Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Cosmetics, Incl Facial & Eye Make-up, Deodorants, Etc. ranks #482 of 838 by danger score (34/100) at ER-volume #313 of 838 (4,172/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #482
- danger rank of 838
- #313
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 34/100
- danger score
- 4,172/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (34/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
34 Lower than most lower than 57% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 39/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 4 | 32nd | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 4,172 | 56th | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | -21% | 33rd | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 4 | 31st | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 83,436 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1913. Segments sum to 83,436 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Transportation & Substances group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Transportation & Substances danger scores
How this 34/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 4,172 ER visits/yr Above median volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 3.8% Below median admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
- 5-year trend-21%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. are declining by about 21% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2011 (5,330 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2023 (2,697 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 71,362 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by burn, chemical to the eyeball (7,985 cases). The 0-4 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 83,432 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 3.8% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 4 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 42,998 | 40,434 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| All Parts Body | Poisoning | |
| Eyeball | Burn, Chemical | |
| Face | Burn, Chemical | |
| Mouth | Burn, Chemical | |
| Head | Burn, Chemical | |
| Upper Trunk | Burn, Chemical | |
| Finger | Burn, Chemical | |
| Face | Derma/conjunct | |
| Neck | Burn, Chemical | |
| Hand | Burn, Chemical | |
| Toe | Burn, Chemical | |
| Foot | Burn, Chemical | |
| Not Stated/unk | Derma/conjunct | |
| Upper Leg | Burn, Chemical | |
| Internal | Aspiration |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
2YOF PRESENTS W/MOTHER&FATHER FOR EVAL OF POTENTIAL INGESTION.CHILD WAS UNATTENDED FOR BRIEF PERIOD PRIOR TO COMING IN. MOTHER/FATHER FOUND HER TO HAVE GOTTEN INTO THE CONDITIONER (SHAMPOO BOTTLE). THEY DONT THINK SHE INGESTED ANY,BUT RATHER SPIT IT OUT UPON TASTING IT. ACTING NORMALLY SINCE,SMILING,LAUGHING,NO ACUTE PAIN OR DISTRESS. DX: INGESTION OF DETERGENT OR SOAP
18MOM W/GRANDMOTHER FOR EVAL OF ING OF HAIR GEL.PT FOUND EATING LET'S JAM HAIR GEL.PT HAD HIS JAW ON BOTH HIS HANDS INSIDE OF MOUTH.APPROX 1 HR LATER VOMITED.PT VOMITED AGAIN AFTER EATING DINNER.DX:ACCIDENTAL INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE
2YOM, C/O INGESTION OF INSTANT POWER DRAIN OPENER OR SHAMPOO AT HOME, DX; SHAMPOO INGESTION
2 YOF W NO PMHX PRESENTING AFTER POSSIBLE INGESTING HAIR GEL. PT SPIT UP/VOMITED UP SOME OF THE GEL. GRANDMA WAS THERE FOR THE ENTIRE EPISODE. DX: INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE, ACCIDENTAL OR UNINTENTIONAL
13MOF WAS CAUGHT DRINKING FROM A BOTTLE OF HAIR TREATMENT PRODUCT CALLED *** DX: INGESTION OF A SUBSTANCE
3 YOM COMES TO ED AFTER INGESTION OF A CHUNK OF *** DEODORANT, DX: INGESTION
11MOM, FOUND BY MOM WITH HER *** HAIR GEL ALL OVER HIS HANDS AND HAS BEEN LICKING HIS HANDS AND EATING IT HAVE AN EPISODE OF VOMITING 15 TO 20 MINUTES AFTER DX: ACCIDENTAL INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE
2YOF, FOUND BY MOTHER HOLDING A BOTTLE OF EYELASH OIL REMOVER, MOM DIDN'T WITNESS ANY INGESTION BUT OUT OF CONCERN BROUGHT HER TO BE EXAMINED, ACTING HERSELF ON ARRIVAL, DX: INGESTION OF FOREIGN MATERIAL
18MOM WAS FOUND EATING *** AND *** BABY POWDER DX: INGESTION OF A NON-TOXIC SUBSTANCE
22MOF SWALLOWED NAIL POLISH. DX: ACCIDENTAL INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE
23MOM PRESENTS AFTER HE INGESTED DEODORANT. DX: INGESTION OF FOREIGN MATERIAL
12MOM INGESTED AND SPILLED ON HIS SHIRT ,HALF A BOTTLE OF NAIL POLISH BOND USED FOR ACRYLIC NAILS (*** FOR ACRYLIC AND UV GELS. HE WAS BEING WATCHED BY AUNT WHO DOES NAILS FOR A LIVING.DX: ACCIDENTAL
Consumer Incident Reports
Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.
