CPSC NEISS · code 1686

Coins

Coins: danger rank #38 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #75 of 838 (34,037 estimated ER visits a year; roughly flat over the last five years).

Personal Care & Safety Products CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Coins ranks #38 of 838 by danger score (46/100) at ER-volume #75 of 838 (34,037/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#38
danger rank of 838
#75
ER-volume rank of 838
46/100
danger score
34,037/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (46/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

46 Higher than most more dangerous than 94% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 67/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

D
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 16 91st 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 34,037 91st 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -10% 51st 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 0 0th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 680,761 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1686. Segments sum to 680,761 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Personal Care & Safety Products group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Personal Care & Safety Products danger scores

1. Massage Devices Or Vibrat…52/1002. Day Wear48/1003. Coins46/1004. Footwear46/1005. Fuel Multi-purpose Lighte…45/1006. Lighters, Not Specified45/1007. Nightwear45/1008. Clothing, Not Specified44/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10046/100
PlainSafety danger score · Coins

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 46/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for coins - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 34,037 ER visits/yr Very high volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 16.4% Very high admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend-10%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for coins are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2013 (40,261 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2020 (24,903 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is ingestion to the internal, accounting for approximately 614,737 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by aspiration to the internal (31,348 cases). The 0-4 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 458,681 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 16.4% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 0 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how coins fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

20K25K30K35K40K45K 20052008201120142017202020232024 31K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Coins, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 244,579 214,036 458,681
5-14 122,182 74,699 196,881
15-24 4,323 2,482 6,805
25-34 1,673 1,656 3,329
35-44 1,332 1,022 2,354
45-54 1,575 1,347 2,922
55-64 1,275 1,132 2,407
65-74 1,533 1,514 3,047
75+ 1,632 2,692 4,324

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Internal Ingestion 614,737
Internal Aspiration 31,348
Face Foreign Body 7,879
Mouth Foreign Body 3,774
Face Laceration 1,415
Head Internal Injury 1,336
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 1,256
Lower Trunk Other 1,023
Upper Trunk Foreign Body 755
Face Contusions, Abr. 753
All Parts Body Other 704
Lower Trunk Fracture 684
Not Stated/unk Other 671
Finger Laceration 645
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 615

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 81.6% (555,631)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 10.1% (68,706)
Treated And Transferred 6.3% (42,779)
Left Without Being Seen 1.3% (8,920)
Held For Observation 0.7% (4,697)
Fatality Incl. Doa, Died In Er 0.0% (22)
Unknown, Not Stated 0.0% (6)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 11 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

11YOM C/O INADVERTENTLY SWALLOWING A QUARTER YESTERTDAY. SCANS SHOW OBJECT IN STOMACH. DX: SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY

Age 3 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

3YOM SWOLLOWED A COIN DX: FOREIGN BODY ESOPHAGUS

Age 5 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

5YOM SWALLOWED A COIN DX FOREIGN BODY INGESTION

Age 4 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

4 YOM SWALLOWED A COIN AT HOME. DX FB INGESTED

Age 11 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

11 YOM SWALLOWED A COIN. DX FB INGESTED

Age 10 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

10YOM SWALLOWED A QUARTER DX: FOREIGN BODY INGESTION *

Age 3 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

3YOF SWALLOWED A COIN. DX INGESTED FB

Age 10 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

10YOF SWALLOWED A QUARTER. DX INGESTED FB

Age 4 · Male · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

4YOM- PT SWALLOWED A COIN MOM THINKS IT WAS A DIME PT WAS LAYING NEXT TO MOM & VOMITED X 1 NO CHOKING OR TROUBLE BREATHING. DX: SWALLOWED FB.

Age 6 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

6 YOF PRESENTS WITH SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY S/P SWALLOWED A PENNY. DX: SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY

Age 4 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

4 YOF PRESENTS WITH SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY S/P SWALLOWED A COIN. DX: SWALLOWED FOREIGN BODY

Age 5 · Female · Internal · Ingestion · 2024

5YOF PRESENTS AFTER SWALLOWING TWO PENNIES DX FOREIGN BODY INGESTION

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to coins on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Personal Care & Safety Products

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Coins: cross-group products nearest on danger score (46/100), estimated annual ER visits (34,037/yr), and hospitalization share (16.4%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Coins ranks #38 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #75 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does coins rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, coins ranks #38 by PlainSafety danger score (46/100) and #75 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (34,037/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from coins?

The most common injury is ingestion to the internal, accounting for approximately 614,737 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from coins increasing or decreasing?

Stable over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for coins injuries?

The 0-4 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 458,681 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by coins?

Of all ER visits involving coins, approximately 16.4% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (83.6%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with coins?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Coins is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.