Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Ashtrays, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified ranks #659 of 838 by danger score (30/100) at ER-volume #496 of 838 (1,282/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #659
- danger rank of 838
- #496
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 30/100
- danger score
- 1,282/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (30/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
30 Among the lowest lower than 79% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 30/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 4 | 32nd | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 1,282 | 37th | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | -37% | 15th | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 3 | 28th | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 25,632 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1740. Segments sum to 25,632 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Medical & Assistance Devices group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Home Medical & Assistance Devices danger scores
How this 30/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 1,282 ER visits/yr Below median volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 3.8% Below median admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
- 5-year trend-37%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified are declining by about 37% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2007 (2,241 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2022 (544 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 2,880 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the foot (2,313 cases). The 15-24 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 4,962 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 3.8% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 3 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 1,777 | 1,084 | |
| 5-14 | 1,070 | 836 | |
| 15-24 | 2,907 | 2,055 | |
| 25-34 | 2,629 | 1,342 | |
| 35-44 | 1,634 | 2,082 | |
| 45-54 | 1,705 | 2,638 | |
| 55-64 | 916 | 944 | |
| 65-74 | 358 | 845 | |
| 75+ | 118 | 672 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Finger | Laceration | |
| Foot | Laceration | |
| Hand | Laceration | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Head | Laceration | |
| Foot | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Lower Leg | Laceration | |
| All Parts Body | Poisoning | |
| Knee | Laceration | |
| Head | Internal Injury | |
| Lower Arm | Laceration | |
| Toe | Laceration | |
| Wrist | Laceration | |
| Upper Trunk | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Eyeball | Contusions, Abr. |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
23 YOM INJURED HEEL, STEPPED ON BROKEN GLASS ASHTRAY. DX- LACERATION RIGHT HEEL
33YOF HX OF POLYSUBSTANCE ABUSE, REPORTS SHE IS IN REMISSION, ALTHOUGH DOES APPEAR TO BE SLIGHTLY INTOXICATED DISINHIBITED CURRENTLY. RUDE & ABUSIVE TO STAFF, PRESENTS WITH R HAND LACERATION AND PAIN AFTER SHE PUNCHED AN ASHTRAY LAST NIGHT BECAUSE SHE WAS ANGRY AT SOMEBODY BANGING ON THE DOOR OF HER MOTEL. BAL N/S. DX: BOXERS FRACTURE
12YOM PTS MOTHER STATES GLASS ASHTRAY FELL AND BROKE WITH GLASS LANDING ON PTS LEFT KNEE LAST NIGHT AT HOME, 7CM LACERATION IS NOTED TO LEFT KNEE DX: LACERATION OF LEFT KNEE
63 YOM WAS TAKING THE GARBAGE OUT AT HOME AND SLIPPED ON AN ASHTRAY AND FELL DOWN FOUR SHORT STEPS. AND FELL ON HIS RIGHT KNEE AND SIDE. HAS ABRASION TO RIGHT KNEE. DX: ABRASION OF RIGHT KNEE
16YOM P/W HAND LAC, AS PER MOM PT SLIPPED CUTTING HAND ON PLASS ASHTRAY WHILE PLAYING W/ BROTHER, DX:LAC OF HAND
56YOF - PATIENT PRESENT FOR LACERATION TO HAND. PT CUT HAND ON BROKEN GLASS ASHTRAY. DX: FINGER LACERATION.
23YOM P/W LAC TO HAND AFTER CUTTING IT ON ASHTRAY, DX: HAND LACERATION
52 YOF STEPPED ON BROKEN ASHTRAY AT HOME DX FB FOOT
35YOF PRESENTS WITH THUMB LACERATION. PATIENT STATES SHE CUT HER THUMB ON AN ASHTRAY. DX: THUMB LACERATION
65YOF PRESENTS FROM HOME WITH COMPLAINT OF ARM PAIN AFTER LIFTING HEAVY ASHTRAY. DX: WRIST STRAIN, ELBOW EPICONDYLITIS
10MOF GOT A MARUJUANA BLUNT OUT OF ASHTRAY ON MOMS NIGHTSTAND AND ATE IT. +CANNABINOID. DX INGESTION
9MOF PRESENTS AFTER POSSIBLE INGESTION OF CIGARETTE ASH. MOM REPORTS PT GOT AHOLD OF AN ASHTRAY (NOT HOT) AND PUT THEM IN HER MOUTH, POSSIBLY SWALLOWING THEM. MOM WAS NOT INITIALLY CONCERNED, HOWEVER, ABOUT 15 MIN LATER, MOM VISUALIZED SWELLING TO PT'S TONGUE/CHEEKS. DX: PATIENT LEFT WITHOUT BEING SEEN.
