CPSC NEISS · code 1889

Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks,

Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks,: danger rank #84 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #187 of 838 (11,624 estimated ER visits a year; roughly flat over the last five years).

Building Materials & Home Structures CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks, ranks #84 of 838 by danger score (43/100) at ER-volume #187 of 838 (11,624/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#84
danger rank of 838
#187
ER-volume rank of 838
43/100
danger score
11,624/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (43/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

43 Higher than most more dangerous than 88% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 71/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

D
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 14 85th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 11,624 76th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -7% 55th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 13 52nd 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 232,493 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1889. Segments sum to 232,493 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Building Materials & Home Structures group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Building Materials & Home Structures danger scores

1. General Home Or Room Invo…71/1002. Floors Or Flooring Materi…59/1003. Stairs Or Steps51/1004. Porches, Balconies, Open-…47/1005. Ceilings And Walls (inter…46/1006. Scaffolding46/1007. Doors, Other Or Not Speci…45/1008. Elevators Or Other Lifts …43/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10043/100
PlainSafety danger score · Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks,

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 43/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 11,624 ER visits/yr High volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 12.6% High admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.11% Above-typical fatality rate
  • 5-year trend-7%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2024 (16,683 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2007 (7,934 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 26,689 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by contusions, abr. to the hand (12,410 cases). The 75+ age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 61,328 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 12.6% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer, and a small fraction (0.11%) result in fatality.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 13 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

6K8K10K12K14K16K18K 20052008201120142017202020232024 17K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks,, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 7,605 8,005 15,610
5-14 4,106 4,035 8,141
15-24 8,159 8,701 16,860
25-34 10,131 9,944 20,075
35-44 8,827 10,810 19,665
45-54 10,579 19,674 30,253
55-64 11,085 19,597 30,682
65-74 9,226 20,556 29,782
75+ 18,087 43,241 61,328

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Head Internal Injury 26,689
Hand Contusions, Abr. 12,410
Lower Trunk Fracture 7,209
Lower Trunk Other 7,180
Face Laceration 6,880
Knee Contusions, Abr. 6,061
Upper Trunk Other 5,263
Face Contusions, Abr. 5,120
Finger Contusions, Abr. 5,085
Knee Other 5,046
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 5,033
Head Contusions, Abr. 4,996
Lower Trunk Contusions, Abr. 4,940
Not Stated/unk Other 4,459
Ankle Strain, Sprain 4,291

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 83.6% (194,308)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 12.1% (28,244)
Left Without Being Seen 2.4% (5,495)
Held For Observation 1.0% (2,273)
Treated And Transferred 0.8% (1,952)
Fatality Incl. Doa, Died In Er 0.1% (221)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 71 · Female · Lower Leg · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

71YOF BROUGHT DOWN BY HOUSE SUPERVISOR DUE TO THE FOLLOWING: THE PATIENT IS A VISITOR IN THE FACILITY WHO WAS IN AN ELEVATOR WHEN THE METAL BAR FELL ONTO THE BACK OF HER LEG AND HEEL. DX:CONTUSION OF RIGHT LOWER LEG.

Age 90 · Female · Lower Trunk · Fracture · 2024

90YOF WAS USING HER ROLLING WALKER WHEN SHE LEANED TO PRESS THE ELEVATOR BUTTON AND LOST HER BALANCE CAUSING HER TO FALL ONTO LEFT SIDE DX: FRACTURED LEFT HIP

Age 46 · Male · Knee · Other · 2024

46YOM TRIPPED OVER HIS CRUTCHES WHILE GETTING INTO ELEVATOR, FELL ONTO KNEES AND HIT HEAD ON FLOOR OF ELEVATOR, , DX FALL, KNEE INJURY, HEAD INJURY

Age 24 · Male · Wrist · Fracture · 2024

24 YOM WAS MANIC AND SWINGING AT RESPONDERS. HE WAS DETAINED, AND ON THE WAY OUT OF HIS RESIDENCE, HE WAS GRABBING AT THE ELEVATOR DOORS, AND CUT HIS LEFT HAND. DX: FRACTURE SCAPHOID LEFT WRIST.

Age 97 · Male · Not Stated/unk · Other · 2024

97YOM WAS RIDING IN AN ELEVATOR WITH HIS WIFE WHEN HE HAD A SYNCOPAL FALL TO THE FLOOR STRIKING HIS SHOULDER AGAINST THE ELEVATOR DOOR NO INJURY FROM THE FALL ADMITTED FOR SYNCOPE DX: FALL NO INJURY; SYNCOPE

Age 69 · Female · Upper Trunk · Fracture · 2024

69YOF PRESENTS POST FALL FROM STANDING. PATIENT FOUND DOWN IN THE ELEVATOR AT HER SENIOR LIVING FACILITY. DX: TRAUMA, FALL, CLOSED FRACTURE OF MULTIPLE RIBS OF LEFT SIDE, CLOSED FRACTURE OF CERVICAL SPINE, INJURY OF CERVIAL SPINAL CORD

