CPSC NEISS · code 887

Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes)

Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes): danger rank #313 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #382 of 838 (2,519 estimated ER visits a year; roughly flat over the last five years).

Home Communication & Entertainment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes) ranks #313 of 838 by danger score (37/100) at ER-volume #382 of 838 (2,519/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#313
danger rank of 838
#382
ER-volume rank of 838
37/100
danger score
2,519/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (37/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

37 Around the middle lower than 37% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 51/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 9 73rd 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 2,519 51st 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend +2% 69th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 0 0th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 50,364 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 887. Segments sum to 50,364 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores

1. Tools, Not Specified44/1002. Batteries43/1003. Bench Or Table Saws43/1004. Torches, Not Specified42/1005. Battery Chargers/adapters41/1006. Power Saws, Other Or Not …40/1007. Rope Or String40/1008. Painting Equip., Powered …37/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10037/100
PlainSafety danger score · Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes)

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 37/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 2,519 ER visits/yr Above median volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 8.9% Above median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.04% Above-typical fatality rate
  • 5-year trend+2%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2013 (4,121 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2005 (1,330 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is strain, sprain to the lower trunk, accounting for approximately 3,350 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by other to the upper trunk (3,100 cases). The 45-54 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 11,114 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 8.9% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer, and a small fraction (0.04%) result in fatality.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 0 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

1K2K3K4K5K 20052008201120142017202020232024 3K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes), CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 367 316 683
5-14 471 403 874
15-24 2,387 1,582 3,969
25-34 4,898 3,311 8,209
35-44 6,143 4,515 10,658
45-54 7,154 3,960 11,114
55-64 3,892 2,854 6,746
65-74 3,014 2,586 5,600
75+ 1,634 879 2,513

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 3,350
Upper Trunk Other 3,100
Lower Trunk Other 2,994
All Parts Body Poisoning 2,595
Finger Other 1,835
Shoulder Strain, Sprain 1,831
Shoulder Other 1,719
Neck Strain, Sprain 1,450
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 1,314
Finger Laceration 1,284
All Parts Body Other 1,108
Hand Other 1,065
Upper Trunk Strain, Sprain 976
Knee Other 939
Neck Other 929

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 88.6% (44,606)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 7.2% (3,646)
Left Without Being Seen 2.5% (1,269)
Treated And Transferred 1.3% (644)
Held For Observation 0.4% (184)
Fatality Incl. Doa, Died In Er 0.0% (15)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 35 · Male · Finger · Other · 2024

35YOM TRIED TO HELP NEIGHBOR LIFT PAINTING MACHINE, IT SHOT PAINT IN HIS FINGER. THERE IS SWELLING OF THE AREA BUT DOES NOT EXTEND BEYOND THE THUMB. DX: FINGER INJURY - MINOR

Age 8 · Female · Face · Laceration · 2024

8YOF STS TRIPPED & HIT HEAD ON PAINT CAN WHILE CARRYING HER DINNER TO THE COUCH DX EYEBROW LACERATION FALL

Age 46 · Female · Upper Leg · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

46 YOF PAINTING AND FELL FROM LADDER HITTING NIGHTSTAND DX CONTUSION THIGH

Age 40 · Female · Upper Trunk · Other · 2024

40YOF PRESENTS WITH ONE WEEK HISTORY OF PROGRESSIVE PAIN TO RIGHT CHEST. STATES IT STARTED ONE WEEK AGO HELPING HER BROTHER WITH PAINTING. DX: RIGHT-SIDED CHEST PAIN, FLANK PAIN, ESSENTIAL HYPETENSION

Age 84 · Male · Knee · Other · 2024

84YOM PRESENTS WITH RIGHT KNEE PAIN AND SWELLING. PATIENT STATES ABOUT A WEEK AGO HE SPENT 4-5 HOURS IN A KNEELING POSITION WHILE HE WAS PAINTING A DECK. SINCE THEN HAS HAD PERSISTENT PAIN ON THE RIGHT LOWER EXTREMITY & SWELLING TO THE PATELLA. DX: BURSITIS KNEE RIGHT

Age 36 · Female · Face · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

36YOF, C/O NOSE INJURY, PAINTING GARAGE CELIING, POLE SPLIT, CAME DOWN HIT HER NOSE DX: NASAL CONTUSION

Age 79 · Male · Shoulder · Strain, Sprain · 2024

79YOM, LIFTED PAINT CAN & FELL, C/O PAIN LEFT SHOULDER DX: LEFT RHOMBOID MUSCLE STRAIN

Age 66 · Female · Lower Trunk · Other · 2024

66YOF WAS LIFTING A CAN OF PAINT AT DEPARTMENT STORE WHEN SHE LOST HER FOOTING AND FELL DX:LOW BACK PAIN, STRAINED LEFT KNEE

Age 21 · Male · Finger · Other · 2024

21YOM WAS USING A HIGH PRESSURED PAINT GUN WHEN HE STRUCK HIS LEFT THIRD FINGER SITE IS NOW RED AND PAINFUL DX: HIGH PRESSURE INJECTION INJURY TO FINGER

Age 58 · Female · Elbow · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

58YOF TO ER FOR LEFT ELBOW INJURY, PT HAS CONTUSION OF ELBOW FROM IMPACTING ON CEMENT DOG OUT HER HOUSE, PT WAS PAINTING AT THE TIME DX RIGHT ELBOW PAIN, CONTUSION OF RIGHT ELBOW

Age 34 · Male · Finger · Avulsion · 2024

34YOM PRESENTS WITH LEFT 5TH FINGER PAIN AFTER CLEANING A PAINT SPRAYING MACHINE THAT ACCIDENTALLY SWITCHED ON STRIKING HIS FINGER DX: MALLET FINGER, AVULSION FINGER TIP

Age 47 · Female · All Parts Body · Other · 2024

47YOF TO ER FOR DIZZINESS THAT OCCURED WHILE PAINTING A FRIENDS HOUSE, PT HAS MILD NAUSEA & MILD HEADACHE, ADMITS TO TOBACCO USE DX DIZZINESS

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes): cross-group products nearest on danger score (37/100), estimated annual ER visits (2,519/yr), and hospitalization share (8.9%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes) ranks #313 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #382 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) ranks #313 by PlainSafety danger score (37/100) and #382 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (2,519/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes)?

The most common injury is strain, sprain to the lower trunk, accounting for approximately 3,350 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) increasing or decreasing?

Stable over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes) injuries?

The 45-54 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 11,114 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes)?

Of all ER visits involving painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes), approximately 8.9% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (91.1%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with painting equip., powered (sprayers, rollers, brushes)?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Painting Equip., Powered (sprayers, Rollers, Brushes) is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.