CPSC NEISS · code 959

Polishes, Not Specified

Polishes, Not Specified: danger rank #684 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #823 of 838 (58 estimated ER visits a year; rising by about 214% over the last five years).

Home Workshop Tools & Equipment CPSC NEISS through 2021

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2006-2021, Polishes, Not Specified ranks #684 of 838 by danger score (29/100) at ER-volume #823 of 838 (58/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#684
danger rank of 838
#823
ER-volume rank of 838
29/100
danger score
58/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (29/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

29 Among the lowest lower than 82% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2021

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 16/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

A
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 0 0th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 58 5th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend +214% 100th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 0 0th 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 407 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 959. Segments sum to 407 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Home Workshop Tools & Equipment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Home Workshop Tools & Equipment danger scores

1. Gasoline47/1002. Methyl Alcohol (solvent)45/1003. Caustics43/1004. Lye42/1005. Gasoline Cans41/1006. Paints, Varnishes Or Shel…41/1007. General Purpose Household…41/1008. Polishes, Not Specified29/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10029/100
PlainSafety danger score · Polishes, Not Specified

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2021

How this 29/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for polishes, not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 58 ER visits/yr Low volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 0.0% Low admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend+214%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 16-year NEISS window from 2006 to 2021, injury counts for polishes, not specified are rising by about 214% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2020 (132 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2006 (6 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is burn, chemical to the foot, accounting for approximately 76 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by contusions, abr. to the lower trunk (76 cases). The 35-44 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 92 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 0.0% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 0 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 5 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how polishes, not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2021-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2006–2021)

050100150 2006201120122013201620202021 69
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Polishes, Not Specified, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2021

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
0-4 0 6 6
5-14 0 64 64
15-24 76 0 76
35-44 16 76 92
45-54 56 0 56
65-74 0 69 69
75+ 0 44 44

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Foot Burn, Chemical 76
Lower Trunk Contusions, Abr. 76
Lower Trunk Other 69
All Parts Body Derma/conjunct 64
Eyeball Foreign Body 56
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 44
All Parts Body Anoxia 16
All Parts Body Poisoning 6

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 100.0% (407)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 19 · Male · Foot · Burn, Chemical · 2020

19YOM WITH CHEMICAL BURNS TO HIS FEET, WAS POLISHING TRUCK WHEELSDX. CHEMICAL BURNS FEET

Age 52 · Male · Eyeball · Foreign Body · 2020

52 YO M PT WAS POLISHING METAL WHENHE FELT SOMETHING GO INTO HIS RT EYE PAINFULDX FOREIGN OBJECT RT EYE

Age 5 · Female · All Parts Body · Derma/conjunct · 2016

5YO F WITH RASH X 6 DAYS. RASH ON ENTIRE BODY. MOM SWITCHED DETERGENTSPRIOR TO RASH STARTING. DX:URTICARIA, RASH, VIRAL URI.

Age 39 · Male · All Parts Body · Anoxia · 2011

39 YR OLD MALE EXPOSED TO POLISH SMELL IN HOTEL ROOM WHILE SLEEPING BECAME SHORT OF BREATH WITH WHEEZING

Age 210 · Female · All Parts Body · Poisoning · 2006

ALLERGIC REACTION TO LAUNDRY DETERGENT

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to polishes, not specified on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Home Workshop Tools & Equipment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Polishes, Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (29/100), estimated annual ER visits (58/yr), and hospitalization share (0.0%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Polishes, Not Specified ranks #684 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #823 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does polishes, not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, polishes, not specified ranks #684 by PlainSafety danger score (29/100) and #823 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (58/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from polishes, not specified?

The most common injury is burn, chemical to the foot, accounting for approximately 76 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from polishes, not specified increasing or decreasing?

Up 214% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for polishes, not specified injuries?

The 35-44 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 92 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by polishes, not specified?

Of all ER visits involving polishes, not specified, approximately 0.0% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (100.0%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with polishes, not specified?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Polishes, Not Specified is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2021. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.