Product category

Personal Care & Safety Products

This category tracks 54 consumer products in the CPSC NEISS injury database, together accounting for roughly 724,702 emergency-room visits a year - the 8th-highest of 26 tracked categories by ER volume.

54
products tracked
724,702
ER visits / year
36
avg danger score
7.7%
avg hospitalization rate

CPSC NEISS escalation ladder

Category extract #8/33 Personal Care & Safety Products

Personal Care & Safety Products · 54 scored · 724,702 ER/yr · avg 36/100

  • MEM #8
  • MEM 724,702
  • MEM 36
  • MEM 52
  • MEM 7.7%
  • MEM 0
  • MEM 54
  • MEM Containers, Tableware & Packaging

Photo peer: Containers, Tableware & Packaging (728,438/yr)

Containers, Tableware & PackagingContainers, Tableware & Pack…728,438Personal Care & Safety Products (this)Personal Care & Safety Produ…724,702Containers & PackagingContainers & Packaging432,912Home Communication & EntertainmentHome Communication & Enterta…393,933Home Medical & Assistance DevicesHome Medical & Assistance De…369,575
Nearest product categories by summed estimated annual ER visits

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Personal Care & Safety Products ranks #8 of 33 tracked product categories by summed average annual ER visits. How we place categories →

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS, Massage Devices Or Vibrators leads this category's danger score at 52/100 (4,048/yr) while Footwear leads estimated ER volume at 194,476/yr (danger score 46/100). They are not the same ranking.

52/100
Massage Devices Or Vibrators danger score #1 of 54
194,476/yr
Footwear ER volume #1 of 54
4,048/yr
Massage Devices Or Vibrators ER volume (not #1)
46/100
Footwear danger score (not #1)

Ranks compare the 54 scored products in Personal Care & Safety Products from the same CPSC NEISS extract. Danger score is not ER-visit volume.

Personal Care & Safety Products vs all categories by estimated annual ER visits

Where this category's summed average annual ER volume sits among every tracked product category (exposure rank, not a danger score)

724,702 8th of 26 higher than 18 of 26 categories

Product categories, banded by estimated average annual ER visits

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS · 2026-08-31

Where injuries concentrate in Personal Care & Safety Products

Estimated average annual ER visits for the highest-volume products in this category.

FootwearFootwear194K/yrJewelryJewelry100K/yrDay WearDay Wear82K/yrGrocery Or Shopping Carts, UnpoweredGrocery Or Shopping Carts, U…36K/yrCoinsCoins34K/yrNonelectric Razors Or ShaversNonelectric Razors Or Shavers31K/yrClothing, Not SpecifiedClothing, Not Specified29K/yrClothing AccessoriesClothing Accessories20K/yr
Top products in Personal Care & Safety Products by annual ER visits

The Personal Care & Safety Products safety profile

Average danger score across the 54 scored products, and how they split across the danger tiers.

0/100100/10036/100
Average danger score
High risk (60+): 0 Moderate (40–59): 15 Low (<40): 39

Every product in Personal Care & Safety Products, by danger score

Score Product
52 Massage Devices Or Vibrators
48 Day Wear
46 Coins
46 Footwear
45 Fuel Multi-purpose Lighters, Incl. Micro-torches small sample
45 Lighters, Not Specified
45 Nightwear
44 Clothing, Not Specified
42 Clothing Accessories
42 Jewelry
41 Cigarette Or Pipe Lighters
40 Multi-purpose Lighters, Not Specified small sample
40 Grocery Or Shopping Carts, Unpowered
40 Manicure, Pedicure, And Make-up Brushes/tools
40 Outerwear
39 Carts, Other Or Not Specified
39 Luggage
39 Respiratory Protection Devices small sample
39 Electric Shoe Polishers small sample
38 Pens And Pencils
38 Pins And Needles
38 Razors Or Shavers, Not Specified
38 Hair Grooming Equipment Or Accessories, N.s. small sample
38 Nonelectric Razors Or Shavers
38 Personal Protection Devices
37 Desk Supplies
37 Keys, Key Rings Or Key Chains
36 Hair Curlers, Curling Irons, Clips & Hairpins
36 Saunas small sample
36 Eye Protection Devices
36 Eyeglasses
36 Hair Dryers
35 Dollies, Handtrucks Or Luggage Carriers
35 Other Clothing small sample
35 Umbrellas
35 Combs Or Hairbrushes, Unpowered
35 Nonelectric Toothbrushes
34 Sewing Basket Articles
34 Combs, Not Specified small sample
33 Watches
32 Electric Razors Or Shavers small sample
32 Electric Combs small sample
32 Wigs, Falls Or Hairpieces small sample
31 Hair Clippers And Trimmers
31 Bath Or Facial Cleansing Brushes small sample
31 Hearing Aids
31 Ear Protection Devices
29 Paper Cutters small sample
27 Heat Or Infrared Lamps small sample
23 Electric Multi-purpose Lighters small sample
22 Powered Toothbrushes Or Oral Irrigators small sample
20 Sun Lamps small sample
19 Clothesbrushes small sample
19 Lighted Make-up Mirrors small sample

19 products are marked small sample: fewer than 1,000 estimated ER visits a year, so the danger score rests on few NEISS cases. They stay in this list but are left out of the national danger ranking.

Compare beyond volume rank

Nationwide peers by summed ER volume & peak danger score

Two PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Personal Care & Safety Products: other NEISS product categories nearest on summed estimated annual ER visits (724,702/yr) and highest member danger score (52/100). Volume rank above/below stays on the adjacent-category ladder.

Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS), 2005–2024.

Source: CPSC SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports and CPSC recall announcements.

Disclaimer: This information is provided for general informational purposes only and does not constitute professional, medical, or safety advice. Data is sourced from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC); PlainSafety is an independent project and is not affiliated with the CPSC. Consult a qualified professional before making decisions based on this data.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Category risk tallies count CPSC recalls and related product records in this category. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.