Age 96 · Female · Face · Hematoma · 2024

96 YOF FROM A NURSING FACILITY WITH AN UNWITNESSED FALL IN THE ELEVATOR. +RIGHT FOREHEAD HEMATOMA DX UTI, FALL

Age 65 · Female · Shoulder · Other · 2024

65YOF WITH FALL WHILE GETTING OUT OF ELEVATOR AND FOOT GOT STUCK . PT HAS SHOULDER AND STERNUM PAIN. DX: FALL

Age 88 · Female · Face · Hematoma · 2024

88 YOF FROM A NURSING FACILTY WITH AN UNWITNESSED FALL IN THE ELEVATOR. +LEFT FOREHEAD HEMATOMA DX FALL

Age 35 · Female · Hand · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

35YOF WITH HAND INJURY S/P PUNCHING AN ELEVATOR . DX: CONTUSION OF RIGHT HAND

Age 71 · Male · Head · Internal Injury · 2024

71YOM C/O HEAD INJURY AND HEMATOMA TO RIGHT EYEBROW WITH ABRASION TO SAME AREA S/P PT WAS TRANSFERRING USING HIS CHAIR LIFT WHEN HE FELL AND HIT HIS HEAD. PT IS ON PRESCRIBED ***. DX: HEAD INJURY WITH HEMATOMA AND ABRASION TO FACE

Age 13 · Female · Ankle · Strain, Sprain · 2024

13YOF WITH ANKLE PAIN AFTER GETTING OUT OF ELEVATOR AND TOOK A BIG STEP AND FELL . PT TWISTED ANKLE DX: SPRAIN

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

9/5/2014 · Injury, Hospital Admission · Cambridge Elevating Inc · South Carolina

Ten year old child suffered a catastrophic brain injury when he became trapped in an Elmira residential elevator manufactured by Cambridge Elevating, Inc. out of Cambridge, Ontario (Canada). The incident occurred because the elevator was designed to run with the elevator car gate open, which is prohibited, and because there was no light curtain to prevent the car from moving when an obstruction exists between the elevator car and the hoistway doors/walls.

8/28/2015 · Injury, Hospital Admission · OTIS ELEVATOR · California

A 5 year-old girl suffered crush injuries while using a residential home elevator in a vacation property in Hermosa, California when she became trapped between the accordion door on the elevator car and the hoistway door. She was trapped for an extended period of time and had to be extricated from the elevator by rescue personnel. The girl was diagnosed with fractures of her acetabulum, crush injury, foot drop and apraxia.

7/3/2023 · Incident, No Injury · Waupaca Elevator Company, Inc. · Delaware

To whom it may concern: I am writing this letter in regards to a recent finding about my Waupaca elevator, (serial number qualifies), of 17 plus years. By sheer accident I learned that this elevator has had a recall. I was shocked to hear of this, particularly, because I never received such a notice of a recall. I am 77 years of age and have become VERY dependent on an elevator in a three story home. The risk of a free fall, as I was told was one of the problems, makes use of the elevator a risk, and not one that I want myself or family to take. After going back and forth with a couple of elevator maintenance companies, one of which I have had servicing my elevator for many years, I was given your address as a possible source of help in addressing what follows. I have been told that the elevator recall makes having any needed repairs not legally possible until it is either upgraded or to have a new elevator installed. The upgrade, as of date, would cost $17,000 and a brand new elevator, as of date, would cost $30,000. Apparently, the Waupaca manufacturer assets were sold through a receivership proceeding to Wisconsin Elevator Company, LLC d/b/a Fox Valley Elevator. At this time, there is no remedy available for consumers with Waupaca elevators. My question is, why should I be expected to pay for the recall of my elevator particularly considering the high cost of repair or replacement and ,most important, it's not my fault or responsibility. I find this situation unacceptable. I have several neighbors that have the same elevator, and they are hoping I can find some information or course of action that can be taken. And therein is the reason for this letter. Can you please help me with this situation?? I would greatly appreciate hearing back from you. My home is in [REDACTED], Delaware for your information. I will be happy to provide more information if needed, and to work with you to find a remedy to this problem. Thank you in advance for any and all help

7/18/2012 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · PRIDE MOBILITY · California

Pride Mobility Lift Chair company makes lift chairs for the disabled and handicapped. Their power outage backup is so weak it only goes half way and leaves the individual stuck in the sitting position. It's made that way. Several very reasonable battery backups are available for $50. Pride's is made for 2 small 9 volt batteries and do not come with the chair. Many others are 550 volts and up and can be used for wireless phones and computers with 8 backup plugs. Besides they are rechargeable too. Prides are not and must be replaced frequently. The attitude of this company is to pass off any complaint without considering any action whatsoever. Pride chairs have been made this way for many years and they are stuck in the mud and refuse suggestions to help. They do not take any suggestions or complaints seriously and are putting their customers at risk. I recommend someone seriously look into this matter an see if you do not agree that the elderly, handicapped, disabled are not worth a better safety power backup system. CONSUMER UPDATE: Pride Lift Chairs leave the handicapped person with unreasonable risk for injury or worse during times of power outages. Their battery backup system is inadequate and underpowered. My efforts to get Pride to seriously consider correcting this hazard goes without suggest. Pride lift chairs come with only a non rechargeable 2-9 volt battery backup system that does not lift the handicapped. It is made to only half work. That is to sit only not lift so a person can get out of the chair during power outages. It only moves from a reclining position to sitting. If the power goes out while sitting the system does not move. There are several reasonable rechargeable battery systems costing $55 to $75 with 550 to 750 volts each that will lift the handicapped person from recline to sitting and standing. Prides system leaves one stranded while the others lift just like the chair is designed to do using public electric power. This company is so

