Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Electric Lighting Equipment, Not Specified ranks #419 of 838 by danger score (35/100) at ER-volume #402 of 838 (2,245/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #419
- danger rank of 838
- #402
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 35/100
- danger score
- 2,245/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (35/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
35 Lower than most lower than 50% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 55/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 10 | 76th | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 2,245 | 50th | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | -23% | 30th | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 8 | 43rd | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 44,912 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 4041. Segments sum to 44,912 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Floors, Walls & Ceilings group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Floors, Walls & Ceilings danger scores
How this 35/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for electric lighting equipment, not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 2,245 ER visits/yr Above median volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 9.8% High admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
- 5-year trend-23%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for electric lighting equipment, not specified are declining by about 23% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2016 (5,552 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2007 (530 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 3,834 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by laceration to the hand (3,775 cases). The 75+ age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 8,390 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 9.8% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 8 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how electric lighting equipment, not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 1,492 | 1,120 | |
| 5-14 | 3,411 | 1,835 | |
| 15-24 | 3,416 | 2,039 | |
| 25-34 | 4,430 | 2,109 | |
| 35-44 | 3,023 | 1,691 | |
| 45-54 | 2,905 | 1,347 | |
| 55-64 | 2,002 | 1,484 | |
| 65-74 | 2,209 | 1,946 | |
| 75+ | 2,631 | 5,759 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Finger | Laceration | |
| Hand | Laceration | |
| Head | Internal Injury | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Head | Laceration | |
| Lower Arm | Laceration | |
| Lower Trunk | Fracture | |
| All Parts Body | Electric Shock | |
| Head | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Foot | Laceration | |
| Head | Concussion | |
| Upper Trunk | Fracture | |
| Lower Leg | Laceration | |
| Head | Hematoma | |
| Lower Trunk | Strain, Sprain |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
22YOM C/O LAC TO HIS FACE. OCCURRED AROUND 2A THIS MORNING. STS HE DID HAVE ALCOHOL ON BOARD AT THAT TIME. HE HAD TURNED HIS LIGHT OFF TO GO TO BED & TRIPPED ON THE WAY TO BED. HE FELL & HIT THE TABLE NEXT TO HIS BED. UNSURE OF LOC. BAL N/S. OCCURRED IN DORM ROOM AT COLLEGE. DX: HEAD INJURY; FACIAL LACERATION
77YOF FROM NURSING HOME, ON *** WHO PRESENTS WITH REPORT THAT SHE LOST HER BALANCE WHILE TRYING TO TURN THE LIGHT ON AS SHE WENT TO THE BATHROOM THIS MORNING, FALLING & STRIKING THE BACK OF HER HEAD. DENIES LOC. DX: SCALP HEMATOMA;EPIDURAL HEMATOMA
68YOF PRESENTS WITH CHEST PAIN WORSENED BY PALPITATION AFTER HOLDING A LIGHT UP FOR APPROX 6-8 HOURS YESTERDAY. DX: CHEST PAIN, MUSCULOSKELETAL
77YOF-PATIENT WAS CHANGING A LIGHT FIXTURE AT HOME WHEN SHE ACCIDENTALLY TRIPPED AND FELL ON HER LEFT SHOULDER. DX: LEFT SHOULDER FRACTURE
11YOM PAIN (L) KNEE, WAS AT SCHOOL YESTERDAY AND LIGHTS WAS TURNED OFF, WALKED INTO DOOR HITTING (L) KNEE ALSO RIGHT THUMB PAIN FROM INJURY A MONTH AGO. DX: CONTUSION LEFT KNEE, PAIN RIGHT THUMB
35YOM PRESENTS WITH LACERATION TO LEFT LITTLE FINGER. PATIENT REPORTS THAT THIS MORNING HE WAS HANDLING A LIGHT FIXTURE WHEN IT BROKE LACERATING HIS LEFT FIFTH DIGIT. HE COMPLAINS OF A DEEP LACERATION AND NUMBNESS TO THE ULNAR ASPECT OF THE FINGER. DX: LACERATION WITHOUT FOREIGN BODY LEFT LITTLE FINGER WITHOUT DAMAGE TO NAIL.
83YOF REPORTS AFTER FALLING 2 DAYS AGO AFTER LEANING FORWARD TO TURN OFF A LIGHT SWITCH AND HIT HER NOSE ON THE WALL. DX DISTAL RADIUS FRACTURE, COMMINUTED NASAL BONE FRACTURE
43YOF WAS REACHING UP TO TURN ON LIGHT FELT POP IN LUMBAR SPINE DX:STRAINED LOWER BACK
73YOM WAS THROWING AWAY AN OLD LIGHT FIXTURE WHEN A PC OF METAL OF FIXTURE BOUNCED UP & HIT PTS LEFTT HAND, CAUSING SKIN TEAR DX INJURY LEFT HAND, SKIN TEAR TO LEFT HAND
66YOM WAS LOOKING FOR A LIGHT SWITCH IN THE DARK & RAN HIS HEAD INTO A METAL POLE , NO LOC, PT DID FALL, NO OTHER INJURIES DX FALL, INJURY OF HEAD, HYPOKALENIA
31YOF PATIENT STATES SHE WAS TURNING ON THE LIGHT IN HER HOUSE THAT WAS CONNECTED TO A CHAIN, WHEN SHE WENT TO PULL THE CHAIN SHE WAS SHOCKED. SHE COMPLAINS OF DISCOMFORT IN HER BILATERAL FOREARMS TERMINATING AT THE ELBOW. DX: ELECTRIC SHOCK
64 YOM WAS CHANGING A HEAD LAMP AND IT FELL ON HIS HEAD CAUSING A LACERATION, DOES NOT TAKE BLOOD THINNERS, DX: HEAD LACERATION
Consumer Incident Reports
Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.
