Danger score versus ER volume
Danger score versus ER volume
According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Cords, Electrical, Other Or Not Specified ranks #105 of 838 by danger score (42/100) at ER-volume #210 of 838 (10,123/yr). They are not the same ranking.
- #105
- danger rank of 838
- #210
- ER-volume rank of 838
- 42/100
- danger score
- 10,123/yr
- estimated ER visits (avg)
Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.
Where this category's danger score sits nationally
Danger score (42/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories
42 Higher than most more dangerous than 84% of 838 product categories
scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value
Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024
Composite verdict
Composite Safety Score: 68/100
One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.
| Dimension | Value | National percentile | Weight applied | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) | 12 | 82nd | 35% | CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index |
| Annual ER injury volume | 10,123 | 74th | 30% | CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries |
| 5-year injury trend | +1% | 68th | 15% | CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries |
| Consumer incident reports | 5 | 34th | 20% | CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count |
Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.
Where 202,470 estimated ER injuries land on the body
Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 4081. Segments sum to 202,470 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.
Two danger lenses
Same-group peer scores and this product's dial
The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Floors, Walls & Ceilings group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.
Floors, Walls & Ceilings danger scores
How this 42/100 score is built
The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for cords, electrical, other or not specified - no opinion, no editorializing:
- Injury volume 10,123 ER visits/yr Above median volume
- Severity (hospitalization rate) 11.1% High admission rate
- Fatality rate 0.12% Above-typical fatality rate
- 5-year trend+1%
Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.
What the CPSC Data Shows
Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for cords, electrical, other or not specified are roughly flat over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2024 (13,497 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2005 (7,636 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 15,482 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by fracture to the lower trunk (9,700 cases). The 75+ age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 50,519 cases over the NEISS window, and females appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 11.1% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer, and a small fraction (0.12%) result in fatality.
Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 5 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how cords, electrical, other or not specified fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.
Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)
Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only
Who Gets Injured?
| Age Group | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-4 | 4,980 | 3,517 | |
| 5-14 | 5,536 | 5,582 | |
| 15-24 | 5,768 | 7,559 | |
| 25-34 | 6,347 | 9,191 | |
| 35-44 | 6,381 | 10,385 | |
| 45-54 | 7,436 | 13,411 | |
| 55-64 | 9,621 | 22,325 | |
| 65-74 | 9,039 | 24,859 | |
| 75+ | 14,464 | 36,055 |
Most Common Injuries
| Body Part | Diagnosis | Est. Injuries |
|---|---|---|
| Head | Internal Injury | |
| Lower Trunk | Fracture | |
| Knee | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Face | Laceration | |
| Ankle | Strain, Sprain | |
| Face | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Upper Arm | Fracture | |
| All Parts Body | Electric Shock | |
| Lower Trunk | Other | |
| Upper Trunk | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Lower Trunk | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Head | Laceration | |
| Eyeball | Contusions, Abr. | |
| Knee | Other | |
| Finger | Laceration |
Severity Breakdown
ER Visit Narratives
Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.
85 YOF PRESENTS FOLLOWING FALL. SHE GOT HER LEGS TANGLED IN A CORD AT HOME AND FELL FORWARD SUSTAINING SCALP LACERATION WHEN HER HEAD HIT A CHEST OF DRAWERS. DX: LACERATION OF SCALP, ACUTE HEAD INJURY.
78YOF AT A FRIENDS HOUSE IN THE GARAGE, TRIPPED ON SOME CORDS AND FELL AND HIT HEAD & LEFT KNEE DX ACUTE FALL FACIAL CONTUSION B/L EYE CONTUSIONS CLOSED HEAD INJURY L LATERAL RIB CONTUSION L KNEE CONTUSION
40 YOF S/P MECHANICAL FALL THIS MORNING. SHE GOT UP TO GO TO THE BATHROOM WHEN SHE TRIPPED OVER A CORD, FALLING FORWARD. DX FALL ON SAME LEVEL FROM TRIPPING AS CAUSE OF ACCIDENTALY INJURY, SPRAIN RIGHT WRIST, SPRAIN WRIST LEFT, SPRAIN RIGHT KNEE, SPRAIN LEFT KNEE
38 YOM WITH RIGHT HIP PAIN AND RIGHT KNEE PAIN AFTER A FALL. PATIENT WAS STANDING UP WHEN HE TRIPPED OVER A CORD AND FELL ONTO HIS RIGHT SIDE. DX ACCIDENT DUE TO MECHANICAL FALL WITHOUT INJURY
14YOM PRESENTS AFTER STEPPING ON POWER CORD, PRONG ENTERED HEEL, C/O PUNCTURE WOUND OF HELL, DX:PUNCTURE WOUND OF FOOT
74 YOF CAUGHT HER LEG ON A CORD AT HOME AND FELL FORWARD ONTO HER SHOULDER. DX: FRACTURE PROXIMAL END OF RIGHT HUMERUS
23YOF WITH FALL ON WIFI CORD AND HAD CHIN PAIN ALONG WITH LIP LAC DX: LIP LAC
68 YOF TRIPPED OVER SOME CORDS AND FELL STRIKING THE BACK OF HER HEAD. +PUNCTURE WOUND SCALP, NECK PAIN. DX: GROUND LEVEL FALL.
