Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Lighting Equipment, Not Specified ranks #84 of 838 by danger score (43/100) at ER-volume #384 of 838 (2,439/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #84
- danger rank of 838
- #384
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 43/100
- danger score
- 2,439/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (43/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
43 Higher than most more dangerous than 88% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 58/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 11 | 80th | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 2,439 | 51st | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | +62% | 96th | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 0 | 0th | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 48,783 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 4042. Segments sum to 48,783 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Floors, Walls & Ceilings group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Floors, Walls & Ceilings danger scores
How this 43/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for lighting equipment, not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 2,439 ER visits/yr Above median volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 10.9% High admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.05% Above-typical fatality rate
- 5-year trend+62%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for lighting equipment, not specified are rising by about 62% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2005 (6,058 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2016 (812 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 3,932 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the finger (3,900 cases). The 75+ age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 7,756 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 10.9% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer, and a small fraction (0.05%) result in fatality.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 0 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how lighting equipment, not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 3,282 | 1,253 | |
| 5-14 | 3,287 | 2,574 | |
| 15-24 | 4,556 | 2,469 | |
| 25-34 | 4,434 | 1,760 | |
| 35-44 | 3,554 | 1,991 | |
| 45-54 | 2,949 | 2,626 | |
| 55-64 | 1,945 | 1,347 | |
| 65-74 | 1,676 | 1,322 | |
| 75+ | 2,679 | 5,077 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Head | Internal Injury | |
| Finger | Laceration | |
| Hand | Laceration | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Head | Laceration | |
| Lower Trunk | Fracture | |
| Lower Arm | Laceration | |
| Foot | Laceration | |
| Wrist | Laceration | |
| Lower Trunk | Strain, Sprain | |
| Head | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Shoulder | Strain, Sprain | |
| Eyeball | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Upper Trunk | Fracture | |
| Lower Trunk | Other |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
98 YOF HIT FOREARM ON A LIGHTSWITCH AND CUT IT DX: LAC
50 YOF DROPPED A LIGHT ON FOOT DX: CONTUSION
4YOM LACERATION TO LEFT WRIST FROM BROKEN LIGHT FIXTURE. DX: LACERATION OF LEFT UPPER EXTREMITY.
64 YOM WAS INSTALLING A LIGHT FIXTURE AND INJURED FINGER DX LACERATION FINGER
41YOF A LIGHT IN BACKYARD AT HOME FELL & HIT PT IN HEAD DX ACUTE LACERATION TO R SIDED PARIETAL OCCIPITAL SCALP
52YOM WITH C/O RIGHT CALF PAIN AND SWELLING. STATES A DROPPED LIGHT: FELL OVER AND HIT HIM IN THE BACK OF THE RIGHT LEG ABOUT A WEEK AGO. DX: LOWER LEG PAIN AND SWELLING
49 YOF REPORTS LEFT EYE PAIN WORSE IN BRIGHT LIGHTS AT PRISON. DX: EYE PAIN LEFT.
78YOM WAS ADJUSTING LIGHTING ALONG SIDE HIS RIVER ROCK AND LOST HIS BALANCE AND FELL STRIKING HIS FACE. DX: NASAL FRACTURE; LACERATION OF LIP
49YOF STATES THAT ONE MONTH AGO SHE WAS CRANKING A LARGE LIGHT AND HAS SINCE HAD PAIN IN NECK AND DOWN ARM DX: CERVICAL RADICULOPATHY
58YOM COMPLAINS OF HEAD PAIN WHEN HIT HEAD ON LIGHT DX HEAD INJURY
73YOM WAS GETTING UP TO TURN OFF A LIGHT AND FELL CAUSING A SMALL LACERATION UNDER HIS LEFT EYE AND TO HIS LIP. DX: FALL; CHEEK LACERATION, LEFT; LIP LACERATION
29 YOM HIT HIS HEAD ON A LIGHT FIXTURE WHICH CAUSE THE GLASS TO SHATTER AND FALL ONTO HIS FOREARM. DX: LACERATION LEFT FOREARM
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to lighting equipment, not specified on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Floors, Walls & Ceilings
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Lighting Equipment, Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (43/100), estimated annual ER visits (2,439/yr), and hospitalization share (10.9%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
- Kitchen Mixing Bowls, Canisters Or Similar Containers Containers, Tableware & Packaging 2,429/yr
- Thermal Or Sound Insulation Materials Building Materials & Home Structures 2,417/yr
- Sewing Machines Or Accessories Laundry & Household Appliances 2,407/yr
- Paintbrushes Or Rollers, Manual Home Workshop Tools & Equipment 2,403/yr
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
- Pressure Cookers Or Canners Containers, Tableware & Packaging 10.9%admitted
- Draperies, Curtains, Shower Curtains(fabric Or Plastic) Home Furnishings & Fixtures 11.0%admitted
- Porches, Balconies, Open-side Floors Or Floor Openings Building Materials & Home Structures 10.8%admitted
- Other Drugs Or Medications Transportation & Substances 11.0%admitted
Related Products in Floors, Walls & Ceilings
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Lighting Equipment, Not Specified ranks #84 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #384 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does lighting equipment, not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, lighting equipment, not specified ranks #84 by PlainSafety danger score (43/100) and #384 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (2,439/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from lighting equipment, not specified?
The most common injury is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 3,932 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from lighting equipment, not specified increasing or decreasing?
Up 62% over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for lighting equipment, not specified injuries?
The 75+ age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 7,756 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by lighting equipment, not specified?
Of all ER visits involving lighting equipment, not specified, approximately 10.9% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (89.1%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with lighting equipment, not specified?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.