CPSC NEISS · code 809

Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools

Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools: danger rank #482 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #353 of 838 (3,030 estimated ER visits a year; declining by about 14% over the last five years).

Home Communication & Entertainment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools ranks #482 of 838 by danger score (34/100) at ER-volume #353 of 838 (3,030/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#482
danger rank of 838
#353
ER-volume rank of 838
34/100
danger score
3,030/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (34/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

34 Lower than most lower than 57% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 52/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 5 41st 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 3,030 53rd 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -14% 44th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 62 76th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 60,565 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 809. Segments sum to 60,565 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores

1. Tools, Not Specified44/1002. Batteries43/1003. Bench Or Table Saws43/1004. Torches, Not Specified42/1005. Battery Chargers/adapters41/1006. Power Saws, Other Or Not …40/1007. Rope Or String40/1008. Other Portable Or Station…34/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10034/100
PlainSafety danger score · Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 34/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for other portable or stationary power tools - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 3,030 ER visits/yr Above median volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 4.5% Below median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.03% Above-typical fatality rate
  • 5-year trend-14%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for other portable or stationary power tools are declining by about 14% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2007 (4,037 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2014 (1,766 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 10,829 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by foreign body to the eyeball (4,032 cases). The 35-44 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 12,778 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 4.5% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer, and a small fraction (0.03%) result in fatality.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 62 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how other portable or stationary power tools fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

2K2K3K3K4K4K5K 20052008201120142017202020232024 3K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 353 99 452
5-14 834 153 987
15-24 7,607 614 8,221
25-34 9,097 976 10,073
35-44 11,326 1,401 12,778
45-54 11,321 629 11,950
55-64 7,624 482 8,106
65-74 4,552 433 4,985
75+ 2,872 171 3,043

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Finger Laceration 10,829
Eyeball Foreign Body 4,032
Finger Fracture 3,468
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 3,120
Hand Laceration 2,932
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 1,803
Face Laceration 1,439
Upper Trunk Other 1,210
Finger Amputation 1,107
Finger Avulsion 1,090
Lower Trunk Other 1,089
Finger Puncture 1,035
Head Laceration 924
Toe Fracture 912
Lower Arm Laceration 865

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 93.2% (56,439)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 2.5% (1,488)
Treated And Transferred 2.1% (1,292)
Left Without Being Seen 2.1% (1,243)
Held For Observation 0.1% (87)
Fatality Incl. Doa, Died In Er 0.0% (16)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 20 · Male · Toe · Fracture · 2024

20YOM DROPPED A POWER TOOL ON HIS GREAT TOE LAST NIGHT. HAS HAD PAIN SINCE. DX: FRACTURE OF LEFT GREAT TOE

Age 37 · Male · Eyeball · Foreign Body · 2024

37 YOM PRESENTS WTIH EYE PAIN. REPORTS WAS USING A *** ON METAL AT HOME AND THINKS HE MAY HAVE A PIECE OF METAL IN LATERAL R EYE. DX: FB IN CONJUNCTIVAL SAC, R EYE.

Age 75 · Male · Hand · Fracture · 2024

75 YOM WAS WORKING WITH AN EMERY WHEEL SHAVING A PIECE OF METAL WHEN IT KICKED BACK AND INJURED HIS HAND. DX: HAND LACERATION, HAND FRACTURE

Age 70 · Female · Lower Arm · Fracture · 2024

70 YOF C/O INJ TO LOWER ARM WHEN SHE FELL ON ICE WHILE SHOVELING WITH HER ELECTRIC SHOVEL AT HOME DX RADIUS FX

Age 15 · Male · Finger · Fracture · 2024

15YOM PATIENT WAS USING A PNEUMATIC POST DRIVER DRIVING IN A WOODEN POST WHEN IT LANDED ON HIS LEFT HAND CRUSHING HIS RING AND MIDDLE FINGERS DX: MULTIPLE OPEN FRACTURE OF DISTAL PHALANX OF FINGER

