CPSC NEISS · code 1463

Brushcutters, Powered

Brushcutters, Powered: danger rank #717 of 838 is not ER-volume rank #667 of 838 (309 estimated ER visits a year; declining by about 39% over the last five years).

Lawn & Garden Equipment CPSC NEISS through 2024

Danger score versus ER volume

Danger score versus ER volume

According to CPSC NEISS 2005-2024, Brushcutters, Powered ranks #717 of 838 by danger score (28/100) at ER-volume #667 of 838 (309/yr). They are not the same ranking.

#717
danger rank of 838
#667
ER-volume rank of 838
28/100
danger score
309/yr
estimated ER visits (avg)

Danger score combines injury volume, hospitalization, fatality, and five-year trend. ER volume is the average annual NEISS estimate alone. Rank 1 is highest on each list.

Where this category's danger score sits nationally

Danger score (28/100) across 838 scored CPSC product categories

28 Among the lowest lower than 85% of 838 product categories

scored CPSC product categories, bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more product categories. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source CPSC NEISS, PlainSafety danger-score model · 2024

Composite verdict

Composite Safety Score: 33/100

One verdict blending 4 independently-sourced dimensions from two separate CPSC systems, each benchmarked against all 838 scored product categories by percentile rather than raw value, so no single huge-volume category can dominate the scale.

B
Dimension Value National percentile Weight applied Source
Injury severity (hospitalization + fatality blend) 6 55th 35% CPSC NEISS 20-year severity index
Annual ER injury volume 309 18th 30% CPSC NEISS estimated annual ER-treated injuries
5-year injury trend -39% 12th 15% CPSC NEISS 5-year % change in ER-treated injuries
Consumer incident reports 4 31st 20% CPSC SaferProducts.gov public incident report count

Methodology: each dimension is ranked against the full population's p10/p25/p50/p75/p90 breakpoints and interpolated to a 0-100 percentile; the composite is the weighted average of available percentiles. See methodology for the full benchmark table.

Where 6,183 estimated ER injuries land on the body

Body-part shares from the same CPSC NEISS injury_types extract for product code 1463. Segments sum to 6,183 - a body-map mix, not a danger score or ER-volume rank.

Two danger lenses

Same-group peer scores and this product's dial

The bars compare PlainSafety danger scores inside the Lawn & Garden Equipment group (same CPSC NEISS extract). The dial is this product's score alone on the Low/Moderate/High bands. Do not read a peer bar as an ER-visit count.

Lawn & Garden Equipment danger scores

1. Lawn Mowers, Not Specified47/1002. Riding Power Lawn Mowers44/1003. Manual Snow Or Ice Remova…44/1004. Snow Throwers, Blowers44/1005. Decorative Yard Equipment…43/1006. Garden Hoses, Nozzles Or …42/1007. Pruning Or Trimming Equip…41/1008. Brushcutters, Powered28/100
Higher score = higher composite danger in this group. Peer set is other scored products sharing the same CPSC group.
0/100100/10028/100
PlainSafety danger score · Brushcutters, Powered

Source: CPSC NEISS danger-score model As of 2024

How this 28/100 score is built

The score is computed from four CPSC-derived factors for brushcutters, powered - no opinion, no editorializing:

  • Injury volume 309 ER visits/yr Low volume
  • Severity (hospitalization rate) 6.5% Above median admission rate
  • Fatality rate 0.00% No recorded fatalities
  • 5-year trend-39%

Band labels compare this category against the corpus of 838 scored CPSC product categories, see the full methodology for the exact weighting of each factor.

What the CPSC Data Shows

Across the 20-year NEISS window from 2005 to 2024, injury counts for brushcutters, powered are declining by about 39% over the last five years, with the busiest year on record being 2013 (751 estimated ER visits) and the quietest 2023 (17 estimated visits). The single most common ER diagnosis is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 1,738 visits across the 20-year NEISS window, followed by contusions, abr. to the eyeball (517 cases). The 45-54 age group absorbs the largest share of injuries, about 1,516 cases over the NEISS window, and males appear slightly more often than the opposite sex in that cohort. Severity outcomes from the NEISS disposition field show that 6.5% of ER visits involving this product end in hospital admission or transfer.

Beyond the hospital-sampled NEISS projections, this page also aggregates 4 consumer incident reports filed directly on SaferProducts.gov, plus 20 anonymized ER narratives - together forming a layered picture of how brushcutters, powered fail in real households. Every figure on this page comes from CPSC-published data: NEISS projects national estimates from a probability sample of about 100 U.S. hospital emergency departments, while SaferProducts.gov collects voluntary reports from consumers, manufacturers, and clinicians. The danger score, trend indicators, and demographic breakdowns update automatically when CPSC releases a new yearly NEISS file, which is why this page is dated 2024-12-31. For regulatory context, consult CPSC recall notices and the SaferProducts.gov public database linked below.

