Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2021-2024, Cribs, Nonportable Or Not Specified ranks #173 of 838 by danger score (40/100) at ER-volume #373 of 838 (13,483/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #173
- danger rank of 838
- #373
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 40/100
- danger score
- 13,483/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (40/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
40 Higher than most more dangerous than 75% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 79/100
One verdict blending 3 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 11 | 79th | 41% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 13,483 | 77th | 35% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | N/A | N/A | redistributed | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 89 | 80th | 24% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
5-year injury trend has no recorded value for this category; its weight was redistributed proportionally across the dimensions that do, rather than treated as zero risk.
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 53,974 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1552. Segments sum to 53,974 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Nursery & Baby Products group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Nursery & Baby Products danger scores
How this 40/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for cribs, nonportable or not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 13,483 ER visits/yr High volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 4.1% Below median admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.72% Elevated fatality rate
- 5-year trendN/A
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 4-year NEISS window from 2021 to 2024, injury counts for cribs, nonportable or not specified are stable over the most recent five-year window, with the busiest year on record being 2024 (14,649 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2022 (12,830 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 17,408 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by other to the not stated/unk (2,728 cases). The 0-4 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 47,093 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 4.1% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer, and a small fraction (0.72%) result in fatality.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 89 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how cribs, nonportable or not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2021–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 24,645 | 22,448 | |
| 5-14 | 529 | 954 | |
| 15-24 | 57 | 613 | |
| 25-34 | 677 | 1,193 | |
| 35-44 | 407 | 497 | |
| 45-54 | 101 | 248 | |
| 55-64 | 149 | 936 | |
| 65-74 | 0 | 199 | |
| 75+ | 72 | 207 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Head | Internal Injury | |
| Not Stated/unk | Other | |
| Face | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Elbow | Dislocation | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Mouth | Laceration | |
| Head | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Face | Hematoma | |
| Lower Arm | Fracture | |
| Upper Arm | Fracture | |
| Head | Hematoma | |
| Head | Laceration | |
| Wrist | Fracture | |
| Lower Leg | Other | |
| Lower Trunk | Other |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
4MOF PRESENTS TO ED W/ MOM AND DAD AT REFERRAL OF PEDIATRICS. CONCERNS FOR RASH VERSUS BRUSING ON LEFT LEG. MAYBE HIT LEG ON CRIB RAILING OR TOYS SINCE BEEN ROLLING AROUND A LOT LATELY. DX: RASH
2YOF CRAWLED OUT OF THE CRIB AND FELL, STRIKING HEAD ON CARPET FLOOR DX: CLOSED HEAD INJURY
9MOF PRESENTS WITH HEAD INJURY S/P PT'S PARENTS EXPLAIN THAT THE BABY WAS NAPPING AT HOME WHEN THEY HURD A THUD AND FOUND THE BABY HAD AN UNWITNESSED FALL FROM OF HER CRIB ONTO THE FLOOR. PT CRIED WHEN PARENTS TOUCHED THE BACK OF HER HEAD. DX: HEAD INJURY
7MOM WAS STANDING UP IN HIS CRIB AND FELL BACKWARDS STRIKING HIS HEAD ON THE SIDE OF THE CRIB DX: CLOSED HEAD INJURY
31YOF, LIFTING HER CHILD OUT OF THE CRIB AND DEVELOPED WORSENING BACK PAIN DX: ACUTE LEFT SIDED THORACIC BACK PAIN
22MOM FELL STRIKING FACE ON THE EDGE OF HIS CRIB DX: LACERATION FACE
22MOM CAUGHT HIS ARM IN HIS CRIB RAILS & LATER TRIPPED ON A PILLOW & FELL. DX: TORUS FX OF WRIST
16MOF PRESENTING TODAY AFTER FALL 3.5FT FROM CRIB. DX: SCALP HEMATOMA
8MOF- FELL OUT OF THE CRIB 3 FT FALL HITTING FOREHEAD PAIN TO FOREHEAD NO LOC/V. NO DX PT WAS LBFE.
2YOM WAS JUMPING IN HIS CRIB AND FELL OUT TO THE FLOOR DX: FRACTURE OF LEFT RADIUS AND ULNA *
2 YOF FELL OUT OF HER CRIB. DX HEAD INJURY, LIP ABRASION
15 MOF PRESENTS WITH HEAD INJURY S/P FELL OUT OF CRIB TO CONCRETE FLOOR FROM A 2 FOOT HEIGHT AT HOME. DX: CLOSED HEAD INJURY
Consumer Incident Reports
Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.
