CPSC NEISS · code 847

Drills, Not Specified

Drills, Not Specified: danger rank #313 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #198 of 838 (10,930 estimated ER visits a year; roughly flat over the last five years).

Home Communication & Entertainment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Drills, Not Specified ranks #313 of 838 by danger score (37/100) at ER-volume #198 of 838 (10,930/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#313
danger rank of 838
#198
ER-volume rank of 838
37/100
danger score
10,930/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (37/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

37 Around the middle lower than 37% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 44/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

C
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 2 11th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 10,930 75th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend +8% 76th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 4 31st 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 218,581 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 847. Segments sum to 218,581 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores

1. Tools, Not Specified44/1002. Batteries43/1003. Bench Or Table Saws43/1004. Torches, Not Specified42/1005. Battery Chargers/adapters41/1006. Power Saws, Other Or Not …40/1007. Rope Or String40/1008. Drills, Not Specified37/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10037/100
PlainSafety danger score · Drills, Not Specified

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 37/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for drills, not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 10,930 ER visits/yr High volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 1.7% Low admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend+8%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for drills, not specified are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2024 (14,171 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2018 (7,866 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 40,932 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by puncture to the finger (22,404 cases). The 35-44 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 47,712 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 1.7% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 4 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how drills, not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

6K8K10K12K14K16K 20052008201120142017202020232024 14K
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Drills, Not Specified, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 2,175 873 3,048
5-14 3,869 1,087 4,956
15-24 24,411 2,407 26,818
25-34 40,295 4,862 45,157
35-44 42,521 5,191 47,712
45-54 35,650 4,679 40,329
55-64 22,752 2,501 25,253
65-74 15,721 1,049 16,770
75+ 7,959 596 8,555

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Finger Laceration 40,932
Finger Puncture 22,404
Hand Laceration 17,839
Hand Puncture 17,229
Eyeball Foreign Body 16,719
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 8,470
Finger Fracture 7,152
Face Laceration 5,344
Hand Fracture 3,887
Finger Other 3,801
Head Laceration 3,010
Finger Contusions, Abr. 3,003
Wrist Strain, Sprain 2,720
Head Internal Injury 2,672
Foot Puncture 2,526

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 96.4% (210,756)
Left Without Being Seen 1.6% (3,400)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 1.1% (2,502)
Treated And Transferred 0.5% (1,099)
Held For Observation 0.4% (824)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 59 · Male · Hand · Puncture · 2024

59 YOM INJ LT HAND ACCIDENTALLY HIT LT HAND WITH DRILL BIT AT HOME DX PUNCTURE WOUND W/CELLULITIS LT HAND

Age 35 · Male · Finger · Fracture · 2024

35YOM PRESENTS TO THE ER WITH A LACERATION. HE STATES HE WAS USING A DRILL BIT THAT BROKE OFF AND ENDED UP PUNCTURING IS LEFT THUMB X-RAY SHOW A FRACTURE. DX: FRACTURE OTHER FINGER PHALANX DISTAL DISPLACED OPEN

Age 40 · Male · Hand · Fracture · 2024

40YOM PRESENTS FROM HOME FOR EVAL OF L HAND INJ. HE WAS USING A DRILL, WEARING A GLOVE WHEN THE GLOVE GOT CAUGHT IN THE CHUCK OF THE DRILL & WAS TWISTED AROUND HIS FINGERS,TWISTING MAINLY HIS RING & PINKY FINGERS. THERE WAS PAIN & LAC OF THE FINGERS. ALSO DEFORMITY OF THE RING FINGER.HAS PARESTHESIAS IN HIS DISTAL FINGERTIPS. DX: LEFT HAND FRACTURE;FINGER LACERATIONS

Age 20 · Male · Hand · Laceration · 2024

20 YOM CUT HAND WITH A DRILL DX: LAC

Age 29 · Female · Finger · Fracture · 2024

29YOF C/O FINGER PROBLEM. GOT FINGER CAUGHT IN CHICKEN FEED AUGER. SWELLING NOTED TO DISTAL INDEX FINGER. DX: DISPLACED FRACTURE OF DISTAL PHALANX OF LEFT INDEX FINGER

Age 49 · Male · Head · Internal Injury · 2024

49 YOM COMES BY EMS, REPORTS BEING STRUCK BY DRILL HANDLE THAT WAS TURNING INSIDE WALL, C/O LEFT SIDED HEAD/NECK PAIN. DX: CHI

