CPSC NEISS · code 866

Electric Soldering Equipment

Electric Soldering Equipment: danger rank #780 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #794 of 838 (69 estimated ER visits a year; declining by about 31% over the last five years).

Home Communication & Entertainment CPSC NEISS through 2023

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2023, Electric Soldering Equipment ranks #780 of 838 by danger score (25/100) at ER-volume #794 of 838 (69/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#780
danger rank of 838
#794
ER-volume rank of 838
25/100
danger score
69/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (25/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

25 Among the lowest lower than 93% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2023

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 36/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

B
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 8 63rd 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 69 5th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -31% 21st 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 9 46th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 903 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 866. Segments sum to 903 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Communication & Entertainment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Communication & Entertainment danger scores

1. Tools, Not Specified44/1002. Batteries43/1003. Bench Or Table Saws43/1004. Torches, Not Specified42/1005. Battery Chargers/adapters41/1006. Power Saws, Other Or Not …40/1007. Rope Or String40/1008. Electric Soldering Equipm…25/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10025/100
PlainSafety danger score · Electric Soldering Equipment

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2023

How this 25/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for electric soldering equipment - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 69 ER visits/yr Low volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 7.7% Above median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend-31%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 19-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2023, injury counts for electric soldering equipment are declining by about 31% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2011 (151 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2008 (15 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is burns, thermal to the hand, accounting for approximately 235 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by burns, thermal to the finger (154 cases). The 45-54 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 172 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 7.7% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 9 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 18 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how electric soldering equipment fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2023-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2023)

050100150200 2005200720092011201520212023 80
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Electric Soldering Equipment, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2023

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 83 71 154
5-14 162 0 162
15-24 84 0 84
25-34 65 70 135
35-44 47 0 47
45-54 17 155 172
55-64 17 70 87
75+ 62 0 62

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Hand Burns, Thermal 235
Finger Burns, Thermal 154
Lower Arm Burns, Thermal 81
Toe Burns, Thermal 80
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 74
Foot Contusions, Abr. 70
Upper Trunk Burn, Scald 67
All Parts Body Anoxia 62
Eyeball Radiation 17
Lower Leg Burns, Thermal 17
Hand Other 16
Eyeball Foreign Body 15
Hand Laceration 15

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 98.1% (886)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 1.9% (17)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 6 · Male · Toe · Burns, Thermal · 2023

6 YOM INJURED TOE, ACCIDENTALLY STEPPED ON SOLDERING IRON. DX-BURN LEFT 2ND TOE

Age 30 · Male · Hand · Burns, Thermal · 2022

30 YOM C/O BURN TO HAND S/P USING A SOLDERING IRON TO FIX SOMETHING AT HOME. DX: BURN TO HAND

Age 57 · Male · Lower Leg · Burns, Thermal · 2021

57 YOM WAS SOLDERING 1 WEEK AGO WHEN HIS SWEATPANTS CAUGHT ON FIRE. REPORTS THAT HE WAS ABLE TO PUT OUT THE FIRE HIMSELF, BUT SUSTAINED BURNS TO THIS LEFT LEG, AS WELL AS SUPERFICIAL BURNS TO THE HEAD OF HIS PENIS, HIS LEFT HAND, AND HIS FACE. -FDDX: PARTIAL THICKNESS BURN OF LEFFT LOWER EXTREMITY

Age 7 · Male · Finger · Burns, Thermal · 2017

7YOM EVAL OF 1ST-3RD DIGITS BURN, PT BURNED ON FATHERS SOLDERING IRON 20 MIN PTA, ACCID GRABBED IT PER MOM DX PARTIAL THICNESS BURN MULT DIGIT

Age 22 · Male · Upper Trunk · Burn, Scald · 2017

22YOM SLASHED ON CHEST WITH ANTIFREEZE WHEN WORKING ON CAR/ BURN CHEST WALL

Age 2 · Male · Hand · Burns, Thermal · 2015

2YOM GRABBED A SOLDERING GUN WITH R HANDDX 2ND DEGREE BURN

Age 48 · Male · Eyeball · Radiation · 2015

48YOM WAS SOLDERING AT HOME AND NOW EYES BURN RADIATION BURNS TO EYES

Age 50 · Female · Eyeball · Contusions, Abr. · 2014

50 YOF EYE CONTUSION, PT REPORTS HAVING THE ELECTRICAL CORD FROM UNKNOWN IRON HIT HER TO THE EYE, UNABLE TO OPEN EYE, +CORNEAL ABRASION

