Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Tablet Or Capsule Drugs ranks #38 of 838 by danger score (46/100) at ER-volume #84 of 838 (30,253/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #38
- danger rank of 838
- #84
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 46/100
- danger score
- 30,253/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (46/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
46 Higher than most more dangerous than 94% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 70/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 19 | 92nd | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 30,253 | 89th | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | -17% | 39th | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 3 | 28th | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 605,063 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1931. Segments sum to 605,063 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Transportation & Substances group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Transportation & Substances danger scores
How this 46/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for tablet or capsule drugs - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 30,253 ER visits/yr High volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 18.8% Very high admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
- 5-year trend-17%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for tablet or capsule drugs are declining by about 17% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2010 (42,107 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2021 (21,763 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 604,549 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by internal injury to the head (152 cases). The 0-4 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 605,008 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 18.8% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 3 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how tablet or capsule drugs fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 315,141 | 289,794 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| All Parts Body | Poisoning | |
| Head | Internal Injury | |
| Internal | Ingestion | |
| Face | Foreign Body | |
| Internal | Aspiration | |
| Face | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Not Stated/unk | Other | |
| Mouth | Burn, Chemical | |
| Lower Trunk | Burn, Chemical | |
| Hand | Other | |
| Lower Trunk | Hemorrhage | |
| Foot | Burns, Thermal | |
| Ear | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Finger | Burn, Not Spec. | |
| Face | Derma/conjunct |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
4YOM MOTHER STATES CHILD POSSBILE TOOK ***. DX: POSSIBLE INGESTED WRONG MEDICATION.
21 MOM GOT INTO GREAT GRANDMOTHER'S SPIRONOLACTONE 50MG, THERE WERE APPROX 17 PILLS MISSING, 2 WERE FOUND IN HIS MOUTH, BUT IT'S UNKOWN HOW MANY THE GRANDMOTHER HAS TAKEN SINCE MAY. FAMILY CALLED POISON CONTROL AND THEY TOLD THEM TO COME TO THE ER. DX: ACCIDENTAL DRUG INGESTION
3YOF TO ED FOR POSSIBLE INGESTION OF MED, PT WAS LEFT UNATTENDED BRIEFLY, UPON RETURN OF GRANDMOTHER, FOUND HER PURSE HAD BEEN SPILLED ON FLOOR, PILL ORGANIZER SPILLED, AND SHE FOUND 1 TAB OF HCTZ MISSING, PT BROUTHT IN FOR EVALUATION, DX INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE
2YOF, INGESTION OF AMOLDIPINE AT GRANDMOTHERS HOUSE, VOMITED, POISON CONTROL CONTACTED IN ED DX: ACCIDENTAL INGESTION
4YOM GOT INTO MELATONIN GUMMIES AND INGESTED ABOUT 10 OF THEM, EACH WAS 3MG DX: ACCIDENTAL DRUG INGESTION
15 MOF POSSIPLE PILL INGESTION, FOUND WITH BROTHERS *** 5MG BOTTLE DX POSSIBLE INGESTION
2YOM, CLIMBED OVER THE KITCHEN TABLE AND FOUND HIS GRANDMOTHER'S PILL BOTTLES , THEN LATER MOM FOUND THE PILLS SCATTERED ALL OVER, DID THE COUNT AND DISCOVERED 1 PILL OF *** 2.5MG AND 1 PILL OF *** 20MG ARE MISSING, LATER DURING ER EVAULATION GRANDMOTHER FOUND THE *** MISSING PILL AND CONFIRMED THAT PATIENT DIDN'T INGEST IT, ACTING HIMSELF, DX: INGESTION OF UNKNOWN MEDICATION, ACCIDENTAL
9MOM, MOTHER PLACED 15MG *** PILL ON THE COUNTER AND TURNED HER BACK FOR A MOMENT AND THE PILL WAS GONE LATER FOUND SOME GREEN STUFF COMING OUT OF PATIENT'S MOUTH, TRIED TO SWEEP MOUTH BUT COULDN'T EXTRACT ANY PILLS, CALLED POISON CONTROL AND INSTRUCTED TO PRESENT TO ER, ACTING AT BASELINEDX: ACCIDENTAL INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE
2YOF ACCIDENTALLY GOT INTO MOMMA'S BOTTLE OF *** MAY HAVE TAKEN 30 TABLETS OF 137 MICROGRAMS EACH DX: ACCIDENTAL DRUG INGESTION
9MOM MOM LEFT A *** TABLET 15 MILLIGRAMS ON THE COUNTER TURNED HER BACK AND NOTICED THE CHILD HAD EATEN IT DX ACCIDENTAL INGESTION OF A DRUG
3YOM POSSIBLY INGESTED HIS MOTHERS THYROID PILL TODAY. HE HAD HER PILL BOX CASE OPEN AND SHAKING IT. ONE SINGLE THYROID PILL, METHIMAZOLE 10 MG IS MISSING. DX: ACCIDENTAL DRUG INGESTION
2YOM TOOK 1 *** 15MG THAT BELONGS TO HIS COUSIN YESTERDAY. MOM WAS ABLE TO TAKE PILL OUT OF HIS MOUTH BUT SOME RESIDUE ON HIS TONGUE. AFTER THE INGESTION, HE SLEPT THE REST OF THE DAY.. POISON CONTROL TOLD MOM TO MONITOR HIM CLOSELY. TODAY HE WAS UNABLE TO STAND AND WAS RESTLESS AND FUSSY AND HE WAS BROUGHT TO ED FOR EVAL. DX: ACCIDENTAL INGESTION OF SUBSTANCE
Consumer Incident Reports
Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.
3yr old was able to unscrew child safe top of Equate brand Ibuprofen tablets.
2yr old child able to open child safe cap and ingest acetaminophen
A male toddler aged approximately 17 months ingested a family member's Bupropion medication at his home. He was taken to a local emergency department where he died. The medical examiner's office performed an autopsy and toxicology studies. The certified cause of death was "Acute Bupropion Intoxication." The manner of death was "Accident."
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to tablet or capsule drugs on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Transportation & Substances
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Tablet Or Capsule Drugs: cross-group products nearest on danger score (46/100), estimated annual ER visits (30,253/yr), and hospitalization share (18.8%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
- Gymnastics And Associated Equipment Sports & Recreation Equipment 30,501/yr
- Cheerleading (activity, Apparel Or Equipment) Sports Protective Equipment & Gear 30,539/yr
- Nonelectric Razors Or Shavers Personal Care & Safety Products 30,681/yr
- Bottles Or Jars, Not Specified Containers & Packaging 29,244/yr
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
Related Products in Transportation & Substances
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Tablet Or Capsule Drugs ranks #38 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #84 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does tablet or capsule drugs rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, tablet or capsule drugs ranks #38 by PlainSafety danger score (46/100) and #84 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (30,253/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from tablet or capsule drugs?
The most common injury is poisoning to the all parts body, accounting for approximately 604,549 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from tablet or capsule drugs increasing or decreasing?
Down 17% over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for tablet or capsule drugs injuries?
The 0-4 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 605,008 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by tablet or capsule drugs?
Of all ER visits involving tablet or capsule drugs, approximately 18.8% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (81.2%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with tablet or capsule drugs?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.