Annual Injury Estimates (2005–2024)

0200400600800 20052008201120142017202020232024 402
Estimated annual emergency-room visits for Brushcutters, Powered, CPSC NEISS

Source: CPSC NEISS national injury estimates As of 2024

Source: CPSC NEISS national estimates Injuries represent ER-treated cases only

Who Gets Injured?

Age Group Male Female Total
5-14 87 77 164
15-24 541 0 541
25-34 174 174 348
35-44 621 262 883
45-54 1,040 476 1,516
55-64 1,005 322 1,327
65-74 772 57 829
75+ 540 40 580

Most Common Injuries

Body Part Diagnosis Est. Injuries
Finger Laceration 1,738
Eyeball Contusions, Abr. 517
Hand Laceration 437
Lower Leg Laceration 233
Face Contusions, Abr. 162
Finger Fracture 161
Head Internal Injury 157
Upper Trunk Fracture 121
Lower Trunk Strain, Sprain 118
Ankle Other 108
Not Stated/unk Derma/conjunct 104
Lower Leg Derma/conjunct 102
Face Fracture 100
Shoulder Fracture 92
Lower Leg Fracture 90

Severity Breakdown

Treated/examined And Released 91.8% (5,675)
Treated And Admitted/hospitalized 6.8% (420)
Treated And Transferred 1.2% (72)
Held For Observation 0.3% (16)

ER Visit Narratives

Real anonymized emergency room reports from the CPSC NEISS database.

Age 21 · Male · Ankle · Other · 2024

21 YOM WAS *** STUNG BY BEE DX STING ANKLE

Age 64 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2024

64 YOM CUT FINGER ON A BRUSHCUTTER DX: LAC

Age 65 · Male · Shoulder · Fracture · 2024

65YOM PT WORKING WITH A *** WHEN A TREE FELL L& HIT PT IN RT SHOULDER DX: CLOSED FRACTURE PROXIMAL END OF RT HUMERUS

Age 64 · Female · Upper Trunk · Strain, Sprain · 2024

64YOF PT WAS OUTSIDE IN THE YARD USING LONG-HANDLE CUTTERS, WHEN SHE REACHED OUT TO CUT BRANCHES & FELT POP IN RIBS DX: CHEST WALL MUSCLE STRAIN

Age 70 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2024

70YOM, ACCIDENTALLY CUT HIS LEFT THUMB, INDEX, AND MIDDLE FINGERS ON BRUSH CUTTER EDGAR DX: LACERATION OF MULTIPLE SITES OF LEFT HAND AND FINGERS

Age 39 · Female · Hand · Laceration · 2023

39YOF PRESENTS WITH COMPLAINTS OF LACERATIONS TO THE DORSAL SIDE OF THE DISTAL LEFT INDEX AND MIDDLE FINGER. PATIENT STATES SHE WAS TRIMMING HER HEDGES WHEN THE ELECTRIC TREMOR SHE ACCIDENTALLY CUT HER HAND. DX: LACERATION OF LEFT HAND WITHOUT FOREIGN BODY.

Age 64 · Male · Upper Trunk · Fracture · 2022

64YOM PT CUTTING A BRANCH & FELL 15FT, LANDED ON FEET DX: MULTIPLE INJURIES DUE TO TRAUMA, FRACTURE CLOSED CALCANEUS, FRACTURE CLOSED STERNUM, PNEUMOTHORAX,RT #

Age 61 · Female · Finger · Laceration · 2022

61YOF CUT L INDEX FINGER ON AUTOMATIC SHRUB CUTTERDX ACUTE LEFT INDEX FINGER LACERATION

Age 81 · Male · Finger · Fracture · 2022

81YOM WAS USING BRUSHCUTTERS AND SLIPPED AND CUT HIS FOURTH FINGER DX: LEFT FINGER FRACTURE AND LACERATION OF LEFT RING FINGER

Age 80 · Male · Shoulder · Strain, Sprain · 2022

80YOM AT HOME WOKE UP WITH SHOULDER PAIN RIGHT SIDE, STS CUT ALOT OF BUSHES FEW DAYS AGODX R SHOULDER/THORACIC STRAIN

Age 9 · Male · Finger · Laceration · 2021

9 YOM USING ELECTRIC HEDGE CLIPPERS, THEY SLIPPED CUT FINGER DX FINGER LACERATION

Age 55 · Male · Knee · Laceration · 2021

55 YOM LACERATED HIS KNEE WHILE USING A BRUSH TRIMMER. DX: LEFT KNEE LACERATION.

Consumer Incident Reports

Reports filed by consumers on SaferProducts.gov.