Age 35 · Male · Hand · Other · 2014

35YM WAS CUTTING/SOLDERING 5D AGO&BURNT B/L HANDS ON HOT METAL>>WOUND INFECTION

Age 49 · Female · Lower Arm · Burns, Thermal · 2011

49YOF BURNED LEFT ARM WITH A SOLDERING IRON, 1ST AND 2ND DEGREE BURNTO LOWER LEFT ARM

Age 59 · Female · Foot · Contusions, Abr. · 2011

59 Y/O B/FM BRUISED FOOT WHEN DROPPED IRON ON FOOT AT HOME.

Age 18 · Male · Finger · Burns, Thermal · 2010

18YOM, BURNT INDEX/MIDDLE FINGERS WHEN SOLDERING IROIN FELL B/T DIGITS>>BURN

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

8/22/2023 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · Walmart Stores Inc. · Pennsylvania

I purchased this item at Walmart (store # 02287) in New Castle, Pennsylvania, to poke holes in plastic cups so my plants would have proper water drainage. I used it today for the second time. After only having it plugged in for five minutes, the red plastic handle became so hot that it burned through multiple layers of my skin on my index finger. And I did not have my finger on it very long to get this burn. I can’t imagine how badly this could burn an elderly person or someone with motor-skill trouble. The red handle is flared out at the operating end, as a means of keeping you safe from touching the extremely hot metal rod inside. However, this guard is insufficient because it gets so hot that the plastic can burn you. To be incredibly specific: I was holding the soldering iron in my left hand with my left index finger up towards the flared end of the red plastic handle (but still very much only touching the plastic resin handle). I was holding a plastic cup in my right hand. I was sitting at my work desk and had both elbows and forearms firmly on the table so that I was making safe and precise movements. Upon taking a one or two minute break between soldering sessions the next time, I gripped the soldering iron to resume work, it immediately burned the finger print portion of my index finger. This burn happened instantly, and my finger immediately turned a whitish brown color as soon as I looked at it. I immediately secured the iron in a place much closer to the portion of plastic base where the electrical cord comes out and unplugged it. I placed the iron as quickly into the poorly designed “stand” as I was able. I then proceeded to address my injuries and ran tepid water on it. The white color went away for a little bit and then came back again. Now it’s just a light shade of white and the skin is gone. I shudder to think what would’ve happened had I held it there an instant longer or with the slightest bit more pressure. I am genuinely concerned for the safe

7/21/2017 · Incident, No Injury · X-Tronic International, Inc. · Pennsylvania

While in use the soldering iron base station caught fire. There was an electrical burning sound and then flames shot out the side of the unit and continued to burn until I unplugged the unit. Once unplugged I looked through the holes for cooling and could see flames inside the unit. I took the unit outside till the flames went out and the unit cooled down.

6/16/2017 · Incident, No Injury · Apex Tool Group · Massachusetts

I was using the Weller WESD51 Soldering iron. I had plugged it in and was waiting for it to heat up to 820 degrees Fahrenheit to melt lead-free solder. Usually it doesn't take very long, but this time it was taking longer to heat up. The reading on the digital display started reading strange numbers, like 900 and then it jumped down to 600 and continued to heat up. The reading hovered between 600 and 675 for a few minutes and continued to heat up the soldering iron when I noticed the soldering iron tip was glowing red hot. I knew that when a heating element turned red, it was dangerously hot, and I unplugged the iron immediately. My friend and I went to try a different iron, as the building has several of the same ones, and the new iron did the same thing. No one was injured as a result of this incident, but there was an extremely high risk of burns despite practicing safe solder techniques.

5/18/2013 · Incident, No Injury · Tongyi Electronic Equipment Factory · Kentucky

My AOYUE Int 937+ soldering station was plugged in and heating. I was working with wires and connectors. I noticed the smell of burning plastic. I pulled the soldering pencil out of the holder and noticed the heating element portion glowing red hot. The plastic body of the soldering pencil was so hot it melted, causing the body to droop down. I unplugged the unit. I then cut the cord off so it could not be plugged in again. I took photos of all aspects. I have retained all parts. Had I not been present a fire surely would have started. I cannot locate any UL Listing label on this unit.

4/19/2014 · Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received · Apex Tool Group · Minnesota

I purchased a Weller # SP40 Soldering Iron from Home Depot, Bloomington, Minnesota April 2nd, 2014. I purchased this for some of my hobby stuff. On Saturday April 12th as I was soldering the soldering iron literally caught fire in my hands. There was no warning, it's not fused for protection - it literally went poof and caught fire. It wasn't what I was soldering that caught fire, but the actual soldering iron. It melted plastic and of course no longer works. I made 2 attempts at contacting Weller on their website but they're ignoring me.