6/21/2018 · Injury, Level of care not known · Waupaca Elevator Company, Inc. · North Carolina

Waupaca Elevator Co. Issued a safety notice stating • Potential failure of portion of the lifting mechanism resulting in a possible unexpected drop of your elevator". Waupaca further states: "there are no means to visually inspect the gear system• It is not a product defect it’s due to normal wear" but it has no way to substantiate that claim since there is no definition of what is normal wear. Waupaca is awaiting an approval from CPSC on a safety device that would prevent the elevator from dropping. In our senior community there are fifty two affected Waupaca home elevators. Seniors purchased the elevators for convenience and personal safety which is now being called in question by the very company at produced the elevators. Seniors are now apprehensive and scared to use their elevators. Incidents have occurred where consumers have been injured, however Waupaca is not willing to state as to when, how many, and severity of the injuries. Waupca has agreed to inspect and install a new safety device which will prevent an unexpected elevator drop soon as CPSC approves the device. However, Waupaca does not address the issue of faulty engineering. Subliminally Waupaca suggest that the owners of the elevators pay for the dangerous and faulty power/gearbox; cost approx $10,000.00. PLEASE SEE ATTACHED LETTER AND DOCUMENTATION.

5/31/2017 · Incident, No Injury · Porta, Inc · North Carolina

Pertinent to recall 16-238 - Porta Elevators EMDL (Electro-magnetic Door Lock) failure. We have had a hoistway door open when the elevator car is not at the floor (twice). This results in a fall hazard in an open hoistway. We have circa 2005 Generation #1 Plastic Door Locks. The problem appears to be a Porta EMDL not properly engaging to hold the door shut. In reviewing the recall it is difficult to tell whether our issue is pertinent to the plastic part of the latch or the overall mechanical function of the door lock. Either way we have had a door come open twice when the car was not on the floor. The behavior feels as though the latch was only partially engaged and when pulled it held for a moment and then released. IMPORTANT NOTE: We have an American Crescent Elevator that incorporates the Porta products including the EMDL's. To my knowledge Porta does not manufacture elevators but products that are used in residential elevators. It would seem like the actual elevators that incorporate the recalled product should be listed?

5/16/2016 · No Incident, No Injury · ACORN STAIRLIFTS · Michigan

5/6/2016: Another competitor was at the consumer's home and their rep. informed her of the recall (CAP# 15-189). The consumer was never notified about the recall. Same day, the consumer called the mfr's Recall # (800) 361-2836. and has called them every business day since that time. No one has returned the consumer's call even though the people she spoke to said that they would. 5/7/2016: The consumer called the retailer: 810-985-4457 and she spoke to a rep., who informed her that they no longer sold this mfr's brand of stair lifts. The consumer does not want risk being injured by this lift.

4/8/2013 · Incident, No Injury · Waupaca Elevator Company, Inc. · California

The consumer stated that someone was inside the residential elevator and it suddenly stopped and dropped between the 2nd and 1st floor. The consumer stated that the doors locked when the elevator stopped, but fortunately they were able to force the door open. The consumer stated that no one was injured. The consumer stated that there was damaged to the elevator shaft and they had to straighten the track. The consumer stated that the elevator was no longer usable. The consumer stated that she contacted the manufacturer and they informed her that the roller for her elevator broke because the washer on top of the roller split. The consumer stated that she asked the representative if a recall would be issue and the representative said no. The consumer stated that the company provided the parts for she had to pay for labor. The consumer asked the manufacture Waupaca to pay the labor costs. The consumer stated that she believes that this product should be investigated since it poses a safety hazard to consumers. The manufacture representative stated the rollers were made in China and not made properly.

Showing 8 of 13 reports.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Building Materials & Home Structures

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks,: cross-group products nearest on danger score (43/100), estimated annual ER visits (11,624/yr), and hospitalization share (12.6%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks, ranks #84 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #187 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, ranks #84 by PlainSafety danger score (43/100) and #187 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (11,624/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks,?

The most common injury is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 26,689 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, increasing or decreasing?

Stable over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks, injuries?

The 75+ age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 61,328 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks,?

Of all ER visits involving elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks,, approximately 12.6% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (87.4%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with elevators or other lifts (excl. escalators, hoists, jacks,?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Elevators Or Other Lifts (excl. Escalators, Hoists, Jacks, is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.