Consumer Incident Reports
Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.
EMAIL 2: Subject: Re: Plastic container melted on finger - HOT Fire Hazard - The 2 in 1 extinguisher. Quality of plastic?? PRODUCT: TNT MARKETING INC. GRAND HAVEN, MI49417 - 6 colors - MADE IN CHINA. (The BLUE ONE MELTS) Subject: Consumer product defect- liability. Attachment 8. "Better lighting". Photo of my finger print impression. Plastic melting down - boiling from the inside out. Hot! There is no warning label -product may get hot and melt in its entirety if the lid is not sealed tight!. :( Causing minor burns or worse - fire hazards. Homes, Cars, Boats. Caution! EMAIL 1: Sent: Saturday, June 09, 2018 9:50 PM To: Center, Information <Info@cpsc.gov> Subject: Plastic container melted on finger - HOT Fire Hazard - The 2 in 1 extinguisher. Quality of plastic?? Attachments (7). Consumer product Safety Alert. Please see attached photos. Discovery: With the lid not set tightly, the cigarette butts burn the inside plastic - to the outside - I noticed the smell of smoldering plastic - noticed just in time and hot to the touch-melted plastic on my finger when I picked it up. Please see photos. Burnt plastic on right hand finger. That is my finger impression on their container. Little bubbles melting from inside out. :( Thank you for your review of my finding of this unknown - unaware fire hazard found and reported today. Email secured by [REDACTED] ----------------------------------I chose electronic record from below response. On Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 5:59 AM Center, Information <Info@cpsc.gov> wrote: Good morning, Thank you for contacting the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). Regarding your below e-mail, we would like you to submit an incident report against the plastic container in question; you can: fill out the attached form and e-mail it back to us, or print it and mail it to the address indicated on said form call us Monday Friday between 08:00 A.M. and 05:30 P.M. EST to file an incident report over the phone
Resident of house smoked a cigarette on a wood deck outside his house. Resident discarded cigarette butt in a plastic "self-extinguishing astray" located on the deck less than an hour before passerby notices the fire. Passerby notices fire on the deck of the house and reports fire to 911 dispatch. Passerby knocks on residence and alerts them of fire and everyone evacuates before south side of structure and attic is engulfed in fire. Investigation of fire results in the cigarette deposited in the plastic ashtray as the ignition source for the fire. Residence was a home daycare with 3 clients under the age of 5 years of age. 120,000 dollars damage to structure and 59,000 dollars damage to contents. The fire spread quickly due to wind gusts of up to 25 mph.
Not sure of the real date, but not long ago, I was driving & using Dollar Generals Smokeless ashtray, & the hot ash burned through the lower end of the ash tray & I could smell it, os pulled up on it, from the bottle holder in my side dash hole, & the ash rolled out all over my car's seat, & burned it everywhere! I called them, & never heard back, from them, 7 had to spend $40.00 on car seats to hide the holes, everywhere! This is my first New car in 50 years, & it's ruined!
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Home Medical & Assistance Devices
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Ashtrays, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (30/100), estimated annual ER visits (1,282/yr), and hospitalization share (3.8%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
- Cosmetics, Incl Facial & Eye Make-up, Deodorants, Etc. Transportation & Substances 3.8%admitted
- Desk Supplies Personal Care & Safety Products 3.8%admitted
- Room Deodorizers Or Fresheners, Not Specified Home Workshop Tools & Equipment 3.8%admitted
- Aquariums Or Accessories Sports & Recreation Equipment 3.7%admitted
Related Products in Home Medical & Assistance Devices
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Ashtrays, Not Elec. Or Battery Or Not Specified ranks #659 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #496 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified ranks #659 by PlainSafety danger score (30/100) and #496 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (1,282/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified?
The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 2,880 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified increasing or decreasing?
Down 37% over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified injuries?
The 15-24 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 4,962 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified?
Of all ER visits involving ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified, approximately 3.8% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (96.3%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with ashtrays, not elec. or battery or not specified?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.