6/4/2014 · Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional · STIHL, INC. · California

Single shoulder harness included with Stihl FS 90 R-Z (and other models) brushcutter/trimmer can detach unexpectedly resulting in the release of the powered brush cutter. The clasp is poorly designed such that the "tongue" can move from side to side, leading to a potentially catastrophic release of the machine from its harness while it is running.

6/3/2013 · Incident, No Injury · One World Technologies, Inc. · Kentucky

I own a 1) RYOBI BC30 string trimmer and 2) leaf blower that are plagued with rubber fuel line and rubber gasket leaks. 1) Consumers exposed to fuel/oil mix 2) Hazard of fire/explosion Rubber fuel lines and gaskets have swollen or cracked. Gas cap gaskets leak. Fuel line leaks.

3/15/2012 · Injury, Emergency Department Treatment Received · Jarden Applied Materials · Georgia

On June 10, 2011 I was trying to remove a Shakepeare Heavy Duty Brush Cutter tool from my weed trimmer to add a washer for proper fit, when one of the 3 blades swiveled and cut my right thumb to the bone. This was my first use of the brush cutter. I contacted the company and suggested they add cheap plastic blade guards to all 3 blades that could be removed before use. This would be a cheap way to protect consumer fingers and hands while installing or removing the brush cutter. The brush cutter is designed for "no tool" installation and removal but is seriously dangerous to get off the weed trimmer because of the grip and torque needed for removal. The instruction documents provided even show an hand with no gloves trying to remove the cutter from a trimmer. Jarden Corporation never responded to my suggestion for plastic blade covers but did respond to my demand for damages. Civil litigation is pending.

11/27/2017 · Injury, Emergency Department Treatment Received · HUSQVARNA GROUP OF COMPANIES N. AMERICA · Unspecified

I was blowing leaves on our patio with the Weed Eater WB160. I had been using it no more than 5 minutes when it exploded inches from my thigh. There were no indications of what was about to happen, no strange smells, sounds or appearance. There was a deafening shotgun sound and the internal pieces were expelled out the sides of the plastic housing and directly into my right leg. After the initial shock of the sound, the blower was still running, making a high pitched whirring sound, even though almost all of the green plastic housing was obliterated. I immediately unplugged the unit from the wall and called my husband over for help. He promptly took photographs of the blower, the adjacent pieces and my leg. Upon inspection my right leg was bleeding, had several abrasions and a contusion about the size of a football. We left right away for the ER to make sure nothing more was wrong.

Product Recalls

Search for active and past recalls related to brushcutters, powered on the CPSC website.

Compare beyond Lawn & Garden Equipment

Nationwide peers by danger score, ER volume & hospitalization

Three PlainSafety-derived comparison paths for Brushcutters, Powered: cross-group products nearest on danger score (28/100), estimated annual ER visits (309/yr), and hospitalization share (6.5%). Same-group neighbours stay in Related Products above.

Read with this product

About this data

CPSC National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) 2005–2024 and SaferProducts.gov consumer incident reports form the basis of this page. Injury estimates are based on a nationally representative probability sample of U.S. hospital emergency departments.

According to PlainSafety's CPSC NEISS corpus ranking, Brushcutters, Powered ranks #717 of 838 scored CPSC product categories by PlainSafety danger score and #667 of 838 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where does brushcutters, powered rank on danger score versus ER volume?

Among 838 scored CPSC product categories, brushcutters, powered ranks #717 by PlainSafety danger score (28/100) and #667 by 20-year estimated ER injury volume (309/yr). The two rankings come from the same NEISS extract and are not the same order.

What are the most common injuries from brushcutters, powered?

The most common injury is laceration to the finger, accounting for approximately 1,738 injuries over 20 years.

Are injuries from brushcutters, powered increasing or decreasing?

Down 39% over 5 years.

Who is most at risk for brushcutters, powered injuries?

The 45-54 age group accounts for the most injuries, with approximately 1,516 cases recorded over 20 years. Males are more frequently injured in this age group.

What happens when someone is injured by brushcutters, powered?

Of all ER visits involving brushcutters, powered, approximately 6.5% result in hospital admission. The majority of patients (93.5%) are treated and released from the emergency department.

How can I report a safety problem with brushcutters, powered?

You can file a consumer incident report at SaferProducts.gov, the official CPSC reporting portal. Reports help the CPSC identify emerging hazards and trigger investigations or recalls. You can also call the CPSC hotline at 1-800-638-2772.

Data on Brushcutters, Powered is compiled directly from CPSC NEISS and SaferProducts.gov records, current through 2024. See our methodology for details.

Disclaimer: This page is for informational purposes only and is not affiliated with the CPSC.

PlainSafety is rendered directly from U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall and incident records, no number is typed in by an editor. Product recall timelines and hazard labels are drawn from CPSC recall records for this product. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error. Data current as of August 2026.