LED lights are getting so hot they are melting the glass lens
6/17/2011 I contacted Baccus Global to inform them that my Vector Model 191 had not been working correctly. The ser number of the VEC 191 is OFD20E201898. When I plug the VEC 191 light into my 12 volt cigarette lighter in my 2005 [REDACTED], the radio and inside lights came on. I plugged the 110 volt power adapter into my home to charge my light. When the small red light is on it indicates its charging. When the charging is complete the red light blinks. While charging, I noticed the red light had turned off. When I went to remove the power source it was very hot to the touch. I than plugged in another Vector 191 110 volt power adapter, it worked for a while and then quit working as the other. There was also a smell of something electrical burning. I contacted Baccus Global, 877-571-2391. I was told that this model was no longer manufactured. If I had a receipt to indicate when it was bought they would service the item if under warranty. I dont have a receipt. I said I would like to send it back to the company so they may look into why it is doing this. After convincing the employee at Baccus how important it was that her company looks into this, she took my information. I know the light is no longer manufactured, but there is others who may have the same concerns. If I would have plugged this in my garage and walked away what may have been the outcome. [REDACTED]
On April 16, I bought four bright "garage" LED light assemblies. [REDACTED] Today, I noticed one of the panels hanging down, with the clear plastic cover separated from the LED panel and the black plastic back panel. It shows signs of heat damage. I don't know what kind of plastic it's made of, so don't know how hot it might have gotten. There is what looks like a fine thread of melted plastic hanging from one of the screws. [I reported this on the Amazon product page as a review- with pictures. Amazon now shows this product as not available. Some similar lights that I bought a week or so earlier became unavailable soon after I bought them. Are these just fly-by-night companies selling products (coming from the same factory in China) under different name?]
As my son was walking down the hallway, he accidentally touched the fixture and it fell, hitting him and shattering. Surprisingly and Luckily he was not injured.
Innovage Discovery Kids Animated Marine and Safari Lamps Recall Date: Feb. 9, 2010 Sale Dates: February 2010 through July 2011 (Black lamps were not included in this recall) Press Release #: 10-135 Hazard: A defect in the lamp's printed circuit board can cause an electrical short, posing a fire and burn hazard to consumers. Remedy: Full refund Contact: Call Innovage toll-free at (888) 232-1535 between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. PT Monday through Friday, visit the firm's Web site at www.lamprecall.org or email info@lamprecall.org Purchased from Kohl's Department Store in Opelika, AL. It overheated - we unplugged then bulb no longer worked. We replaced the bulb with new one but unit still get VERY HOT. Tried to provide more details but your page keeps reloading and erasing all my information.
Consumer stated that the light fixtures overheats, burns through the insulation and trips the circuit breaker. Consumer stated that if the circuit breaker had not been tripped there would have been a house fire, and that these fixture have had to replaced two to three times in one year. Consumer took them back to the store for a replacement. Consumer stated that these light fixtures are a fire hazard and should be recalled.
The product is Quorum International 1353-1-65 Prism Mini Pendant, Satin Nickel by Quorum International. We purchased this from Lighting Universe, online. This is the second time one of these pendants has shorted out. This time was much worse than the first. Pink sparks shot out throughout the kitchen, and smoke poured out of the fixture. I believe that if this had happened when we were not at home, there is a good chance the fixture would have caught on fire. We will be replacing all of these pendant fixtures.
I was charging a Glucosent book light when the battery exploded and then the product began smoking and melting the plastic. Luckily, my daughter was in the room and able to yell fire and I grabbed and threw into a nearby bathroom sink. My whole family was home and at risk of the fire spread. Horrible chemical smell has lingered. If you look on Amazon reviews for this product, others have had the same experience.
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to electric lighting equipment, not specified on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Floors, Walls & Ceilings
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Electric Lighting Equipment, Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (35/100), estimated annual ER visits (2,245/yr), and hospitalization share (9.8%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
Related Products in Floors, Walls & Ceilings
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Electric Lighting Equipment, Not Specified ranks #419 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #402 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does electric lighting equipment, not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, electric lighting equipment, not specified ranks #419 by PlainSafety danger score (35/100) and #402 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (2,245/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from electric lighting equipment, not specified?
The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 3,834 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from electric lighting equipment, not specified increasing or decreasing?
Down 23% over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for electric lighting equipment, not specified injuries?
The 75+ age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 8,390 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by electric lighting equipment, not specified?
Of all ER visits involving electric lighting equipment, not specified, approximately 9.8% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (90.2%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with electric lighting equipment, not specified?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.