Age 65 · Male · Finger · Crushing · 2024

65YOM WAS USING AN AIR IMPACT GUN AND ACCIDENTALLY COMPRESSED HIS FINGER BETWEEN METAL AND IMPACT GUN CAUSING SMALL LACERATIONS AND PAIN. DX: LEFT INDEX FINGER CRUSH INJURY AND LACERATION

Age 38 · Male · Lower Arm · Foreign Body · 2024

38YOM WAS SANDBLASTING, USING A METALIC SAND, AND ACCIDENTALLY SPRAYED ARM. PT WITH PIECES OF METALIC SAND IN ARM. DX: FB ARM

Age 47 · Male · Hand · Laceration · 2024

47YOM CUTTING A GLASS BOTTLE WITH A ***L AND THE BOTTLE BROKE AND CUT HAND. DX: HAND LACERATION

Age 60 · Male · Finger · Fracture · 2024

60YOM REPORTS WITH FINGER PAIN AFTER WORKING WITH POWER TOOLS. DX PUNCTURE WOUND, FINGER FRACTURE, LACERATION

Age 59 · Male · Eyeball · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

59YOM WAS USING POWER TOOLS TO CUT UP PALLETS AND GOT SOMETHIN G IN EYE. DX CORNEAL RUST RING L EYE

Age 39 · Male · Eyeball · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

39YOM WAS SANDBLASTING - HAD GOGGLES ON - BUT SAND GOT IN EYES. DX: CORNEAL ABRASION

Age 59 · Male · Upper Arm · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

59YOM C/O ARM BRUISING S/P PT STATES HE WAS USING A JACKHAMMER YESTERDAY WHEN HE FELT A SUDDEN POPPING SENSATION IN THE LEFT SHOULDER FOLLOWED BY SMALL AREA OF BURISING WHICH SPREAD TO HIS BICEP AND ELBOW. DX: BRUSING OF LEFT ARM

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

9/5/2023 · No Incident, No Injury · Glowforge Inc. · California

I own a refurbished Glowforge Plus laser printer, and this is the second time I've encountered this issue with it (the first time it happened I paid about 1200 dollars to have another machine sent to me, which had a different issue that needed replacing, and they sent me this machine). The laser was working fine and I was operating it as normal to engrave some wood (and it has been operating well since I got this replacement in April), then it suddenly stopped engraving but continued moving as if it was (it was still on and didn't stop or power down because of this issue). Before I turned it off and unplugged it, I took a video of a small spark occurring inside the machine from one of the power source's wires that runs underneath the laser tube. No injuries occurred either this time or the first time this happened, since after I took a video I immediately turned off and unplugged the machine.

9/4/2025 · Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received · ZHEJIANG QIDI TECHNOLOGY CO.,LTD · New Hampshire

On September 1, 2025, my QIDI Q1 Pro 3D printer (purchased via Amazon, order #[REDACTED], less than 9 months old with light use) experienced a catastrophic overheating failure during a routine print. The printer displayed an error: Heater extruder not heating at expected rate, indicating potential thermal runaway. The silicone boot on the hotend solidified and crumbled to dust, the plastic shroud and sensor mount turned brown from extreme heat, and the printers base burned my hand 20 minutes after being unplugged, posing a severe fire hazard. I was home, preventing a potential fire, but the incident caused a burn injury to my hand. Photos of the damage are available at: initial photos and follow-up. QIDI Tech support has denied any fire risk, offering only a hotend and adapter board replacement, which does not address potential damage to the power supply or wiring. This aligns with reported Q1 Pro overheating and chamber heater issues in user communities (e.g., [REDACTED], [REDACTED], 2024-2025). The printer remains unsafe to operate, and Im pursuing an Amazon A-to-z Guarantee claim due to the sellers inadequate response.

