brush was melted. The consumer stated that she thought something was wrong with the paint brush so she threw it away. Later on she was using the eraser and sat the eraser on top of her wood table top. She stated that she left it there for about two days. When she picked up the eraser about two days later, she discoverd that the eraser had eaten through the varnish on the table. The consumer stated that she stopped using the eraser and placed it on a plastic tray. When she went back to look at the eraser a year later, it had eaten through the plastic tray. The consumer stated that she had not use this brand of eraser before.

9/29/2020 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · KROGER STORES, INC. · Georgia

Caller is reporting a chip clip releases the spring that went into his middle finger on his right hand this is the second time this product has caused injury. He stated that the wound was about a 1/30 of an inch (ballpoint size). First aid was applied to the wound. He stated that he was trying to put the clip back onto the bag when the plastic around the spring broke. The manufacturer or retailer was not contacted. Caller feels that this clip is a safety hazard and should be reported.

9/11/2023 · No Incident, No Injury · Shenzhen Gayou Technology Co., Ltd. · California

I have not purchased this product, but its existence concerns me. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B6PGN8N4/ These are gelatin pill capsules containing small message scrolls and a tiny metal ring to keep the paper rolled. I am concerned that someone could swallow these, thinking that they are medication. There are countless other brands of similar products on Amazon.

8/24/2024 · Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received · GREENBRIER INTERNATIONAL · Wisconsin

I purchased a Jot electric pencil sharpener from the Dollar Tree in Oshkosh, WI on August 18, 2024. UPC 1 95464 45828 0. It requires 3 AAA batteries. I place 3 brand new batteries into the compartment and set the sharpener down. I went to get a pencil. I was gone less than 5 minutes. When I picked up the sharpener, it felt hot. I opened up the battery compartment and burned my thumb. Since the product was not on, used a cloth s(so as to not burn myself further) and removed the 3 batteries which were hot. Some of the springs popped off the sharpener's battery compartment. One of the batteries showed heat damage to the outer battery wrapper.

8/22/2016 · Unspecified · Acme United Corporation · Colorado

Electric pencil sharpener with external power supply was sitting on a wooden cabinet not in active use. At some point there was a short or arc in the unit and it heated up enough to burn the cabinet and significantly melt the bottom of the sharpener.

8/15/2022 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · ACCO BRANDS INC. · California

WAS FASTENING PAPERS TO ACCO PRONG FASTENERS OFFICE PRODUCT #12995 AND SLICED DEEP CUT ON MIDDLE FINGER, PRODUCT IS VERY SHARP AND NOT COATED OR SMOOTHED OUT FOR SAFETY. HAD PROLONGED BLEEDING DUE TO TAKING BLOOD THINNING MEDICATION...

8/1/2011 · Incident, No Injury · GREENBRIER INTERNATIONAL · Kansas

On July 31, 2011, I purchase a stapler from Dollar Tree Stores, Inc. The stapler was sold as a school supply item in the children's educational aisle, so I decided to buy it for my daughter. The same evening, we loaded the stapler with standard size staples as indicated on the stapler's packaging. When my 6-year-old daughter attempted to staple a page as a test, the stapler ejected staples in the opposite direction and in the trajectory towards her face, closely missing her eye! Luckily, she was not injured, but this stapler's design is obviously flawed and harmful. Upon close inspection, I noticed that there was nothing locking the top cover in place and that is is just loosely held in place by the pressure of your hand pushing down on the stapler. Additionally, the spring on the loading side of the stapler is flawed allowing the stapler's top cover to wobble and possibly eject staples, as in the case and incident with my daughter, in the opposite direction intended. This stapler is highly likely to cause injury to anyone handling it, and because of it's small size intended for smaller hands, most likely the victim may be a child. Information on the packaging indicates the stapler is distributed by Greenbrier International Inc. in Chesapeake, VA 23320, and the stapler is Made in China. UPC Code on the packaging is shown as 6 39277 77531 3. Please remove this stapler from the market as soon as possible to avoid injury to children. Thank you, [REDACTED]

7/5/2022 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · Molblly, Inc. · District of Columbia

At 7PM or so on July 5th, 2022 - I received a package from [REDACTED]. I had ordered a Molblly King Size Mattress, 10 inch premium cooling-gel memory foam from Amazon. As I was following the instructions on how to open up the mattress, which is rolled and air sealed - the instructions advise you to avoid scissors or a knife for opening. Instead they provide a plastic opening tool which contains a razor blade. As I followed the instructions using the tool provided, the plastic shattered and the razor blade went inward cutting my middle finger deeply. I myself was using the product with a friend who was watching. The product was being used as instructed, and the plastic tool shattered, causing the internal razor blade to cut open the side of my middle finger. The cut was deep - but fairly narrow given it came straight on from the razor blade. I determined that stitches were likely not going to help, so took self care at home. It took nearly 30 minutes for the bleeding to stop enough to apply disinfectant and bandages. I was shocked at how flimsy the tool provided was given that it contained a razor. I have kept the broken tool and taken pictures of both the injury and mattress, packaging, and instructions. This will certainly happen again if something is not done to improve the quality of the manufacturers tools and I would be genuinely shocked if I am the only one this has happened to. Please take some action to ensure this is resolved with the manufacturer and does not happen again to someone else. While my injury was not serious enough to require a hospital visit/stitches, the next one may be. [REDACTED]

Showing 8 of 101 reports.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to desk supplies on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Personal Care & Safety Products

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Desk Supplies: cross-group products nearest on danger score (37/100), estimated annual ER visits (11,459/yr), and hospitalization share (3.8%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Desk Supplies ranks #313 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #190 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does desk supplies rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, desk supplies ranks #313 by PlainSafety danger score (37/100) and #190 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (11,459/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from desk supplies?

The most common injury is foreign body to the ear, accounting for approximately 30,451 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from desk supplies increasing or decreasing?

Down 13% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for desk supplies injuries?

The 5-14 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 93,125 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by desk supplies?

Of all ER visits involving desk supplies, approximately 3.8% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (96.2%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with desk supplies?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Desk Supplies is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.