2/11/2015 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · Hobbico, Inc. · Washington

I recently purchased and used a Monokote/Top Flite (brand) Sealing Iron, which is typically used with constructing model airplanes. The iron has a temperature dial which is labeled from Low to Hot and the iron can reach temperatures of 395 degrees (per the box labeling the iron came in). After using the iron for about 15 minutes, I went to turn the temperature down/off and I burned my fingers on the temperature dial. The dial was EXTREMELY HOT, likely well over 300 degrees. It seems that the dial should not get hot, as it appears that it is intended to be used while the iron is being used. There are no instructions or information that warns not to touch the dial while the iron is plugged in and being used.

12/3/2013 · Incident, No Injury · Apex Tool Group · Indiana

Consumer stated that while using the soldering iron it sparked and then flames (3-4 inches) emitted from handle, she immediately unplugged it. She had contacted the firm during the time they had Release #06-031. She was informed that her model was not included in the recall. However, she felt that this unit was safe to use after being advised by the firm. 12/3/13 The manufacturer was contacted and she was advised that the iron was out of warranty which only last for a year and she could not return the product. Consumer feels that the product is a fire hazard and should be reported. The product is not part of a recall. I am sorry this letter has been delayed. I was caught up in the holidays, and then I could not deliver it because I was snowed in. I am writing this as an attachment to your form so that I can include more detailed and accurate information. I purchased a Weller brand soldering iron 6 to 10 years ago. I'm not sure of the exact date. I believe I purchased it from Warner Stained Glass Products of New Jersey. I'm not sure of that either because I have bought items from other stained glass suppliers. I have used Warner the most, however. Warner posted a recall on a couple of Weller soldering irons a couple of years ago, and I checked with Weller to see if mine was included. Weller assured me that it was not, and mine was safe to use. Apex Tool Group of Apex North Carolina is the manufacturer of Weller brand soldering irons. On December 2, 2013, I plugged my soldering iron in to warm up. It was in its stand. I was not holding it. After about 2 minutes, there was a 'pop' and coming from the soldering iron handle were 3 to 4 inch flames and a lot of black smoke. I unplugged the unit and the flames stopped. The smoke continued a while longer, but then also stopped. It really smelled. When the soldering iron cooled, I looked at it closer. There is a flange directly behind the hot steel element and at the top of the handle. It stic

11/21/2018 · Incident, No Injury · Apex Tool Group · Maine

Electri-Cord brand power cord attached to a Weller W100PG solder iron that I just purchased with date stamp of (19/18). Removing it from the packaging and limbering the cord from it's twist-tied folding caused splits along the thin black jacket overwrap where it had been most tightly curved to fit in the blister card. This is an electric shock hazard, particularly if cord draped into conductive fluids. Cord is marked with white imprint "(UL) VW-1 E46194 (M) SVTO 3/C 18 AWG (0.824mm2) 105'C 300V FT1, FT2 LL90458 (M)" and with emboss "Made in Mexico" "E.S.Electri-Cord" "c(UL)us" on the plug head. The thin 'shrinkwrap' black electrical isolation jacket on cord is too thin and flimsy and seems to have a seam running the length of it, which is where these splits are occurring and from which the white fibrous contents is spilling out. With those splits, which I'm sure will extend in length and increase in number with time and any use, and gaps to the white fibrous interior, I'm sure this fails to meet UL rating because of electric shock hazard. My older, same model iron with date stamp (02/14) has a similar Electri-Cord power cord, except that the codes is DEBOSSED on the black jacket and it is "SVT", not "SVTO". I do not know the details of these different codings, but I've used this older one for years and it's cord jacket is thicker (you cannot see cord contents texture 'telegraph' through, like on this new one) and more rubbery and more pliable. It's what I'd expect in a cord for a handheld heating tool. Already communicated with Weller, Electri-Cord and UL about this problem.

Showing 8 of 9 reports.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to electric soldering equipment on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Communication & Entertainment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Electric Soldering Equipment: cross-group products nearest on danger score (25/100), estimated annual ER visits (69/yr), and hospitalization share (7.7%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Electric Soldering Equipment ranks #780 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #794 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does electric soldering equipment rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, electric soldering equipment ranks #780 by PlainSafety danger score (25/100) and #794 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (69/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from electric soldering equipment?

The most common injury is burns, thermal to the hand, accounting for approximately 235 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from electric soldering equipment increasing or decreasing?

Down 31% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for electric soldering equipment injuries?

The 45-54 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 172 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by electric soldering equipment?

Of all ER visits involving electric soldering equipment, approximately 7.7% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (92.3%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with electric soldering equipment?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Electric Soldering Equipment is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2023. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.