Ryans world bath bomb made by taste beauty LLC, trade marked by pocket watch LLC. We followed directions as listed on the packaging placing the bath bomb in the warm water and after a minute my daughter hoped in. After 4 minutes in the shower My daughter had a sever reaction and it can not be determined if it was a burn or Allergic reaction. She had 6-7 burn spots and has been traumatized by bath time and this product. Took daughter to the Doctor thinks it was possible that the dye or citric acid in the mix caused a reaction. But he couldnt clearly say if it was an allergic reaction or burns caused by the improper mixture.
Burt's Bees reformulated their Baby Shampoo & Wash Fragrance Free Tear Free and have been selling to stores without requiring them to update the product description, nor using any verbiage on the product itself alerting consumers that the product formulation has changed. I purchased this item from Walmart.com, fulfilled by Walmart. It left my 7 month old reeking of a chemical smell and it burned my 5 year old's eyes. Upon further inspection, the color of the shampoo/wash is more transparent than it was before, and the percentage of natural ingredients has gone from 99.9% to 98.9%. It is not fragrance free, it smells like chemicals, and it is not tear free, as my older son found out. I reached out to Burt's Bees and was told matter of factly that their formulation has not changed, despite the fact that the product is not a different color and is not a lesser percentage of "natural" ingredients. Never have I ever been flat out lied to by a company. Why are they not required to alert consumers that their formulation has changed? And what about the fact that this is no longer fragrance free not tear free? Please stop this product from harming any other children.
Product: Mavala Stop Nail Alert (Helps avoid putting fingers in your mouth) Per the recommendation of our dentist, we purchased Mavala Stop to deter our 4 year old from sucking her thumb. Ten minutes after we applied Mavala to her right thumb, she started screaming and vomitting violently. She vomited six times violently. She stated gurgling her vomit even after we had her sit up. We called her father and we about to call poison control, but the child stopped. For a product that has the intention of a toddler putting their thumb in their mouth, this is unacceptable and this product should be removed from the market. Mavala Stop Ref 903.72US.
Used a childrens dinosaur bath bomb purchased from Walmart on the same day- DIG IT! BATH FIZZER product #043834333722 and batch # B231102 as directed for my son when he started screaming that he was hurting only to find the contents of the bomb were burning his skin in the water. We had to get him out and quickly rinse him off with cold water. My hands also started to burn from contact with the water and chemicals the bath bomb had released. Red hives broke out all over any body part that came in contact with the water that burned and itched. Benzocaine lotion was applied after rinsing to remove burning pain and red hives dissipated after about an hour
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Transportation & Substances
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Cosmetics, Incl Facial & Eye Make-up, Deodorants, Etc.: cross-group products nearest on danger score (34/100), estimated annual ER visits (4,172/yr), and hospitalization share (3.8%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
- Ashtrays, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified Home Medical & Assistance Devices 3.8%admitted
- Desk Supplies Personal Care & Safety Products 3.8%admitted
- Room Deodorizers Or Fresheners, Not Specified Home Workshop Tools & Equipment 3.8%admitted
- Aquariums Or Accessories Sports & Recreation Equipment 3.7%admitted
Related Products in Transportation & Substances
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Cosmetics, Incl Facial & Eye Make-up, Deodorants, Etc. ranks #482 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #313 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. ranks #482 by PlainSafety danger score (34/100) and #313 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (4,172/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc.?
The most common injury is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 71,362 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. increasing or decreasing?
Down 21% over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc. injuries?
The 0-4 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 83,432 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc.?
Of all ER visits involving cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc., approximately 3.8% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (96.3%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with cosmetics, incl facial & eye make-up, deodorants, etc.?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.