9/27/2024 · Incident, No Injury · Walmart Stores Inc. · Connecticut

Purchased the product and after plugging the cord into the receptacle it started making a loud humming noise and then caught fire with flames coming out of the top causing the product to start melting on my hands

9/17/2023 · Incident, No Injury · Glowforge Inc. · Georgia

High voltage power line to laser developed a short circuit causing sparking in machine, and ultimately destroying the power supply Additional information: The power supply is 22KV - the high voltage line shorts out onto the frame after 2 years, grounding to the metal frame, if there is an improper ground the metal parts are energized At 22,000 KV which will kill a person. Is that Not dangerous??? I received a new machine from Glowforge, and they used a defective power supply and added a nylon sleeve (Not fiberglass) to it, the power supply of course shorted out, and luckily the nylon did not catch on fire.

9/15/2023 · Incident, No Injury · Glowforge Inc. · Illinois

Glowforge Pro rubbed through high voltage power wire to laser causing it to spark & short.

9/14/2025 · Incident, No Injury · SHENZHEN ELEGOO TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD. · Massachusetts

Elegoo Centauri Carbon 3D printers use a USB C cable which provides 24v power at up to 4.3A to the printhead PCB. Data lines are shielded twisted pair 24 AWG while power and gnd are untwisted 20 AWG. The strain relief on my printer's PCB failed exposing the wiring underneath and causing a short and toolhead board failure. Another user provided a video of a similar failure accompanied by visible and audible electrical arcing in the failed region of the cable, posing an immediate electrical fire hazard. The design of the printer's strain relief and cable chain puts it under stress during homing and printing operations that may contribute to failure. Community members have identified at least a dozen printers with some combination of strain relief deformation or separation from cable sheathing, bulging of cable sheathing, or visible helical twisting of insulated wires underneath the sheathing in the strained regions. Elegoo support provided a replacement cable to me but the recent report of visible electrical arcing, precedent of house fires and recalls caused by strain relief failures in other 3D printers, and number of Centauri Carbon units with strain relief damage that went unnoticed until the problem was mentioned to them is concerning. My printer was preorder around 2/15/25, has an mfg. date of 4/1/25, and arrived around 5/15/25. I have included photos of my printer as well as the other 10 units for which photos showing potential cable damage are available. Of the four units where total print time is know it ranged from 100-600 hours.

9/14/2021 · Incident, No Injury · Harbor Freight Tools · Texas

(09/14/2021) The consumer stated that he had just purchased the product. The product had warmed up for about five minutes. When the consumer picked it up to use it, the plastic around the heating element burst into flames. The consumer took the product back to the place of purchase.

9/11/2023 · Incident, No Injury · Glowforge Inc. · Pennsylvania

Glowforge sent me a refurbished machine in late 2021 that has mechanical issues that were previously fixed I had to purchase the refurbished after my original has a defect. On sept 9 I noticed extreme sparking in the machine, come to find out there is a very high voltage wire inside on that laser that side under the laser tube rubbing against the metal frame, causing a hole and short circut destroying the power supply. With this amount of high voltage, it could of killed someone in my home or started a fire. This company is scamming people by charging $1700 for a refurbished machine with the same design default which will happen again after one year. This is a manufacturer defect and this laser should be recalled immediately and the consumer should be compensated for it, this is deadly

Showing 8 of 62 reports.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to other portable or stationary power tools on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools: cross-group products nearest on danger score (34/100), estimated annual ER visits (3,030/yr), and hospitalization share (4.5%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools ranks #482 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #353 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does other portable or stationary power tools rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, other portable or stationary power tools ranks #482 by PlainSafety danger score (34/100) and #353 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (3,030/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from other portable or stationary power tools?

The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 10,829 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from other portable or stationary power tools increasing or decreasing?

Down 14% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for other portable or stationary power tools injuries?

The 35-44 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 12,778 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by other portable or stationary power tools?

Of all ER visits involving other portable or stationary power tools, approximately 4.5% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (95.5%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with other portable or stationary power tools?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Other Portable Or Stationary Power Tools is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.