Age 88 · Male · Lower Trunk · Fracture · 2024

88YOM PRESENTS TO THE ED POST FALL VIA EMS. PATIENT REPORTS HE WAS STANDING, DRILLING A HOLE IN SOMETHING METAL WHEN HE FELT LIKE SOMEONE PUSHED HIM DOWN AND FELL ON HIS RIGHT SIDE. EMS STATES PATIENT FELL POSSIBLY ON A PILE OF MAGAZINES ON THE FLOOR. UNKNOWN LOC. COMPLAINS OF RIGHT HIP PAIN. DX: FALL, CLOSED DISPLACED INTERTROCHANTERIC FRACTURE OF RIGHT FEMUR,

Age 33 · Male · Finger · Avulsion · 2024

33 YOM ACCIDENTALLY INJURED THUMB WITH DRILL BIT AT HOME EARLIER TODAY. DX: FINGER AVULSION.

Age 58 · Male · Hand · Contusions, Abr. · 2024

58YOM PATIENT STATES HE WAS ICE FISHING WHEN HE LOST A HANDLE ON HIS AUGER DRILL STRIKING HIS HAND CAUSING IMMENSE PAIN DX: CONTUSION OF LEFT HAND

Age 36 · Male · Hand · Puncture · 2024

36YOM PATIENT WAS USING A DRILL WHEN THE DRILLBIT BROKE OFF IN HIS HAND, PUNCTURE WOUND IN LEFT THENAR EMINENCE DX: PUNCTURE WOUND

Age 29 · Male · Knee · Laceration · 2024

29 YOM WITH LEFT PROXIMAL KNEE LACERATION WHICH HE ENCOUNTERED WHILE WAS WORKING IN HOME CONSTRUCTION YESTERDAY EVENING. HE STATED THAT HE HAD CONSUMED ALCOHOLIC DRINK PRIOR TO WORKING AND ACCIDENTALLY LACERATED PROXIMAL KNEE USING NAIL DRILLING DEVICE. NO BAL. DX KNEE LACERATION

Age 19 · Male · Finger · Fracture · 2024

19YOM PATIENT WAS USING A DRILL, IT IS UNKNOWN IF IT WAS A DRILL PRESS OR AN ACTUAL DRILL AS THERE IS SOME BARRIER TO COMMUNICATION, FINGER INJURY DX: OPEN DISPLACED FRACTURE OF DISTAL PHALANX OF RIGHT THUMB, RIGHT THUMB LACERATION

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

5/5/2021 · Incident, No Injury · Harbor Freight Tools · Ohio

Impact gun engages while being maneuvered into position for use. Please keep in mind this tool is very heavy requiring a firm grip just to pick it up. The trigger is located at the grip on the outside of the handle. Making the gun dangerous to just pick up from the floor if it is connected to air supply. The natural method of using this tool is to align the socket on the nut to be removed or installed by twisting the drive anvil with one hand and press the tool into place with the other hand using the rear handle at which time the tool inadvertently engages because of the trigger placement. The location of this trigger could be compared to having the trigger on a shotgun on the rear of the shoulder stock! just getting it in place ready to use and it goes off.

5/17/2019 · Incident, No Injury · Robert Bosch Tool Corporation · Michigan

Caller is reporting that the drill bit does not have a warning label. He stated that he was drilling when the drill bit caused the content to become a projectile, fortunately he was not struck by the pieces that was dispersed forcefully. Caller stated that this unit might be a tool that should be for industrial use not residential. The retailer was contacted for information on returning this item. He is concerned that this product is dangerous and should not be on the market.

3/14/2011 · Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received · Harbor Freight Tools · Missouri

I was drilling Matel the drill belt and the will cams of from the big screw that hold the will & the belt to spin the bit to drill anything. I open the cover to see the belt and the will jump up, thanks good I moved my hand away...

2/9/2021 · Incident, No Injury · FELDMANN ENGINEERING & MANUFACTURING INC · Minnesota

When installing the propane tank to my Jiffy Pro 4 Gen 2 Ice Auger, the fuel line exploded causing the propane spew out the damaged fuel line. I was outside at the time so the propane leaked to atmosphere and also saturated one of the gloves that I was wearing. I'm guessing this could cause a fire hazard. I'm not sure the affects propane could cause to bare skin, to the eyes or if breathed in.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to drills, not specified on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Drills, Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (37/100), estimated annual ER visits (10,930/yr), and hospitalization share (1.7%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Drills, Not Specified ranks #313 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #198 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does drills, not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, drills, not specified ranks #313 by PlainSafety danger score (37/100) and #198 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (10,930/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from drills, not specified?

The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 40,932 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from drills, not specified increasing or decreasing?

Stable over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for drills, not specified injuries?

The 35-44 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 47,712 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by drills, not specified?

Of all ER visits involving drills, not specified, approximately 1.7% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (98.3%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with drills, not specified?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Drills, Not Specified is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.