CPSC NEISS · code 984

Solvents, Other Or Not Specified

Solvents, Other Or Not Specified: danger rank #659 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #697 of 838 (196 estimated ER visits a year; rising by about 11% over the last five years).

Home Workshop Tools & Equipment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Solvents, Other Or Not Specified ranks #659 of 838 by danger score (30/100) at ER-volume #697 of 838 (196/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#659
danger rank of 838
#697
ER-volume rank of 838
30/100
danger score
196/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (30/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

30 Among the lowest lower than 79% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 36/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

B
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 6 48th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 196 13th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend +11% 77th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 1 18th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 3,916 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 984. Segments sum to 3,916 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Workshop Tools & Equipment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Workshop Tools & Equipment danger scores

1. Gasoline47/1002. Methyl Alcohol (solvent)45/1003. Caustics43/1004. Lye42/1005. Gasoline Cans41/1006. Paints, Varnishes Or Shel…41/1007. General Purpose Household…41/1008. Solvents, Other Or Not Sp…30/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10030/100
PlainSafety danger score · Solvents, Other Or Not Specified

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 30/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for solvents, other or not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 196 ER visits/yr Low volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 5.6% Above median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend+11%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for solvents, other or not specified are rising by about 11% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2019 (424 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2010 (60 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 1,251 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by derma/conjunct to the eyeball (444 cases). The 0-4 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 932 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 5.6% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 1 consumer incident report filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how solvents, other or not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

0100200300400500 20052008201120142017202020232024 111
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Solvents, Other Or Not Specified, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 400 532 932
5-14 79 178 257
15-24 280 140 420
25-34 233 67 300
35-44 418 100 518
45-54 225 344 569
55-64 115 339 454
65-74 203 103 306
75+ 84 76 160

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
All Parts Body Poisoning 1,251
Eyeball Derma/conjunct 444
Eyeball Burn, Chemical 356
Hand Burn, Chemical 160
Hand Burns, Thermal 139
Lower Leg Burns, Thermal 124
Eyeball Other 123
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 107
Foot Contusions, Abr. 97
Face Burns, Thermal 92
Lower Leg Other 89
Upper Trunk Derma/conjunct 81
Lower Trunk Derma/conjunct 79
Foot Burn, Chemical 78
Upper Arm Burns, Thermal 78

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 92.2% (3,612)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 6.3% (246)
Left Without Being Seen 0.8% (32)
Held For Observation 0.5% (21)
Treated And Transferred 0.1% (5)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 3 · Female · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2024

3 YOF WAS BROUGHT IN FOR ACCIDNETAL INGESTION OF ACETONE AT HOME. DX: ACCIDENTAL INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE

Age 219 · Female · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2024

19MOF INGESTION OF A GLUE ADHESIVE REMOVER. DX INGESTION

Age 28 · Male · Eyeball · Derma/conjunct · 2023

28YOM PRESENTS TO THE ED COMPLAINTS OF CHEMICAL SOLVENTS EXPOSED TO HIS EYES AT LAB. PHD STUDENT WORKING WITH ORGANIC SOLVENTS, STATES HE OPENED THE OVEN AND FELT VAPORS COME INTO HIS EYES. WAS WEARING PPE. WASHED EYES 10 MINS. DX: ACUTE CONJUNCTIVITS OF BOTH EYES.

Age 47 · Female · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2023

47yof presnts to ED after being treated in the field by EMS w/ epinephrine for hypersensitivity reaction,difficulty breathing,urticaria.Pt believes she was instigated by the use of a cleaning solvent.Pt was cleaning her BR ceiling w/ ***.Pt became acutely dyspeneic,raised lesions,noted pleuritic raised lesions chest/armsDX: Anaphylaxis

Age 3 · Female · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2023

3YOF CHILD INGESTION ADHESIVE GUNK REMOVER GEL, NO SIGNS OR SYMPTOMS OF DISTRESS DX: INGESTION OF CORROSIVE CHEMICAL, ACCIDENTAL OR UNINTENTIONAL

Age 41 · Male · Face · Burns, Thermal · 2023

41YOM PRESENTED WITH A FACIAL BURN X1 DAY. THE PT STATED THAT HE WAS SMOKING A CIGARETTE WHILE CLEANING HIS SHOES WITH A SOLVENT. THE BOTTLE OF SOLVENT IGNITED AND SPLASHED ONTO HIS FACE. DX: FACIAL BURN

Age 28 · Male · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2023

28 YOM ACCIDENTALLY DRANK SMALL AMOUNT OF GLUE REMOVER THINKING IT WAS WATER, DX: ACCIDENTAL INGESTION

Age 16 · Male · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2023

16yom was at school 1 day ago when a classmate put a *** multipurpose solvent in his soda and he drank some of it, then he developed abdominal pain and diarrhea. DX: accidental ingestion of substance.

Age 216 · Female · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2023

16MOF WAS FOUND BY MOTHER WITH AN OPEN BOTTLE OF GUN CLEANER SOLVENT WITH SOME SPILLED AROUND HER AND THE SMELL OF THE CLEANER ON LIPS DX: INGESTION OF NON-TOXIC SUBSTANCE

Age 40 · Male · Eyeball · Burn, Chemical · 2022

40YOM SPLASHED EMULSIFIER SOLVENT CHEMICAL IN EYE. DX: CHEMICAL EXPOSURE

Age 3 · Male · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2022

3 YOM. C/O ACCIDENTIAL INGESTION OF ISOBUTYL NITRATE (BLUE BOY), PTS FATHER STATED HE IS NOT SURE HOW MUCH THE PT INGESTED. PTS FATHER STATED HE CONTACTED POISON CONTROL AND WAS INSTRUCTED TO COME TO THE EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT. DX: NONTOXIC INGESTION, UNINTENTIONAL POISONING BY NITRATE.

Age 33 · Female · Eyeball · Other · 2022

33YOF WITH RIGHT UPPER AND LOWER EYELID SWELLING AFTER THE PT STATES SHE GOT A SMALL AMOUNT OF SOLVENT THINNER IN THE RIGHT CORNER OF HER EYE. DX: PRESEPTAL CELLULITIS OF RIGHT EYE

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

8/6/2024 · Injury, Level of care not known · Torquay eTrading LLC , c/o Elevate Brands OpCo LLC · Arizona

Rash on hands

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to solvents, other or not specified on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Workshop Tools & Equipment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Solvents, Other Or Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (30/100), estimated annual ER visits (196/yr), and hospitalization share (5.6%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Solvents, Other Or Not Specified ranks #659 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #697 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does solvents, other or not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, solvents, other or not specified ranks #659 by PlainSafety danger score (30/100) and #697 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (196/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from solvents, other or not specified?

The most common injury is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 1,251 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from solvents, other or not specified increasing or decreasing?

Up 11% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for solvents, other or not specified injuries?

The 0-4 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 932 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by solvents, other or not specified?

Of all ER visits involving solvents, other or not specified, approximately 5.6% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (94.4%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with solvents, other or not specified?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Solvents, Other Or Not Specified is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.