45YOM PATIENT WAS WALKING IN HIS HOUSE, HE TRIPPED OVER A POWER CORD, HE FELL FORWARD AND HIT THE LEFT SIDE OF HIS FACE ON METAL STAIRS TO THE RV. DX: LACERATION OF FACE, CLOSED HEAD INJURY
91YOF PT FROM INDEPENDENT LIVING FACILITY, WAS WALKING WITH CANE & TRIPPED OVER SOME POWER CORDS, FOOT GOT STUCK IN IT; FELL FORWARD, HIT HEAD ON CORNER OF COFFEE TABLE, CAUGHT SELF WITH LEFT HAND DX: DISLOCATED FINGER, CHI, FALL, RT BUNDLE BRANCH BLOCK
64YOF C/O LEFT FOOT PAIN AND HEAD INJURY PT STATES SHE TRIPPED OVER A CORD AND HAD A FALL HITTING HER HEAD ON THE COFFEE TABLE AT HOME. DX: LEFT FOOT PAIN AND HEAD INJURY
79YOM PT SLIPPED & FELL THIS AFTERNOON, FELL ONTO RT HIP; TRIPPED ON A CORD DX: CLOSED RT INTERTROCHANTERIC FRACTURE
Consumer Incident Reports
Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.
I purchased a Coleman Cable 6 foot 30-Amp 3 Wire Dryer Power Cord from Sears Hardware in Ashland, MA 01721 for my new [REDACTED] dryer. The item was packaged in a plain plastic bag with one warning that it contained lead which might cause cancer and to wash hands after handling. When I plugged it into the dryer wall socket at home, it exploded. I happened to be standing off to the side when I plugged it in. Otherwise, I would have gotten something in the face. The fire department came for safety concerns. I was told that I was lucky I wasn't electrocuted or that the house burned down. The fireman noted that the prongs and plastic wrapping were burned. Obviously, I soon realized that I should never have plugged the plug into the socket without it being grounded. However, a simple warning on the package would have made a great difference. In addition, a hard plastic protective cap would have probably eliminated the danger. The cheap "[REDACTED]" wrap was not sufficient to protect against an accidental explosion. I was extremely lucky. The next person (ex. child) may not be.
I am the manager of [REDACTED]. We are a 246 unit , 18 story high rise . All heat and air in the units are via GE zonelines. Over the past 12 months we have had two spontaneous fires that have originated from the GFI cords.( RAK 3202) Both cords involved in the fires were manufactured in Honduras. There does not seem to be a problem with the actual zonelines and they remain operable after the cords are replaced. I know of the zoneline recall that is presently going on with GE and have 35 units that are a part of that recall in my building. There is no corollation between that recall and these incidents. I am bringing this to your attention as I feel this is a life threatening situation and all GFI cords manufactured in Honduras should be examined for recall. I have one of the cords here at my building and I can be reached at the following addess: [REDACTED] [REDACTED] [REDACTED] [REDACTED]
low level lead exposure illness symptoms: confusion, head ache, appetite loss, extreme emotional irritability, fuzzy vision, TINGLING IN FACE
Honglin HL-052 "[REDACTED]" power cable supplied with a Dell PC adapter, cracked open between the cable and the head. It has exposed copper wiring which if touching, or bridged, by say a finger, could short and cause a fire. The dell adapter is unbroken, and only the Honglin wire appears damage at this time. Honglin wire: HL-052 The dell adapter Model: DA130PE1-00 P/N: WRHKW Ref.No: ADP-130DB D PC it came with is an Inspiron 7720
18-ga lamp cord bought at Lowe's Glenville NY today. Lamp cord is meant to be separated into two insulated wires to allow attachment to (+) and (-) terminals in a lamp/appliance, and in a wall plug. When you separate the two wires, bare wire is exposed along the length where the two split apart. The insulation is too thin, so pulling the wires apart exposes bare copper along the length of the separation. Using the wire in this condition is apt to allow bare wire to come into contact with ungrounded parts of the lamp or appliance. Lowes sells this wire by the foot from bulk spools. [REDACTED]
Product Recalls
Search for active and past recalls related to cords, electrical, other or not specified on the CPSC website.
Compare beyond Floors, Walls & Ceilings
Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization
Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Cords, Electrical, Other Or Not Specified: cross-group products nearest on danger score (42/100), estimated annual ER visits (10,123/yr), and hospitalization share (11.1%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.
Similar danger score
Nearest cross-group products by PlainSafety danger score (100-point scale).
Similar ER visit volume
Nearest cross-group products by NEISS estimated annual ER visits.
Similar hospitalization rate
Nearest cross-group products by % of NEISS ER visits resulting in hospital admission.
Related Products in Floors, Walls & Ceilings
Read with this product
About this data
CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.
According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Cords, Electrical, Other Or Not Specified ranks #105 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #210 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where does cords, electrical, other or not specified rank on danger score versus ER volume?
Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, cords, electrical, other or not specified ranks #105 by PlainSafety danger score (42/100) and #210 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (10,123/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.
What are the most common injuries from cords, electrical, other or not specified?
The most common injury is internal injury to the head, accounting for approximately 15,482 injuries over 20 years.
Are injuries from cords, electrical, other or not specified increasing or decreasing?
Stable over 5 years.
Who is most at risk for cords, electrical, other or not specified injuries?
The 75+ age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 50,519 cases recorded over 20 years. Females are more frequently injured in this age group.
What happens when someone is injured by cords, electrical, other or not specified?
Of all ER visits involving cords, electrical, other or not specified, approximately 11.1% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (88.9%) are treated and released from the emergency department.
How can I report a safety problem with cords, electrical, other or not specified?
You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.
PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.