Kendall covetable crib documentation claims that only pottery barn kids can provide replacement bolts. However they refuse to do so. Bolts are of a nonstandard size and cannot be manufactured or purchase anywhere on Earth. Replacement m6 screws cut to size would be extremely risky.
I purchased a Babyletto Pogo 8-in-1 Convertible Crib with All-Stages Conversion Kits. My baby is now 7 months old and continually gets his leg stuck through the side rails and is unable to get it out. This has never happened to me on anyother cribs I have purchased through other companies.
Brand new crib had a major structural failure This product was purchased new. I assembled it according to the instructions. When I placed my son onto the mattress in the crib the bracket failed, and the bed collapsed to the floor in one corner
A baby crib with lead was detected with a [REDACTED] that was tested during a lead risk assessment on 9/16/24. The crib is manufactured by the Million Dollar Baby Co. of Pico Rivera, California under the "Namesake" brand and was purchased recently. The XRF detected the presence of lead at 2.6 mg/cm^2. It appears that the brand is carried by major retailers [REDACTED], Wayfair etc. There are no current Federal recalls for this product listed on the Consumer Product Safety Commission website.
This crib falls apart, meaning the mattress falls to the ground and allows opening for baby to crawl through
We purchased a crib "Dream On Me Synergry 5 in one convertible crib" from Amazon in July, 2021. I assembled it and everything seemed fine. My baby sleeps "ABC" with an appropriate infant mattress. A couple weeks of using it I noticed there was a splinter size chip sticking out on the front rail. I was concerned since my baby had just begun sleeping in it and she learned to stand that she may get a splinter from it. I contacted the company and they sent me a replacement rail. However when I opened the replacement I made sure to run my hands down each rail to make sure it wasn't like the original, unfortunately it also had a split and rough spots on it. I took multiple photos and sent the company them and asked for a refund. They do not retail them, so I have to return and get a refund from Amazon. I've also seen similar reviews on the Amazon site about this crib, it doesn't feel right to return it if it isn't safe for babies. My baby did not get injured but the piece of wood on the new rail did puncture my finger when I checked it. It could've hurt her had I not have checked. I would like to return for a refund if that is safe because I could use the funds for a backup sleep space for my baby.
On September 12, 2025, my infant daughters leg became trapped between the slats of a Graco crib. As a result, she suffered a severe wound on her leg that blistered and appeared burn-like. I have photographs documenting both the injury and the way her leg became stuck in the crib. The wound was painful, blistered, and required medical attention. This injury caused significant distress and pain to my child.
Bought a crib from Wayfair last year. My son is showing elevated blood lead levels at his one year appointment. I bought a lead detecting kit and got to work on the surfaces of my home. My crib from Wayfair immediately pops positive. I called Wayfair to advise them and they immediately said that there was nothing that they could do unless my child was ill enough to require medical treatment and that their products are quality tested. They are not willing to look further into the issue. I was told my test was inaccurate. I offered to send the crib to them for testing and they refused. The crib is the kelani 4 in 1 convertible crib.
Showing 8 of 89 reports.
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to cribs, nonportable or not specified on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Nursery & Baby Products
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Cribs, Nonportable Or Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (40/100), estimated annual ER visits (13,483/yr), and hospitalization share (4.1%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
- Kitchen Gadgets, Not Elsewhere Classified Containers, Tableware & Packaging 13,500/yr
- Razors Or Shavers, Not Specified Personal Care & Safety Products 13,599/yr
- Washing Machines, Other Or Not Specified Laundry & Household Appliances 13,360/yr
- Mattresses, Not Specified Floors, Walls & Ceilings 13,616/yr
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
Related Products in Nursery & Baby Products
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Cribs, Nonportable Or Not Specified ranks #173 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #373 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does cribs, nonportable or not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, cribs, nonportable or not specified ranks #173 by PlainSafety danger score (40/100) and #373 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (13,483/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from cribs, nonportable or not specified?
The most common injury is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 17,408 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from cribs, nonportable or not specified increasing or decreasing?
No trend data.
Who is most at risk for cribs, nonportable or not specified injuries?
The 0-4 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 47,093 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by cribs, nonportable or not specified?
Of all ER visits involving cribs, nonportable or not specified, approximately 4.1% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (95.9%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with cribs, nonportable or not specified?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.